Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:59:21 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New Open CL 1.2  (Read 1863 times)
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 01:19:49 PM
 #1

I am by no means a programmer so I ask this what does the new openCL 1.2 mean for mining? Are we going to notice improvements?

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481101161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481101161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481101161
Reply with quote  #2

1481101161
Report to moderator
1481101161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481101161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481101161
Reply with quote  #2

1481101161
Report to moderator
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 01:30:06 PM
 #2

I am by no means a programmer so I ask this what does the new openCL 1.2 mean for mining? Are we going to notice improvements?


No.

Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 01:48:21 PM
 #3

Bummer! Thanks Diablo!

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 01:51:20 PM
 #4

I am by no means a programmer so I ask this what does the new openCL 1.2 mean for mining? Are we going to notice improvements?

It's from AMD after all. So most probably 100% CPU load and 10% less mining performance  Wink

d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 01:56:34 PM
 #5

Yeah, unless you're looking to fill a buffer with a pattern, it's mostly drawing stuff.

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 02:11:17 PM
 #6

I am by no means a programmer so I ask this what does the new openCL 1.2 mean for mining? Are we going to notice improvements?

It's from AMD after all. So most probably 100% CPU load and 10% less mining performance  Wink

No, OpenCL is a specification from the Khronos Group, a non-profit industry consortium whos members include Apple, AMD, Nvidia, SGI, Oracle, id Software, Google, Intel, Mozilla, ARM, a couple major ARM fabs, and a few other companies. Khronos grew out of the old OpenGL working group when it became clear OpenGL was the first of a family of API specifications.

OpenCL was first submitted to Khronos by Apple, with help from AMD, IBM, Intel, and Nvidia. 1.2 contains new features based on work by both AMD and Nvidia. Major 1.2 features include partitioning devices into sub-devices (on applicable hardware), D3D11 state support (to complement the existing GL and D3D9 state bridges), and built-in kernel support to allow calling fixed function hardware from existing kernels and to call specialized hardware optimized kernels provided by the driver.

Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 02:57:55 PM
 #7

Thank you Diablo that was some of the info I was looking for.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 03:41:50 PM
 #8

No, OpenCL is a specification from the Khronos Group, ...

Yes. But the IMPLEMENTATION itself is vendor specific. Unfortunately. Because it gives AMD the opportunity to f**k things up (hint: the 100% CPU load bug epic drama).

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 10:23:40 PM
 #9

No, OpenCL is a specification from the Khronos Group, ...

Yes. But the IMPLEMENTATION itself is vendor specific. Unfortunately. Because it gives AMD the opportunity to f**k things up (hint: the 100% CPU load bug epic drama).


However, you said OpenCL 1.2 would cause this, not a future version of AMD APP. Also, the SDK does not currently have any CPU use bugs, it is inside the driver itself and it effects a minority of users.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!