Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 09:14:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: how many watts does this rig take?  (Read 352 times)
goodluck0319
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
May 28, 2014, 12:50:09 PM
 #1

I want to power this rig up.

3 x 290 non x and 2x270x, how many watts do I need it?

4 or 5 750ti , how many watts do I need it?

I am only mining x11 coins.

█          AIRTOKEN        |   THE TOKEN FOR MOBILE ACCESS   |       WHITEPAPER         █
[AIRFOX  BROWSER]             ICO September 19th, 2017             [AIRFOX RECHARGE]
▬▬▬▬▬■▄▄▄▄▄        Twitter       Telegram       Slack       Ann Thread       Blog       Reddit        ▄▄▄▄▄■▬▬▬▬▬
1513329268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513329268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513329268
Reply with quote  #2

1513329268
Report to moderator
1513329268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513329268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513329268
Reply with quote  #2

1513329268
Report to moderator
1513329268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513329268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513329268
Reply with quote  #2

1513329268
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513329268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513329268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513329268
Reply with quote  #2

1513329268
Report to moderator
1513329268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513329268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513329268
Reply with quote  #2

1513329268
Report to moderator
1513329268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513329268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513329268
Reply with quote  #2

1513329268
Report to moderator
dazza12
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2014, 05:39:33 PM
 #2

Not sure about the AMD cards (I believe there's a chart out there somewhere) but the 750Ti power draw is around 35-55 watts per card. X11 runs at a lower rate, lower temp and lower power draw, so you're looking towards the bottom end of that power range.

Depending on the other components in your setup I'd recommend a 650W PSU if you went down the nVidia route

** Please ignore any posts regarding GHSMiner. I have self reported them to a moderator. My account was hacked. Apologies to everyone **
Slab Squathrust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170


View Profile
May 28, 2014, 06:40:01 PM
 #3

When I had my rigs on X11 I noticed about 30% less power usage with under volting.  Now, I am not sure if that is inherent to the hashing algorithm, or that mining software is just poorly optimized.  That being said, the list power consumption of that rig is 1260 watts.  At 30% savings that is 756 watts.  Theoretically an 850 watt power supply should be enough.  Although you would probably not have enough pci power connectors and would have to use molex converters.  If it was me, I would buy a 1500 watt PSU or two 850 watters and jump the second one and be done with it.  That way, if you decide to mine a different algorithm, or the miners become better optimized you will be covered.  Secondly, there is no substitute for a quality power supply.  Go big or go home.  Make sure you buy a reputable brand.  There is no reason to play Russian roulette with your hardware to save a few bucks on your PSU.     
dazza12
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2014, 07:07:12 PM
 #4

I might have misunderstood - are you looking at an AMD rig compared to an nVidia rig or them both combined? Looking at the last response I'm not sure if I understood what route you're looking into.

On my own setup I have used a Corsair RM650. It's a fairly strong power supply, is Gold rated and has enough even if I choose to overclock my cards. On my AMD rig I've got a RM1200.

If you're looking to run all the cards - nVidia and AMD cards, I'd suggest separating them out into two rigs. Two lower rated power supplies are cheaper than 1 high rated supply. It gives you a bit of resilience and gives you a few options if you wanted to take one rig in a different direction or mine two different coins at a time.

** Please ignore any posts regarding GHSMiner. I have self reported them to a moderator. My account was hacked. Apologies to everyone **
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!