Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:48:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 0 connections  (Read 3290 times)
checker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351



View Profile
April 26, 2011, 09:40:19 AM
 #1

I'm starting Bitcoin client[0.3.20.2 beta] on gentoo linux.
It attempts to connect to irc server  irc.jipugtug.org
to channel #bitcoin
Now i'm looking for my ip:[79.126.98.48]
(13:28:16) u5U2xdMgqQi3ADV [x878256929@79.126.98.48] connected.
(13:28:16) u5U2xdMgqQi3ADV leaved room (quit: Max SendQ exceeded).
and "connections" in the Bitcoin clien are still at 0.
Is it normal?
About "Max SendQ" google says that it is problem of irc server.
p.s. Sorry for my bad english Smiley

Хочешь отблагодарить - кинь биткоинов, сколько не жалко- буду рад!
(If u want to say me thanx - give me some bitcoins Smiley )
1NXsbppu1B2exLUY8i5cYbQxbc2zWtiTAY
1481410139
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481410139

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481410139
Reply with quote  #2

1481410139
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481410139
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481410139

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481410139
Reply with quote  #2

1481410139
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506


View Profile
April 27, 2011, 03:31:03 AM
 #2

It should eventually gain connections from the seednodes. If not, try connecting directly to one of the fallback nodes:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Fallback_nodes

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
skittixch
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:24:37 PM
 #3

I'm replying to this thread because I couldn't figure out how to use the fallback nodes.  I received a lot of help in the #bitcoin irc channel in freenode.  For anyone who's racking their brain, here's what I did to get my blockchain to start downloading.
First close your bitcoin client, and in a text editor, copy the following lines exactly, and name your file "bitcoin.conf"

addnode=69.164.218.197
addnode=178.79.147.99
addnode=64.22.103.150
addnode=173.242.112.53
addnode=184.106.111.41
noirc=1

then, navigate to the place where your wallet file lives, and save your .conf file there.  This will add other ways that bitcoin can connect to peers.  Just doing that fixed my problem.  I hope this info helps someone along the way.  If your issue still isn't resolved, check by the irc and ask around.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:53:10 PM
 #4

I'm replying to this thread because I couldn't figure out how to use the fallback nodes.  I received a lot of help in the #bitcoin irc channel in freenode.  For anyone who's racking their brain, here's what I did to get my blockchain to start downloading.
First close your bitcoin client, and in a text editor, copy the following lines exactly, and name your file "bitcoin.conf"

addnode=69.164.218.197
addnode=178.79.147.99
addnode=64.22.103.150
addnode=173.242.112.53
addnode=184.106.111.41
noirc=1

then, navigate to the place where your wallet file lives, and save your .conf file there.  This will add other ways that bitcoin can connect to peers.  Just doing that fixed my problem.  I hope this info helps someone along the way.  If your issue still isn't resolved, check by the irc and ask around.

all those nodes are from the Fallback List.  is there any chance they could get corrupted or hacked?
luv2drnkbr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771



View Profile
May 24, 2011, 06:25:53 AM
 #5

I've been getting the same connection issues as well, so I just went to the conf and added every node on the fallback list, and set maxconnections to 50 and noirc to 1.  I feel bad for relying solely on the fallback nodes, but I don't know what else to do, I can't connect any other way.  I also can't access bitcoin.org main site.  (I've tried the site and the client via VPN as well, so it's gotta be something on my computer.  I've checked the firewall and the router and everything is fine, but by god I still can't connect!!!)

sporeknight123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:24:29 AM
 #6

Where can I find this file exactly? I really have had trouble connecting.
luv2drnkbr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 11:30:43 AM
 #7

If you're using Windows, and you installed in with the EXE download, it will be in C:\Users\YouName\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin

That "AppData" folder is hidden, so make sure to view hidden files.  In that directory, there is a file called "bitcoin.conf" which you need to open in a text editor and add those "addnode=" things that somebody posted a few lines up.  The file might be read only, so you'd need to uncheck that in order to edit it.

cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 12:30:58 PM
 #8

If you're using Windows, and you installed in with the EXE download, it will be in C:\Users\YouName\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin

That "AppData" folder is hidden, so make sure to view hidden files.  In that directory, there is a file called "bitcoin.conf" which you need to open in a text editor and add those "addnode=" things that somebody posted a few lines up.  The file might be read only, so you'd need to uncheck that in order to edit it.

i don't thin bitcoin.conf is there by default.  you have to create it in a plain text editor.
proudhon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 12:38:32 PM
 #9

For the past 2 days I haven't been able to get any connections using the mac client.  I just tried putting a .conf file in the same directory as the wallet.dat, per skittixch's instructions, but I got an error on startup and the app closed.  Anyone know how to force fallback nodes on the mac client?
yeastiebeastie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:50:17 PM
 #10

For the past 2 days I haven't been able to get any connections using the mac client.  I just tried putting a .conf file in the same directory as the wallet.dat, per skittixch's instructions, but I got an error on startup and the app closed.  Anyone know how to force fallback nodes on the mac client?

This thread: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9821.0 has addressed some mac connection issues. Although I suspect the fallback nodes are getting swamped right now.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!