Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:02:59 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5850 + 5870 Mining  (Read 1722 times)
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
February 11, 2012, 09:51:16 PM
 #1

I'm always searching for cards to add to my mining fleet, but with the inflated prices of 5870's it's difficult to find the cards in the price range I want. I can occasionally find 5850's though. I have space in two rigs for one card each. One rig is empty (not currently running ) and the other is running with a 5870 right now. I would add to the running rig first, obviously, but my question becomes this:

If I'm running a 5870 and and 5850 in the same rig, will the 5870 only produce the mhash of the 5850? I'm wondering because when you crossfire a 5850 and a 5870, the 5870 drops to the clocks/performance of the 5850. But is crossfire required for mining, or can I simply plug the card in and the device manager will see it, and I start mining?

Is anyone currently doing this? If so I would sincerely appreciate any and all advice you can give me. Thanks in advance!!!

-Chance Coats
The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481054579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054579
Reply with quote  #2

1481054579
Report to moderator
1481054579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054579
Reply with quote  #2

1481054579
Report to moderator
Chomp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 01:43:20 AM
 #2

I have 2x 5870 and  5850 running in windows. To get windows to recognize my cards I had to crossfire the 1st time. after crossfire drivers are installed you should turn it off in ccc for full speed.
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 05:45:03 AM
 #3

Thank you! No dummy plugs necessary?
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 06:24:37 AM
 #4

I never had to crossfire, ever, and I have mixed 5830 + 5870. Dont need dummy plugs since driver 11.7. best sdk for 5xxx is 2.1

bangra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 01:59:23 PM
 #5

Running mixed 5850's and 5870's with no issues

Have i helped? 1Gm9NMJ2qn2XU1qc4Mps9GSCGe5cdetmpv
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 05:40:22 PM
 #6

Thanks everyone! I appreciate it!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!