Bitcoin Forum
February 20, 2017, 03:47:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5850 + 5870 Mining  (Read 1735 times)
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
February 11, 2012, 09:51:16 PM
 #1

I'm always searching for cards to add to my mining fleet, but with the inflated prices of 5870's it's difficult to find the cards in the price range I want. I can occasionally find 5850's though. I have space in two rigs for one card each. One rig is empty (not currently running ) and the other is running with a 5870 right now. I would add to the running rig first, obviously, but my question becomes this:

If I'm running a 5870 and and 5850 in the same rig, will the 5870 only produce the mhash of the 5850? I'm wondering because when you crossfire a 5850 and a 5870, the 5870 drops to the clocks/performance of the 5850. But is crossfire required for mining, or can I simply plug the card in and the device manager will see it, and I start mining?

Is anyone currently doing this? If so I would sincerely appreciate any and all advice you can give me. Thanks in advance!!!

-Chance Coats
1487605653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487605653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487605653
Reply with quote  #2

1487605653
Report to moderator
1487605653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487605653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487605653
Reply with quote  #2

1487605653
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1487605653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487605653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487605653
Reply with quote  #2

1487605653
Report to moderator
1487605653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487605653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487605653
Reply with quote  #2

1487605653
Report to moderator
1487605653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487605653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487605653
Reply with quote  #2

1487605653
Report to moderator
Chomp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 01:43:20 AM
 #2

I have 2x 5870 and  5850 running in windows. To get windows to recognize my cards I had to crossfire the 1st time. after crossfire drivers are installed you should turn it off in ccc for full speed.
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 05:45:03 AM
 #3

Thank you! No dummy plugs necessary?
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 06:24:37 AM
 #4

I never had to crossfire, ever, and I have mixed 5830 + 5870. Dont need dummy plugs since driver 11.7. best sdk for 5xxx is 2.1

bangra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 01:59:23 PM
 #5

Running mixed 5850's and 5870's with no issues

Have i helped? 1Gm9NMJ2qn2XU1qc4Mps9GSCGe5cdetmpv
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 05:40:22 PM
 #6

Thanks everyone! I appreciate it!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!