Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:06:34 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 & 6870 Mining rig! :D  (Read 900 times)
humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 12:35:59 PM
 #1

I got my 5970 yesterday. It's a Sapphire card with the aftermarket Acellero triple fan cooler.
I have one 6870 and one 5970 in my system, and one 6870 lying in a box(mobo only has 2 slots for GPUs). I have the 6870 at 1020MHz core/370MHz memory @1.300v, and the 5970 at 890MHz core/ 300MHz memory @1.110v.
What's a safe 24/7 voltage for the 5970? Also, anyone who wants info, just ask me. Smiley
Edit: the 5970 temps are at 66c/64c at load.

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
1481450794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450794
Reply with quote  #2

1481450794
Report to moderator
1481450794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450794
Reply with quote  #2

1481450794
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 02:03:37 PM
 #2

1.110v Wink
Basically it looks like you have your 5970 card over clocked perfectly.  If you decide to run it harder I can not vouch for safety over 1.2v.

You can safely run your card up to 75C easily, so feel free to clock your card up more if it will do so without freezing.

Edit: Forgot about your power supply, that may be a choke point depending on what you have.

humanage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 05:48:35 PM
 #3

I have an OCZ TX 750. Another thing to add is an 1155 pentium G620 and 4gb of standard(1300MHz, 9-9-9-24) if it matters. Should i be able to OC? Also, if I were to sell the GTX 570 in my gaming rig and buy a 5970 for it, would a Cougar CMX 700 watt be able to run 2 5970s and an Intel i5 2500K?(just curious)

Mining rig(s): MH/s
2x 5970 @ 820MHz Core/300MHz Memory ~ 1480MH/s
GTX 570 @ 840MHz Core/1900MHz Memory ~ 129MH/s
Consider donating if I helped: 15E9xBNWWvuURi2LLx8T6cMU1LyckiQntY
BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 02:33:15 PM
 #4

Sorry I don't know, I can run a 5970 overclocked to 950 MHz core/ 750MHz memory @1.174v on a single rail 630W psw with no problems, but I don't have enough experience on multiple cards to be an authority on question #1.  My best guess would be yes, you can OC it.  
Yes that should work, but there is a slight chance that psw will go die an early death(few months to over a year) because it is a dual rail.  I've had trouble with dual rails not evenly splitting the load and that causes stress on a single rail which is only designed to handle ~1/2 the load.  The real question is though, do you think this is a wise investment?

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 02:37:10 PM
 #5

I have an OCZ TX 750. Another thing to add is an 1155 pentium G620 and 4gb of standard(1300MHz, 9-9-9-24) if it matters. Should i be able to OC? Also, if I were to sell the GTX 570 in my gaming rig and buy a 5970 for it, would a Cougar CMX 700 watt be able to run 2 5970s and an Intel i5 2500K?(just curious)

I run 3x5970 and it is ~870W AC at the wall that is ~800W DC but that is w/ a single core sempron, dedicated rig w/ minimal everything. 

2x5970 would be tight on a 700W PSU and I think impossible with a power hungry i-5.  You likely want a solid (Seasonic or equivelent) 800W PSU preferabbly one with a single giant 12V rail.  Personally if you update the PSU I would go 1000W.  It isn't much more and you gain the ability to expand to 3x5970 someday.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!