Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 10:27:03 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: dedicated miner  (Read 2028 times)
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
February 22, 2012, 10:06:51 PM
 #1

I'm setting up some dedicated miners at a friends place. I want to do it without leaving a monitor there. I'm going to be using a wireless adapter for the internet. What's the best OS to do this? Does linuxcoin allow full control of settings from a remote location?
1481020023
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481020023

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481020023
Reply with quote  #2

1481020023
Report to moderator
1481020023
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481020023

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481020023
Reply with quote  #2

1481020023
Report to moderator
1481020023
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481020023

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481020023
Reply with quote  #2

1481020023
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481020023
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481020023

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481020023
Reply with quote  #2

1481020023
Report to moderator
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 04:08:49 AM
 #2

I'm setting up some dedicated miners at a friends place. I want to do it without leaving a monitor there. I'm going to be using a wireless adapter for the internet. What's the best OS to do this? Does linuxcoin allow full control of settings from a remote location?

As a headless miner with wireless, the best bet right now is probably a Ubuntu 11.04 install with CGminer run from a startup script.  If you can get a wired connection, use BAMT with CGminer.

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 03:06:50 PM
 #3

I'm setting up some dedicated miners at a friends place. I want to do it without leaving a monitor there. I'm going to be using a wireless adapter for the internet. What's the best OS to do this? Does linuxcoin allow full control of settings from a remote location?

If you have an extra wireless router, install DD-WRT and set it up as a wireless bridge with the rig connected by Ethernet. That will be a lot more stable than using a wireless adapter.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 03:08:56 PM
 #4

I'm setting up some dedicated miners at a friends place. I want to do it without leaving a monitor there. I'm going to be using a wireless adapter for the internet. What's the best OS to do this? Does linuxcoin allow full control of settings from a remote location?

If you have an extra wireless router, install DD-WRT and set it up as a wireless bridge with the rig connected by Ethernet. That will be a lot more stable than using a wireless adapter.

This.  Would you run a server off a wireless link?  A mining rig is a server.  It is on 24/7 and when it goes down you lose money.
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 12:38:37 AM
 #5

BAMT 5.0 now supports wireless setups out of the box it seems.  Haven't tested it myself, yet.

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
February 24, 2012, 12:40:06 AM
 #6

Use something linux and learn SSH.  You will be glad you did.

BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 12:48:23 AM
 #7

BAMT 5.0 now supports wireless setups out of the box it seems.  Haven't tested it myself, yet.

You could get it to work with wireless before; it's just standard Debian. No matter what, though, wireless will be inherently much more unstable.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 12:57:35 PM
 #8

I'm setting up some dedicated miners at a friends place. I want to do it without leaving a monitor there. I'm going to be using a wireless adapter for the internet. What's the best OS to do this? Does linuxcoin allow full control of settings from a remote location?

If you have an extra wireless router, install DD-WRT and set it up as a wireless bridge with the rig connected by Ethernet. That will be a lot more stable than using a wireless adapter.

This.  Would you run a server off a wireless link?  A mining rig is a server.  It is on 24/7 and when it goes down you lose money.

Wireless is actually pretty reliable, I don't think I've had any more trouble with it then my wired pc. Definitely not worth running ethernet cables all over the house.
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 01:00:24 PM
 #9

BAMT 5.0 now supports wireless setups out of the box it seems.  Haven't tested it myself, yet.
I just got it working tonight with BAMT. Do you know how to get cgminer on BAMT? Or some alternative mining software that is fast with 5970s?
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 03:06:32 PM
 #10

If you have an extra wireless router, install DD-WRT and set it up as a wireless bridge with the rig connected by Ethernet. That will be a lot more stable than using a wireless adapter.

This.  Would you run a server off a wireless link?  A mining rig is a server.  It is on 24/7 and when it goes down you lose money.

Of course there is little reason to assume a DD-WRT modded wireless bridge is any more reliable than a wireless card. Its still wireless you see Smiley.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 03:15:19 PM
 #11

Of course there is little reason to assume a DD-WRT modded wireless bridge is any more reliable than a wireless card. Its still wireless you see Smiley.

IMHO yes (marginally).  I have found DD-WRT to be pretty reliable.  The whole dedicated appliance vs general purpose computer concept.  I have found wireless drivers to be glitchy in both windows & linux.   Situations where my wife's laptop goes "down" and I get "Baby is the internet down" (then I have to bite my tongue to not make comments about nuclear war). My laptop fine, router fine, "internet" fine.  Her wifi driver/hardware/OS just decided to glitch out.  Plus who knows what the heat of mining rig is going to do to "relability" of the wifi radio.

Personally I wouldn't run miners on anything less than cat5.  Downtime = lost coins but if I had to I would pick a bridge over internal wifi.  Plus if you got 2 or 3 rigs it probably is cheaper.
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 03:39:52 PM
 #12

Of course there is little reason to assume a DD-WRT modded wireless bridge is any more reliable than a wireless card. Its still wireless you see Smiley.

IMHO yes (marginally).  I have found DD-WRT to be pretty reliable.  The whole dedicated appliance vs general purpose computer concept.  I have found wireless drivers to be glitchy in both windows & linux.   Situations where my wife's laptop goes "down" and I get "Baby is the internet down" (then I have to bite my tongue to not make comments about nuclear war). My laptop fine, router fine, "internet" fine.  Her wifi driver/hardware/OS just decided to glitch out.  Plus who knows what the heat of mining rig is going to do to "relability" of the wifi radio.

Personally I wouldn't run miners on anything less than cat5.  Downtime = lost coins but if I had to I would pick a bridge over internal wifi.  Plus if you got 2 or 3 rigs it probably is cheaper.
Not all wireless is built equal, a nice router makes a big difference. I don't think it makes any performance difference if they all get a good signal. I have 8 miners at my house with only 2 on cat5 and I've never noticed anything. The wireless cards are only 13-15 bucks each. It would actually cost more for cat5 and another hub to hook them up. 
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 04:08:38 PM
 #13

Of course there is little reason to assume a DD-WRT modded wireless bridge is any more reliable than a wireless card. Its still wireless you see Smiley.

IMHO yes (marginally).  I have found DD-WRT to be pretty reliable.  The whole dedicated appliance vs general purpose computer concept.  I have found wireless drivers to be glitchy in both windows & linux.   Situations where my wife's laptop goes "down" and I get "Baby is the internet down" (then I have to bite my tongue to not make comments about nuclear war). My laptop fine, router fine, "internet" fine.  Her wifi driver/hardware/OS just decided to glitch out.  Plus who knows what the heat of mining rig is going to do to "relability" of the wifi radio.

Personally I wouldn't run miners on anything less than cat5.  Downtime = lost coins but if I had to I would pick a bridge over internal wifi.  Plus if you got 2 or 3 rigs it probably is cheaper.

I have had the same experience. One of my miners runs off a DD-WRT wireless bridge; the bridge itself has been stable for over a month. Running off a wifi dongle was stable 24 hours at best.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 01:28:46 AM
 #14

It's probably just a signal issue. I've had them go months without issues and when they do crash its not the wireless. You don't want to be using a cheap brand like belkin. You need a 150 dollar cisco or netgear router.
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 01:34:37 AM
 #15

It's probably just a signal issue. I've had them go months without issues and when they do crash its not the wireless. You don't want to be using a cheap brand like belkin. You need a 150 dollar cisco or netgear router.

I use an old $30 Belkin G router as a wireless bridge and it works perfectly.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 09:58:03 PM
 #16

BAMT 5.0 now supports wireless setups out of the box it seems.  Haven't tested it myself, yet.
I just got it working tonight with BAMT. Do you know how to get cgminer on BAMT? Or some alternative mining software that is fast with 5970s?

I haven't been able to get cgminer to load at startup on BAMT 0.5 personally.  Not sure why.  So I'm sticking with 0.4 for a while until I figure it out.  But if you look in /opt/bamt/examples/  there will be another bamt.conf file that will show you what to change to use cgminer.

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
February 26, 2012, 05:46:35 PM
 #17

I haven't been able to get cgminer to load at startup on BAMT 0.5 personally.  Not sure why.  So I'm sticking with 0.4 for a while until I figure it out.  But if you look in /opt/bamt/examples/  there will be another bamt.conf file that will show you what to change to use cgminer.
Thanks.  I just got another card and am playing with 0.5.  I'll look in /opt/bamt/examples for some help.

fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
March 06, 2012, 03:12:35 PM
 #18

I used windows 7, with teamviewer. Works beautifully good for a headless rig, and I can control it fully from anywhere.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!