Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:29:21 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Two 5970s with Very Different Hash Rates  (Read 1795 times)
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 03:50:37 AM
 #1

Thank you in advance for stopping to look at my post.

I mine using Bitminter's Java client, and up until a few days ago, I used an AMD 5970, which was giving me about 745 MH/s at 825MHz.

Then I swapped it out for an XFX 5970 Black Edition.  The only reason I swapped is because the XFX has an Accelero Xtreme 5970 cooler installed, which is substantially quieter.

When running the XFX at 825MHz I only get about 670 MH/s.  So at the same clock speed as the AMD card, the XFX does about 75 MH/s less.

I'm running Win7 Pro x64 and using Catalyst 11.10 drivers.

Has anybody here seen this sort of hashing speed difference between two video cards of the same model clocked at the same speed?

Thanks,
WP
1480876161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876161
Reply with quote  #2

1480876161
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480876161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876161
Reply with quote  #2

1480876161
Report to moderator
1480876161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876161
Reply with quote  #2

1480876161
Report to moderator
1480876161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876161
Reply with quote  #2

1480876161
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 05:07:14 AM
 #2

make sure load is 99%.  Most AMD cards will kick in thermal throttling by cutting the load.  825MHz at 80% load for example is going to underperform 825 MHz @ 99% load.
ZodiacDragon84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


The king and the pawn go in the same box @ endgame


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 05:35:57 AM
 #3

how does one keep the load consistent at 99% through just the bitminter Java?

Looking for a quick easy mining solution? Check out
www.bitminter.com

See my trader rep at Bitcoinfeedback.com
!
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 05:43:58 AM
 #4

Also would be good to know exactly what SDK version you're using.  I know you posted before that you might have changed the catalyst drivers.
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 06:23:57 AM
 #5

make sure load is 99%.  Most AMD cards will kick in thermal throttling by cutting the load.  825MHz at 80% load for example is going to underperform 825 MHz @ 99% load.

DAT, thanks for the reply.  The load on both GPUs bounces between 96% and 98% with a temp of about 65C.  Strange that it's not 99% like the old card.  I guess I'd expect about 30 MH/s less than the old card at 96%.

how does one keep the load consistent at 99% through just the bitminter Java?

Good thought, ZD84.  Does anybody know if this is possible with Bitminter, or any miner, for that matter?

Also would be good to know exactly what SDK version you're using.  I know you posted before that you might have changed the catalyst drivers.

Eveofwar, thank you also for the reply.  I was able to verify that I was running 11.10 on my old card.  I am running 11.10 on the new one, as well.  Is that what you're referring to when you say SDK?

Thanks,
WP
bravetheheat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 07:05:55 AM
 #6


Eveofwar, thank you also for the reply.  I was able to verify that I was running 11.10 on my old card.  I am running 11.10 on the new one, as well.  Is that what you're referring to when you say SDK?

Thanks,
WP

I think Eveofwar was referring to the AMD APP (or Stream) SDK, whereas you provided the versions of your AMD Catalyst.
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 05:29:05 PM
 #7

Also would be good to know exactly what SDK version you're using.  I know you posted before that you might have changed the catalyst drivers.

It looks like I'm using APP SDK 2.5.775.2.  I have no idea which version I was using with the other 5970.  Does anybody here know whether that version number indicates that I should change something?

Thanks,
WP
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349



View Profile
February 07, 2012, 06:35:54 PM
 #8

Eveofwar and bravetheheat, thank you for pushing me in the right direction.  I found the rest of the answer in a similar thread.

Any help? - 5970 not hitting ~700 mhash/s

I followed ssateneth's instructions in the second post to extract and install "ATIStreamSDK_dev.msi" from "ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-vista-win7-64.exe".  After rebooting, the two new GPUs showed up in BitMinter's list. Using those, I'm getting about 745 MH/s now.

Thanks again!
WP
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!