Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 07:21:46 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: BFL Single in the wild (BOUNTY RECEIVED!!!)  (Read 40161 times)
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 10:17:52 AM
 #41

Greetings,

Regarding USB limitations, out of each real USB port (a port that directly comes out of your motherboards
southbridge, not an internal HUB), around 100 units can function without restriction. Thus, if your computer
has 3 real USB ports (EHCI or OHCI), you can hookup around 300 BitFORCE units to it. BitFORCE does not
take any power from the USB port it connects to, and acts as a stand-alone self-powered unit.


Good Luck,

The thing is, if you have 100 devices connected to the same USB port and one of them has problems, it's gonna take a while until you figure out which one is it. Or am I wrong?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481354506
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481354506

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481354506
Reply with quote  #2

1481354506
Report to moderator
1481354506
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481354506

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481354506
Reply with quote  #2

1481354506
Report to moderator
BFL-Engineer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2012, 10:25:33 AM
 #42

Greetings,

Regarding USB limitations, out of each real USB port (a port that directly comes out of your motherboards
southbridge, not an internal HUB), around 100 units can function without restriction. Thus, if your computer
has 3 real USB ports (EHCI or OHCI), you can hookup around 300 BitFORCE units to it. BitFORCE does not
take any power from the USB port it connects to, and acts as a stand-alone self-powered unit.


Good Luck,

The thing is, if you have 100 devices connected to the same USB port and one of them has problems, it's gonna take a while until you figure out which one is it. Or am I wrong?

It really depends on whether they are all BitFORCE units or it's a mixture of different devices (Mouse, WebCam, HDD, etc). We had no problem connecting
many units to the same USB ports using HUBs. It is not recommended, however, to connect a High-speed and Full-Speed or Low-Speed device to the same
port (This applies in general to the USB protocol ). The reason being is that the controller must reduces bus-speed to send SOF (Start Of Frame) packets
or data packets to full-speed/low-speed units and switch back to high-speed again. This will reduce overall efficiency of the bus.

Regarding trouble-shooting, that is something to be determined based on your specific setup. Generally, if a USB 'device' fails, the HUB disconnects it and
it goes offline.


Regards,


BF Labs Inc.  www.butterflylabs.com   -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
Timbo925
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 10:29:38 AM
 #43

subscribing and finding some money to buy one of these bad boys Grin

Graphic Designer for hire (Ads/Logos/Banners...)   0.25 BTC  --> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78924.msg878727#msg878727
BTC address: 1TimbojaydbZs1x5ptPVovsb9rATH3JSU
pieppiep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 10:33:41 AM
 #44

If you have 100 devices on 1 usb port, you definitely make use of usbhubs.
If you have a root hub with 5 ports with each 5 another 5 port hub and on those each a 4 port hub you have a totel of 5*5*4 = 100 ports.
You can just unplug 1 of the 5 hubs on the root hub and see if 24 more or 25 more devices fail. If 24 more fail you found the hub with the broken device.
A lot faster than trying each of the 100 Smiley
antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 10:54:10 AM
 #45

I don't know if temperature sensor stickers exist and can be used (kind of like Telatemps, but a bit different).

If they do exist, you can put a sticker on all your singles and the one that gets cold is the one you are looking for.

Kind of like this would be cool:

BFL-Engineer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2012, 11:33:38 AM
 #46

I don't know if temperature sensor stickers exist and can be used (kind of like Telatemps, but a bit different).

If they do exist, you can put a sticker on all your singles and the one that gets cold is the one you are looking for.

Kind of like this would be cool:




The actual firmware supports temperature-monitoring, and the miner software can access it.
We may add a blink-on-user-request feature to the firmware. This way, any unit that the miner
asks for, can start blinking at a fast pace, making visual detection of the unit-in-question
easier.

Regards,

BF Labs Inc.  www.butterflylabs.com   -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
muyuu
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 11:49:24 AM
 #47

If this is real, then the "Rig Box" would be still a much much more efficient beast in comparison.

50.4 Giga Hash / S @ 2,500w @ $24,980

About $4M in these would take over the network.

GPG ID: 7294199D - OTC ID: muyuu (470F97EB7294199D)
forum tea fund BTC 1Epv7KHbNjYzqYVhTCgXWYhGSkv7BuKGEU DOGE DF1eTJ2vsxjHpmmbKu9jpqsrg5uyQLWksM CAP F1MzvmmHwP2UhFq82NQT7qDU9NQ8oQbtkQ
SysRun
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Portland Bitcoin Group Organizer


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 12:50:38 PM
 #48

I wouldn't rely on the specs provided for the rig box. Let's wait until we get some updated information from BFL.

Those specs were from back when the Single was still predicted as 1GH/s @ 20watts. I'm not complaining about the end result of 832MH/s @ 83 watts, but its bound to make the Rig Box Stats shift somewhat.

I wouldn't be surprised if the added heat made the enclosure impossible to engineer.

But what about a 10 unit, 8.32GH/s model? I'd jump at that in a second.

Images are not allowed. As your member rank increases, you can use more types of styling in your signature, and your signature can be longer. See the stickies in Meta for more info.
Max 2000; characters remaining: 1781
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 01:07:07 PM
 #49

As promised, here is a screen shot of cgminer after ~12 hours of mining...

muyuu
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 01:15:07 PM
 #50

I wouldn't rely on the specs provided for the rig box. Let's wait until we get some updated information from BFL.

Those specs were from back when the Single was still predicted as 1GH/s @ 20watts. I'm not complaining about the end result of 832MH/s @ 83 watts, but its bound to make the Rig Box Stats shift somewhat.

I wouldn't be surprised if the added heat made the enclosure impossible to engineer.

But what about a 10 unit, 8.32GH/s model? I'd jump at that in a second.

Even "shifting somewhat", it's several times more efficient. So provided it's even close to their claims, it's immense.

GPG ID: 7294199D - OTC ID: muyuu (470F97EB7294199D)
forum tea fund BTC 1Epv7KHbNjYzqYVhTCgXWYhGSkv7BuKGEU DOGE DF1eTJ2vsxjHpmmbKu9jpqsrg5uyQLWksM CAP F1MzvmmHwP2UhFq82NQT7qDU9NQ8oQbtkQ
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 02:36:42 PM
 #51

awesome thanks! Btw how much is it pulling from the wall?

+1
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 02:41:02 PM
 #52

awesome thanks! Btw how much is it pulling from the wall?

+1

No wattage reader around here, I'm too busy hashing away!  Grin

I think Inaba said around 85w....
Splirow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 03:06:23 PM
 #53

Did you play around with flags, oc?
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 03:08:07 PM
 #54

following

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 03:11:30 PM
 #55

Did you play around with flags, oc?

This is what i have in my .bat file to start cgminer...

Code:
cgminer -o http://pool.com:8332 -u name -p pw -o http://pool2.com:8332 -u name -p pw -o http://pool3.com:8332 -u uname -p pw --failover-only -S COM5 --disable-gpu
airdata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 03:31:17 PM
 #56

What a game changer!
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 04:10:22 PM
 #57

very exciting. its cool to see a turn key solution.
abeaulieu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 04:12:47 PM
 #58

Awesome, thanks for the updates. Definitely have to look into purchasing one.
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 04:16:10 PM
 #59

very exciting. its cool to see a turn key solution.

'Turnkey' would imply that it is an all-in-one solution needing no other components to perform its function. That is not the case; it still needs a host PC which is an additional expense (which is likely to need more power than the Single itself). I understand that most of us have PCs 'kicking around' that we can use, but still ...

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 04:20:02 PM
 #60

Well I sure would like to see one of mine  Cry
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!