Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 07:49:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Buy antminer S2 or not?  (Read 820 times)
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
June 09, 2014, 07:02:35 PM
 #1

hi, i would like to know if its a good idea to buy antminer S2.

I read that yeah, maybe right now you can earn ~26$ / day, but in a few weeks, and every difficulty change, that will drop and drop, so... its profitable to buy antminer S2 or not?

I was thinking about buying 1, i have right now 1 S1, and didnt know what to do: buying another S1, or buying antminer S2.

thanks
1510948175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948175
Reply with quote  #2

1510948175
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510948175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948175
Reply with quote  #2

1510948175
Report to moderator
1510948175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948175
Reply with quote  #2

1510948175
Report to moderator
1510948175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948175
Reply with quote  #2

1510948175
Report to moderator
nwfella
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


btc tips: 1NPQP9Z4Ju6rTnH4uR6986kGVnEkpyYFJZ


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 01:10:41 AM
 #2

hi, i would like to know if its a good idea to buy antminer S2.

I read that yeah, maybe right now you can earn ~26$ / day, but in a few weeks, and every difficulty change, that will drop and drop, so... its profitable to buy antminer S2 or not?

I was thinking about buying 1, i have right now 1 S1, and didnt know what to do: buying another S1, or buying antminer S2.

thanks
True enough.  It may earn $26/day for remainder of this difficulty period but expect anywhere from 12-20% drop every 10 days or so.  Bitcoin difficulty won't be slowing down anytime soon imho.

LTC: LcTpDxXjVKkjbSHqPkhDVGaqauiD81snhD
ZEC: t1Jd1615qcMq1FQeXPdm1zvjVvnEMAamLNC
ETC: 0xea55ce08f8558c87dc85d4f3c3ebdf2afebbbe32
jimmothy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 10, 2014, 02:42:16 AM
 #3

They are way overpriced. The a1 clones are going for ~$1500/th.

Rockminers new rxbox is ~$1100/th.
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 02:51:23 AM
 #4

Rockminers new rxbox is ~$1100/th.

And have last year power efficiency, not like the miners in my sig which will have less than 0.5W/GH Smiley

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
jimmothy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 10, 2014, 02:57:46 AM
 #5

Rockminers new rxbox is ~$1100/th.

And have last year power efficiency, not like the miners in my sig which will have less than 0.5W/GH Smiley

But you get a 3 month head start along with a guaranteed ROI within 2 months..

And its not a nonrefundable preorder..
ChuckBuck
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
June 10, 2014, 05:04:05 AM
 #6

Whatever you do, don't listen to Jimmothy.

The Rockminer Rxbox is the miner he's referring to is a minimum quantity of 4, so you'd be required to buy 4 Rxbox's.  Not only the minimum quantity, but it's power usage would equal 3000 Watts total for the 4 units, so you'd need to also buy power supplies(not included with the miners) that can power 4 inefficient miners.

Jimmothy is only endorsing Rockminer, because he's invested in Asicminer in a dividend I'm guessing he didn't get paid yet.

It's a bad buy overall.  Stick to the S2, as you'll be able to upgrade to 2 TH/s soon(by late August/early September) with an inexpensive upgrade kit.

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
jimmothy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 10, 2014, 05:14:55 AM
 #7

Whatever you do, don't listen to Jimmothy.

The Rockminer Rxbox is the miner he's referring to is a minimum quantity of 4, so you'd be required to buy 4 Rxbox's.  Not only the minimum quantity, but it's power usage would equal 3000 Watts total for the 4 units, so you'd need to also buy power supplies(not included with the miners) that can power 4 inefficient miners.

No that is the minimum when ordering directly from rockminer. Resellers will have single units for sale. 1.2w/gh is not the most efficient but it is definitely viable for people with cheap electricity (less than $0.15/kwh I would guess)


Quote
Jimmothy is only endorsing Rockminer, because he's invested in Asicminer in a dividend I'm guessing he didn't get paid yet.

This is simply not true. Sure I have a bias in favor of any company using AM chips but that is not the ONLY reason I endorse rockminer. They have delivered HW as advertised with no major complaints if any at all.

I endorse any company offering reasonably priced hardware. For a while I endorsed bitmain until they stopped lowering the price.


Quote
It's a bad buy overall.  Stick to the S2, as you'll be able to upgrade to 2 TH/s soon(by late August/early September) with an inexpensive upgrade kit.

Are you just trolling at this point? S2 is equally efficient yet twice as expensive.

If the Rxbox is decent and performs as advertised, I may pick up one, as I don't wave pom poms for anyone.  Whatever ships and at a decent price at a decent power efficiency, should be what all of us miners should go for.

Since Rxbox is due out end of this month, we'll see if they can live up to snuff.

Why so flip floppy?
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596



View Profile
June 10, 2014, 05:33:15 AM
 #8

S2's price is not competitive at the current time so I wouldn't recommend it.

BTC: 1AMfUrM37cCHcAvyYGx9bsJWjt6rdCu7sj
ETH: 0x427f41c3a6b79ca643210195a33cdbaa714177aa
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 05:40:39 AM
 #9

Then what, buy more s1?
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596



View Profile
June 10, 2014, 06:01:20 AM
 #10

If the funds are not there to buy better valued hardware then I would just sit on the $ or even buy BTC with it.  SP30 (if you can host it) now looks like a better option.

BTC: 1AMfUrM37cCHcAvyYGx9bsJWjt6rdCu7sj
ETH: 0x427f41c3a6b79ca643210195a33cdbaa714177aa
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 06:15:32 AM
 #11

If the funds are not there to buy better valued hardware then I would just sit on the $ or even buy BTC with it.  SP30 (if you can host it) now looks like a better option.

this one?:

http://www.coindesk.com/details-spondoolies-tech-new-bitcoin-mining-asic-leaked-online/

"The manufacturer is gearing up to introduce its SP-30, codenamed Yukon, by the end of summer. With an effective hash rate of 5.4-6.6 TH/s at a nominal power consumption of 2,500W, the bitcoin miner comes in a 2 U rack with two 1,200W power supply units and is cooled by four 80mm fans."

$5,095 man... so expensive im not going to spend that amount of money xDDDDDDD im not rich xDD
EvilPanda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


Small Red and Bad


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 11:25:57 AM
 #12

If the funds are not there to buy better valued hardware then I would just sit on the $ or even buy BTC with it.  SP30 (if you can host it) now looks like a better option.

this one?:

http://www.coindesk.com/details-spondoolies-tech-new-bitcoin-mining-asic-leaked-online/

"The manufacturer is gearing up to introduce its SP-30, codenamed Yukon, by the end of summer. With an effective hash rate of 5.4-6.6 TH/s at a nominal power consumption of 2,500W, the bitcoin miner comes in a 2 U rack with two 1,200W power supply units and is cooled by four 80mm fans."

$5,095 man... so expensive im not going to spend that amount of money xDDDDDDD im not rich xDD
Like DrG said sit and wait for a while, there's a number of new projects in development. Don't throw away your money into something you may not be satisfied with.

oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 12:03:20 PM
 #13

If the funds are not there to buy better valued hardware then I would just sit on the $ or even buy BTC with it.  SP30 (if you can host it) now looks like a better option.

this one?:

http://www.coindesk.com/details-spondoolies-tech-new-bitcoin-mining-asic-leaked-online/

"The manufacturer is gearing up to introduce its SP-30, codenamed Yukon, by the end of summer. With an effective hash rate of 5.4-6.6 TH/s at a nominal power consumption of 2,500W, the bitcoin miner comes in a 2 U rack with two 1,200W power supply units and is cooled by four 80mm fans."

$5,095 man... so expensive im not going to spend that amount of money xDDDDDDD im not rich xDD
Like DrG said sit and wait for a while, there's a number of new projects in development. Don't throw away your money into something you may not be satisfied with.

ok then, thanks for the advice.

I will just buy another S1 and wait for new projects Wink
ChuckBuck
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
June 10, 2014, 12:47:33 PM
 #14

FYI, the S1 is discontinued by Bitmain, so you'll have to get it used or second hand.

If you can get a few more S1s, good for you.

The long sighted or wise move would be an S2:

A short good news for the S2 buyer is that we will let the S2 to upgrade to 1.8TH/s or 2TH/s at very low cost which you can only image now in the August or September. It still depends on many factors to let us achieve that and detailed plan needs to be drafted, But we are very confident that we can make it.

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 12:57:10 PM
 #15

FYI, the S1 is discontinued by Bitmain, so you'll have to get it used or second hand.

If you can get a few more S1s, good for you.

The long sighted or wise move would be an S2:

A short good news for the S2 buyer is that we will let the S2 to upgrade to 1.8TH/s or 2TH/s at very low cost which you can only image now in the August or September. It still depends on many factors to let us achieve that and detailed plan needs to be drafted, But we are very confident that we can make it.

upgrade S2 how?? adding new hardware?
ChuckBuck
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
June 10, 2014, 12:59:13 PM
 #16

Probably a combination of hardware module kit and firmware upgrade.

They'll announce the officials soon.

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 01:24:22 PM
 #17

Probably a combination of hardware module kit and firmware upgrade.

They'll announce the officials soon.

ok thx
drahgon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 03:35:22 AM
 #18

No you should get S1's. They use more power but more than make up for it in the with how cheap they are
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!