Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2024, 12:42:09 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hot to install litecoin-qt on Ubuntu or access/use it from the command line.  (Read 25864 times)
matthewh3 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 03:49:55 PM
 #1

Hi I managed to install Litecoin using the following instuctions from this thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=62842.0



* Litecoin

Code:
git clone https://github.com/coblee/litecoin.git
cd ~/litecoin/src/
make -f makefile.unix litecoind
mkdir ~/.litecoin/

Content of ~/.litecoin/litecoin.conf:

Code:
server=1
daemon=1
rpcuser=liteuserx
rpcpassword=nkrt345udsdfjhgjhsdfuyrt78rtTJHRFHTDTYD
rpcport=9334
port=9335

* Starting Litecoin

Code:
~/litecoin/src/litecoind



I started it mining using the following command from this thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=47417.0

""Just put "gen=1" in your litecoin.conf file.""



But how do I access the coins/wallet and send recive them from the command line.  Also is there instructions for installing litecoin-qt on Ubuntu/Debian?HuhHuhHuh  Cheers


"The nature of Bitcoin is such that once version 0.1 was released, the core design was set in stone for the rest of its lifetime." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714005729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714005729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714005729
Reply with quote  #2

1714005729
Report to moderator
1714005729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714005729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714005729
Reply with quote  #2

1714005729
Report to moderator
Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352
Merit: 250

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 03:57:26 PM
 #2

Compiling litecoin-qt/bitcoin-qt is very easy after you've installed Qt SDK. ( http://qt.nokia.com/downloads/ )

You need to install some dependencies first using the terminal :
Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get install libssl-dev
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8-dev
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8++-dev
sudo apt-get install libqrencode-dev
sudo apt-get install libboost-all-dev

After that go to the project directory (with the .pro file) and run following :
Code:
qmake "USE_UPNP=-"
make

After that there should be an executable named litecoin-qt in the same directory as the Litecoin project folder.

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
matthewh3 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 04:19:26 PM
 #3

Compiling litecoin-qt/bitcoin-qt is very easy after you've installed Qt SDK. ( http://qt.nokia.com/downloads/ )

You need to install some dependencies first using the terminal :
Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get install libssl-dev
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8-dev
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8++-dev
sudo apt-get install libqrencode-dev
sudo apt-get install libboost-all-dev

After that go to the project directory (with the .pro file) and run following :
Code:
qmake "USE_UPNP=-"
make

After that there should be an executable named litecoin-qt in the same directory as the Litecoin project folder.

Kk done that and now I have 'litecoin-qt' in bright light green listed in the folder.  How do I start it?

Thanks will donate some LTC to you once I've mined some  Wink

Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1011

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 04:27:18 PM
 #4

Compiling litecoin-qt/bitcoin-qt is very easy after you've installed Qt SDK. ( http://qt.nokia.com/downloads/ )

You need to install some dependencies first using the terminal :
Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get install libssl-dev
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8-dev
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8++-dev
sudo apt-get install libqrencode-dev
sudo apt-get install libboost-all-dev

After that go to the project directory (with the .pro file) and run following :
Code:
qmake "USE_UPNP=-"
make

After that there should be an executable named litecoin-qt in the same directory as the Litecoin project folder.
Now if you do the same for windows, you would be a god Smiley

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
matthewh3 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 04:34:09 PM
 #5

Compiling litecoin-qt/bitcoin-qt is very easy after you've installed Qt SDK. ( http://qt.nokia.com/downloads/ )

You need to install some dependencies first using the terminal :
Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get install libssl-dev
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8-dev
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8++-dev
sudo apt-get install libqrencode-dev
sudo apt-get install libboost-all-dev

After that go to the project directory (with the .pro file) and run following :
Code:
qmake "USE_UPNP=-"
make

After that there should be an executable named litecoin-qt in the same directory as the Litecoin project folder.

It won't start when I enter the command I get -

matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt
litecoin-qt: command not found
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$


pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 838
Merit: 507


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 04:42:19 PM
 #6

It won't start when I enter the command I get -

matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt
litecoin-qt: command not found
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$

Try prepending "./" to the name of the executable:
Code:
$ ./litecoin-qt

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
matthewh3 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 04:44:33 PM
 #7

It won't start when I enter the command I get -

matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt
litecoin-qt: command not found
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$

Try prepending "./" to the name of the executable:
Code:
$ ./litecoin-qt

I get the following error -



matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ ./litecoin-qt
litecoin server starting
[xcb] Unknown sequence number while processing queue
[xcb] Most likely this is a multi-threaded client and XInitThreads has not been called
[xcb] Aborting, sorry about that.
litecoin-qt: ../../src/xcb_io.c:273: poll_for_event: Assertion `!xcb_xlib_threads_sequence_lost' failed.
Aborted
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0.0.




HuhHuhHuhHuhHuh?

matthewh3 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 04:55:41 PM
 #8

It won't start when I enter the command I get -

matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt
litecoin-qt: command not found
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$

Try prepending "./" to the name of the executable:
Code:
$ ./litecoin-qt

Now I'm just getting the error message



~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0.0.



HuhHuhHuhHuhHuh??

Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352
Merit: 250

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 05:36:49 PM
 #9

Compiling litecoin-qt/bitcoin-qt is very easy after you've installed Qt SDK. ( http://qt.nokia.com/downloads/ )

You need to install some dependencies first using the terminal :
Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get install libssl-dev
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8-dev
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8++-dev
sudo apt-get install libqrencode-dev
sudo apt-get install libboost-all-dev

After that go to the project directory (with the .pro file) and run following :
Code:
qmake "USE_UPNP=-"
make

After that there should be an executable named litecoin-qt in the same directory as the Litecoin project folder.
Now if you do the same for windows, you would be a god Smiley

Quote
Download the QT Windows SDK and install it. You don't need the Symbian stuff, just the desktop Qt.
Download and extract the dependencies archive, or compile openssl, boost and dbcxx yourself.
Copy the contents of the folder "deps" to "X:\QtSDK\mingw", replace X:\ with the location where you installed the Qt SDK. Make sure that the contents of "deps\include" end up in the current "include" directory.
Open the .pro file in QT creator and build as normal (ctrl-B)

I was able to compile Bitcoin-qt on Windows this way. Something has changed since then, though.

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000

฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 09:50:35 PM
 #10

It won't start when I enter the command I get -

matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt
litecoin-qt: command not found
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$

Try prepending "./" to the name of the executable:
Code:
$ ./litecoin-qt

Now I'm just getting the error message



~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0.0.



HuhHuhHuhHuhHuh??


You need to be within the X Window System (a.k.a. GNome or Ubuntu Desktop)... The server does not have the GUI... Anyway, you can install it using apt-get / aptitude...
matthewh3 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 10:04:42 PM
 #11

It won't start when I enter the command I get -

matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt
litecoin-qt: command not found
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$

Try prepending "./" to the name of the executable:
Code:
$ ./litecoin-qt

Now I'm just getting the error message



~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0.0.



HuhHuhHuhHuhHuh??


You need to be within the X Window System (a.k.a. GNome or Ubuntu Desktop)... The server does not have the GUI... Anyway, you can install it using apt-get / aptitude...

Yes I am in Xfce desktop environment just using the terminal as when I click on the qt executable in the folder the wallet graphic comes on the screen for a few seconds the just vanishes?  I tried the Qt creator SDK and get the following error -



/home/matt/litecoin/litecoin-qt exited with code 0



And when I try the command      ./litecoin-qt           I get the following error



-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ ./litecoin-qt
litecoin server starting
[xcb] Unknown sequence number while processing queue
[xcb] Most likely this is a multi-threaded client and XInitThreads has not been called
[xcb] Aborting, sorry about that.
litecoin-qt: ../../src/xcb_io.c:273: poll_for_event: Assertion `!xcb_xlib_threads_sequence_lost' failed.
Aborted
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt: Fatal IO error 2 (No such file or directory) on X server :0.0.



When I try the command     litecoin-qt   I get     command not found

ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000

฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 11:07:43 PM
 #12

It won't start when I enter the command I get -

matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt
litecoin-qt: command not found
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$

Try prepending "./" to the name of the executable:
Code:
$ ./litecoin-qt

Now I'm just getting the error message



~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0.0.



HuhHuhHuhHuhHuh??


You need to be within the X Window System (a.k.a. GNome or Ubuntu Desktop)... The server does not have the GUI... Anyway, you can install it using apt-get / aptitude...

Yes I am in Xfce desktop environment just using the terminal as when I click on the qt executable in the folder the wallet graphic comes on the screen for a few seconds the just vanishes?  I tried the Qt creator SDK and get the following error -



/home/matt/litecoin/litecoin-qt exited with code 0



And when I try the command      ./litecoin-qt           I get the following error



-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ ./litecoin-qt
litecoin server starting
[xcb] Unknown sequence number while processing queue
[xcb] Most likely this is a multi-threaded client and XInitThreads has not been called
[xcb] Aborting, sorry about that.
litecoin-qt: ../../src/xcb_io.c:273: poll_for_event: Assertion `!xcb_xlib_threads_sequence_lost' failed.
Aborted
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt: Fatal IO error 2 (No such file or directory) on X server :0.0.



When I try the command     litecoin-qt   I get     command not found


Try to remove the line "daemon=1" from ~/.litecoin/litecoin.conf and start ltiecoin-qt again.
matthewh3 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 11:36:54 PM
 #13

It won't start when I enter the command I get -

matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt
litecoin-qt: command not found
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$

Try prepending "./" to the name of the executable:
Code:
$ ./litecoin-qt

Now I'm just getting the error message



~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0.0.



HuhHuhHuhHuhHuh??


You need to be within the X Window System (a.k.a. GNome or Ubuntu Desktop)... The server does not have the GUI... Anyway, you can install it using apt-get / aptitude...

Yes I am in Xfce desktop environment just using the terminal as when I click on the qt executable in the folder the wallet graphic comes on the screen for a few seconds the just vanishes?  I tried the Qt creator SDK and get the following error -



/home/matt/litecoin/litecoin-qt exited with code 0



And when I try the command      ./litecoin-qt           I get the following error



-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ ./litecoin-qt
litecoin server starting
[xcb] Unknown sequence number while processing queue
[xcb] Most likely this is a multi-threaded client and XInitThreads has not been called
[xcb] Aborting, sorry about that.
litecoin-qt: ../../src/xcb_io.c:273: poll_for_event: Assertion `!xcb_xlib_threads_sequence_lost' failed.
Aborted
matt@matt-ubuntu:~/litecoin$ litecoin-qt: Fatal IO error 2 (No such file or directory) on X server :0.0.



When I try the command     litecoin-qt   I get     command not found


Try to remove the line "daemon=1" from ~/.litecoin/litecoin.conf and start ltiecoin-qt again.

Excellent that worked.  Can crack on with my P2Pool litecoin installation now cheer's (as couldn't use the wallet from the command line).  Will send some LTC your way once I've mined a few  Grin

ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000

฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 11:58:24 PM
 #14


...

Try to remove the line "daemon=1" from ~/.litecoin/litecoin.conf and start ltiecoin-qt again.

Excellent that worked.  Can crack on with my P2Pool litecoin installation now cheer's (as couldn't use the wallet from the command line).  Will send some LTC your way once I've mined a few  Grin

Good to know!!! Thanks!!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!