Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2022, 07:34:05 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Using a university supercomputer to mine bitcoins.  (Read 3079 times)
MisO69
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1005


My mule don't like people laughing


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 01:44:55 PM
 #1

I came across this article this morning on the BBC http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-27779030

I wonder what kind of hashrates this guy was getting. If they were anywhere near competing with asics.
icon
Automate your trading like a pro. Lightning fast execution.
Start trading
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1660894445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660894445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660894445
Reply with quote  #2

1660894445
Report to moderator
1660894445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660894445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660894445
Reply with quote  #2

1660894445
Report to moderator
fivejonnyfive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 10, 2014, 02:29:56 PM
 #2

According to this article:

http://tradeblock.com/research/bitcoin-network-8-times-faster-than-top-500-super-computers-combined/

1 Hash equals 12.7kiloflops,

So, if they were using the most powerful supercomputer in the country at the time at 8.2 Petaflops, my math says 645 GH/s.

Not bad, but terribly inefficient :-P


Hazir
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1005


★Nitrogensports.eu★


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 05:59:29 PM
 #3

Inefficient, yes probably. But when you are not the one who is paying for energy it does not matter for you if this is efficient. It pains me that other computers can be used that way and will never know.


           █████████████████     ████████
          █████████████████     ████████
         █████████████████     ████████
        █████████████████     ████████
       ████████              ████████
      ████████              ████████
     ████████     ███████  ████████     ████████
    ████████     █████████████████     ████████
   ████████     █████████████████     ████████
  ████████     █████████████████     ████████
 ████████     █████████████████     ████████
████████     ████████  ███████     ████████
            ████████              ████████
           ████████              ████████
          ████████     █████████████████
         ████████     █████████████████
        ████████     █████████████████
       ████████     █████████████████
▄▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██     
██
██
▬▬ THE LARGEST & MOST TRUSTED ▬▬
      BITCOIN SPORTSBOOK     
   ▄▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██     
██
██
             ▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▄
     ▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀        ▀▄▄▄▄          
▄▀▀▀▀                 █   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄
█                    ▀▄          █
 █   ▀▌     ██▄        █          █              
 ▀▄        ▐████▄       █        █
  █        ███████▄     ▀▄       █
   █      ▐████▄█████████████████████▄
   ▀▄     ███████▀                  ▀██
    █      ▀█████    ▄▄        ▄▄    ██
     █       ▀███   ████      ████   ██
     ▀▄        ██    ▀▀        ▀▀    ██
      █        ██        ▄██▄        ██
       █       ██        ▀██▀        ██
       ▀▄      ██    ▄▄        ▄▄    ██
        █      ██   ████      ████   ██
         █▄▄▄▄▀██    ▀▀        ▀▀    ██
               ██▄                  ▄██
                ▀████████████████████▀




  CASINO  ●  DICE  ●  POKER  
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
   24 hour Customer Support   

▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1035


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 02:05:01 AM
 #4

Meh that's nothing.  Botnets back in 2011 and 2012 were making more than what 650GH/s can do today  Cheesy
guitarplinker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1024



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2014, 02:40:47 AM
 #5

Meh that's nothing.  Botnets back in 2011 and 2012 were making more than what 650GH/s can do today  Cheesy
Still, 650GH/s is an insane amount for a single computer. Wonder how much power it uses though... Cheesy
fivejonnyfive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 11, 2014, 02:55:59 AM
 #6

Meh that's nothing.  Botnets back in 2011 and 2012 were making more than what 650GH/s can do today  Cheesy
Still, 650GH/s is an insane amount for a single computer. Wonder how much power it uses though... Cheesy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IBM_Mira

3.9 Megawatts.

3,900,000/650=6,000

6 KILOWATTS PER GIGAHASH

DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1035


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 04:11:46 AM
 #7

Meh that's nothing.  Botnets back in 2011 and 2012 were making more than what 650GH/s can do today  Cheesy
Still, 650GH/s is an insane amount for a single computer. Wonder how much power it uses though... Cheesy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IBM_Mira

3.9 Megawatts.

3,900,000/650=6,000

6 KILOWATTS PER GIGAHASH



Only 6KW/GH!?!  Wow, now I can finally max out my fuel rods  Cheesy

You can eat soup with a fork, but why...
guitarplinker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1024



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2014, 09:46:00 PM
 #8

Meh that's nothing.  Botnets back in 2011 and 2012 were making more than what 650GH/s can do today  Cheesy
Still, 650GH/s is an insane amount for a single computer. Wonder how much power it uses though... Cheesy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IBM_Mira

3.9 Megawatts.

3,900,000/650=6,000

6 KILOWATTS PER GIGAHASH


Jeebus that's ridiculous! Sounds like it needs some optimizing. :p
sukamasoto
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1006

Black Panther


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 09:07:48 AM
 #9

According to this article:

http://tradeblock.com/research/bitcoin-network-8-times-faster-than-top-500-super-computers-combined/

1 Hash equals 12.7kiloflops,

So, if they were using the most powerful supercomputer in the country at the time at 8.2 Petaflops, my math says 645 GH/s.

Not bad, but terribly inefficient :-P



If your calculations are correct it would be very detrimental to the payment of electricity because it is not in accordance with coins obtained


                                      ▄._      
                                       ▀█████████▀ 
                                     ,▄▓████████   
                                ╓▄▓███████████▀   
                           ╓▄▓███████▀╙.  ▀█     
                      ▄▄▓███████▀╙▄▄▄▄███         
                 ▄▄▓███████▀╙▄,  ▓███████        
           .▄▄▓██████▀▀╙▄▄▓████▌ ████████         
      .▄▄███████▀▀╙▄▄  ▐███████▌ ████████         
 .▄▄███████▀▀ ▐▄▄▓████ ▐███████▌ ████████         
╙█████▀▀▐▄▄▓  ████████ ▐███████▌ ████████        
 ╙▀ ▄▄▓█████  ████████ ▐███████▌ ████████         
    ████████  ████████ ▐███████▌ ████████         
    ████████  ████████ ▐███████▌ ████████             
FlyForFun
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 243
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 10:30:39 AM
 #10

What if they use the supercomputer to mine litecoin or cpu coin instead, it is going to be super profitable..

DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1035


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 02:20:06 PM
 #11

What if they use the supercomputer to mine litecoin or cpu coin instead, it is going to be super profitable..

Um, no.  Any "profit" is at the expense of whoever is hosting the SC. The newer Scrypt ASICs will be 1000x more efficient per watt for Scrypt.  CPU coin maybe - but none of those are established.
lowbander80
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 05:26:21 PM
 #12

What if they use the supercomputer to mine litecoin or cpu coin instead, it is going to be super profitable..

This what they did they mined doge and each day according to the article I have read it miner about 15000 daily.
Now the supercomputers are regulated and its not possible to have access to all of the power because they run
projects from various people so its mostly BUSTED

just a student trying to make a  small profit lost his ability to use the supercomputer
Youghoor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 273


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 06:56:46 PM
 #13

well it seems things didn't go good for him as he lost his access to supercomputer . I hope they will let him keep his profit Cheesy
monim1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 02:59:59 PM
 #14

Inefficient, yes probably. But when you are not the one who is paying for energy it does not matter for you if this is efficient. It pains me that other computers can be used that way and will never know.
I agree with you. If you are not paying the electricity bill then you can mine. But i think solo mining is not much profitable. You may join any pools and start mining.
nickgaff
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 05:33:59 PM
 #15

well it seems things didn't go good for him as he lost his access to supercomputer . I hope they will let him keep his profit Cheesy

There is no law saying they can  Shocked
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1035


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 07:46:34 PM
 #16

Why are you new users condoning the outright theft of other people's property?  If you are mining with somebody else's hardware (in the case above it is a gov sponsored entity so it belongs to the taxpayers) without their consent than that is theft.  It's no different than using a large botnet.

There have been several documented cases of IT people coming on these forums asking how to mine illegally and stealthily and they end up losing their job if not going to prison.

And for 15000 doge/day?  Sheesh, in March I mined 200K doge per day with just 20 video cards and you want to waste a supercomputer for 15000 doge... unbelievable.
Questionator2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 10:07:47 PM
 #17

I still don't get the fact that my few antminers are faster than this supercomputer in whatever I'm doing.
Still calculations right? I know I don't know what I'm talking about but stilll, arrgggg... The unknown info...
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1035


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 12:55:40 AM
 #18

I still don't get the fact that my few antminers are faster than this supercomputer in whatever I'm doing.
Still calculations right? I know I don't know what I'm talking about but stilll, arrgggg... The unknown info...

The simple analogy I use is the spoon/fork analogy.  Think of a supercomputer as a whole bunch of forks.  You can try feeding yourself soup with 25 forks at once and it will work but it's not efficent.  ASICs are Application Specific Integrated Circuits - basically they were engineered for this one task and one task only which is to hash SHA-256.  The ASIC would be equivalent to a spoon.  One little spoon can feed you soup faster than even 25 forks stuffing your mouth at once.

So ASICs are made solely for this purpose so even though they're clocked lower they do this one job damn well.

The spork would be FPGAs Tongue
ALToids
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 07:19:47 AM
 #19

Ah yes the proverbial spoon and fork, wait what  Tongue
Malok
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 07:21:49 AM
 #20

I came across that article as well.  You had to wonder if he really thought he'd never get caught.....not a very smart college person IMO.  Smiley
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!