Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2017, 07:46:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting 5th GPU to Mine with MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon Motherboard  (Read 103 times)
ryanodell81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 19, 2017, 05:11:20 PM
 #1

I am new to mining and I have just built my first mining rig.

HX1200i PSU
5x EVGA Geforce GTX 1070
Intel Core i3 Processor (i3-6100 LGA1151)
Memory DDR4-2133 UDIMM 8GB
SanDisk SSD Plus Solid State Drive 120GB
MSI z270 Gaming Pro Carbon
TRENDnet AC1200 Dual Band Wireless USB Adapter
Windows 10 64bit

The problem I am having is that I am getting the Code 12 error below:

***This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use. (Code 12)

***If you want to use this device, you will need to disable one of the other devices on this system.

I have tried uninstalling and disabling nearly all of the different system devices, changed the bios settings, reinstalled the drivers, reinstalled windows 10 and have been googling and reading everything I could find but I still cant fix it.  So I registered my account and am giving this a try.  I have read that other have got 6 GPUs working on this motherboard so I cant figure out why I cant even get 5 to work.  Please let me know if you have worked with the MSI z270 Gaming Pro Carbon Motherboard with this problem or if you have an idea of what I need to disable to make my 5th card work.  
1506023171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506023171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506023171
Reply with quote  #2

1506023171
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506023171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506023171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506023171
Reply with quote  #2

1506023171
Report to moderator
1506023171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506023171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506023171
Reply with quote  #2

1506023171
Report to moderator
1506023171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506023171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506023171
Reply with quote  #2

1506023171
Report to moderator
Commie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
September 19, 2017, 05:14:45 PM
 #2

Wish I could help but MSI mb's are known to be pain in the butt. Change it if you can.

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  ●     UTRUST // The FUTURE of Online Payments     ●  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬      whitepaper     facebook     twitter     slack       ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
PRE-ICO | 28th August 2017
ryanodell81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 19, 2017, 05:26:04 PM
 #3

I appreciate your honesty... while I am going to stick around and figure out how to make this motherboard work with the help of other users advice, which motherboards would you recommend for future purchases?
JamesBolivar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
September 19, 2017, 05:37:51 PM
 #4

There are specifically designed mining mainboards, called Bitcoin pro or something by Asrock I believe.

As far as MSI goes, I think the issue was with the PCIE multipliers. There's a way to reduce the lane multiplier (x1/x2/x4/x8/x16) in a way to get all cards to work. But I'm not sure what exactly the issue was anymore. Just google for 5 or 6 GPU MSI mainboard and PCIE multiplier, maybe you'll find something.
ryanodell81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 03:25:21 PM
 #5

I was able to get my 5th GPU to show up by running the flash Bios.  This however led to my next problem.  Once I got my 5th GPU up and going it caused one of my GPUs to run on low watts.  I know this because I borrowed the code below and it gives me a print out of the watts being used by each GPU.

--eexit 3 --log 2 --logfile ZCASH.%date:~6,4%%date:~3,2%%date:~0,2%.ewbf.log --pec goto :restart

This worked okay for a while with 4 GPUs mining at ~430sol/s and the 5th one going between 70-225 sol/s with watts in the range of 75-106 while the rest of my GPUs had watts in the range of 140-148.  Since this is a new question I am going to start a new post.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 08:05:13 PM
 #6

Enable 4G Decoding and switch to Gen1 PCIE options in the BIOS/UEFI.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!