Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:14:48 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Building my first rig PSU question  (Read 750 times)
eviltt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 12:55:35 AM
 #1

is there any single PSU that can do 4x 5970's for a dedicated rig.
 
1481429688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481429688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481429688
Reply with quote  #2

1481429688
Report to moderator
1481429688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481429688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481429688
Reply with quote  #2

1481429688
Report to moderator
1481429688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481429688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481429688
Reply with quote  #2

1481429688
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481429688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481429688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481429688
Reply with quote  #2

1481429688
Report to moderator
1481429688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481429688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481429688
Reply with quote  #2

1481429688
Report to moderator
1481429688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481429688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481429688
Reply with quote  #2

1481429688
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 01:13:31 AM
 #2

is there any single PSU that can do 4x 5970's for a dedicated rig.
 

Yes.  You need a PSU w/ at least 1200W and 4x6 pin & 4x8 pin connectors.  Personally I would look at a 1250W or 1350W model.  
On edit:  Forgot to mention you should look for a single massive 12V rail.  You don't want to be playing multi-rail games when you are pushing this kind of load.

My 3x5970 optimizes (minimalist) rigs run 870W AC.  So 4x 5970 should be ~1130W AC.  At 88% efficiency that 995W DC.  You will want a quality brand like Seasonic and 80-Plus Gold PSU but it can be done.
eviltt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 01:22:54 AM
 #3

is there any single PSU that can do 4x 5970's for a dedicated rig.
 

Yes.  You need a PSU w/ at least 1200W and 4x6 pin & 4x8 pin connectors.  Personally I would look at a 1250W or 1350W model. 

My 3x5970 optimizes (minimalist) rigs run 870W AC.  So 4x 5970 should be ~1130W AC.  At 88% efficiency that 995W DC.  You will want a quality brand like Seasonic and 80-Plus Gold PSU but it can be done.


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151109

would this do honestly? or would that be pushing it to close?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 01:28:10 AM
 #4

is there any single PSU that can do 4x 5970's for a dedicated rig.
 

Yes.  You need a PSU w/ at least 1200W and 4x6 pin & 4x8 pin connectors.  Personally I would look at a 1250W or 1350W model.  

My 3x5970 optimizes (minimalist) rigs run 870W AC.  So 4x 5970 should be ~1130W AC.  At 88% efficiency that 995W DC.  You will want a quality brand like Seasonic and 80-Plus Gold PSU but it can be done.


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151109

would this do honestly? or would that be pushing it to close?


I have that exact supply and bought it for the sole purpose of someday upgrading my 3x5970 to 4x5970.  So yes I would and likely will do it.  Now a couple caveats.

1) This PSU rocks because it has a single massive 12V rail, and one of the best suppliers (Seasonic) in the biz.  I wouldn't try it a Rosewill 5 rail POS.  Even better it is on sale right now so ~$225 for that unit is a downright steal.  Lots shittier PSU sell for more.

2) You need the system load to be as low as possible (i.e. turn off everything in bios, sempron single core, usb stick, linux, etc).

3) The PSU will be running at ~80% load.  Now I KNOW that modern PSU can handle a load like that but some people swear by the keep it at 50% load.  If the idea of the PSU running at 80%+ load 24/7/365 scares you then you likely shouldn't.
eviltt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 01:45:46 AM
 #5

is there any single PSU that can do 4x 5970's for a dedicated rig.
 

Yes.  You need a PSU w/ at least 1200W and 4x6 pin & 4x8 pin connectors.  Personally I would look at a 1250W or 1350W model.  

My 3x5970 optimizes (minimalist) rigs run 870W AC.  So 4x 5970 should be ~1130W AC.  At 88% efficiency that 995W DC.  You will want a quality brand like Seasonic and 80-Plus Gold PSU but it can be done.


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151109

would this do honestly? or would that be pushing it to close?


I have that exact supply and bought it for the sole purpose of someday upgrading my 3x5970 to 4x5970.  So yes I would and likely will do it.  Now a couple caveats.

1) This PSU rocks because it has a single massive 12V rail, and one of the best suppliers (Seasonic) in the biz.  I wouldn't try it a Rosewill 5 rail POS.  Even better it is on sale right now so ~$225 for that unit is a downright steal.  Lots shittier PSU sell for more.

2) You need the system load to be as low as possible (i.e. turn off everything in bios, sempron single core, usb stick, linux, etc).

3) The PSU will be running at ~80% load.  Now I KNOW that modern PSU can handle a load like that but some people swear by the keep it at 50% load.  If the idea of the PSU running at 80%+ load 24/7/365 scares you then you likely shouldn't.

thank you much Smiley

I had planned to run this as a bamt headless miner with absolutely everything turned off any way.. and so far im looking at a single core sempron, 1 usb sitck, 1 ethernet port, and that's it on the mobo.

honestly i don't see any problem with loading the PSU up.. but i might buy 2, and do a test to see what the difference is on the load to the wall running with a single or a dual just to test this idea out.

ever had to warranty a seasonic?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 02:23:31 AM
 #6

ever had to warranty a seasonic?

I haven't but what I've heard is that SeaSonic's customer support is second to none.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!