Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2019, 05:03:20 PM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux version => No GUI after upgrade. WTF?  (Read 8464 times)
generica
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 31, 2010, 07:06:37 PM
 #1

Hey guys,

My linux machine (debian 5 stable, 32 bit) was running bitcoin 0.20 for months now.  I upgraded it to 0.36 today and the GUI won't appear, however bitcoin is running and seems to use the CPU.  Where is the GUI?  It won't appear, but there are no errors in the console when I run bitcoin from xterm.

1571850200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571850200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571850200
Reply with quote  #2

1571850200
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571850200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571850200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571850200
Reply with quote  #2

1571850200
Report to moderator
1571850200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571850200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571850200
Reply with quote  #2

1571850200
Report to moderator
1571850200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571850200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571850200
Reply with quote  #2

1571850200
Report to moderator
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 2246


View Profile
August 02, 2010, 05:39:27 PM
 #2

Did it print anything to the console?  Are you sure you didn't run "bitcoind"?

Try version 0.3.7.
generica
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 10, 2010, 06:47:30 AM
 #3


Yep, I am running bitcoin and not bitcoind.

It just launches, and doesn't give me my cursor back.  Since the upgrade from 0.20 it has done this.  0.37 does the same thing.  I haven't tried 0.38 yet but I suspect it will do the same thing.  I wiped the entire config folder and it still did it, I reverted to 0.20 and the GUI launches no problem.  I have taken to now running bitcoin as a daemon since the GUI isn't working for me so it is not a huge deal but I find it odd/curious.  None of my other machines (FreeBSD, Linux, MacOSX, Windows) have any similar issues.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!