Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 06:05:27 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Issues with Electrum bash commands  (Read 808 times)
marat22 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 04:49:13 PM
 #1

I'm talking about terminal/bash, not the Electrum console.

If I navigate to the Electrum executable file on Mac (/Applications/Electrum.app/Contents/MacOS) and type:

Code:
./electrum listaddresses

I get a perfectly good response with a list of my addresses.

But if I want to send some Bitcoins to some address using the "payto" command:

Code:
./electrum payto 1CM6v8N9ZST5koc8g7W2So6hKyADQYvi8B 0.001

It first asks me for my password (so it recognised my command) and when I input my password it starts a deamon (Starting deamon [some node]) and then... nothing. It doesn't send the coins neither does anything else. It's just... idle.

It's the same if I include the fee into transaction:

Code:
./electrum payto 1CM6v8N9ZST5koc8g7W2So6hKyADQYvi8B 0.001 --fee=0.0002

Has anyone tried to send bitcoins through the unix terminal? Am I doing something wrong?
1715105127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715105127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715105127
Reply with quote  #2

1715105127
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin Core, which will follow the rules of the network no matter what miners do. Even if every miner decided to create 1000 bitcoins per block, full nodes would stick to the rules and reject those blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715105127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715105127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715105127
Reply with quote  #2

1715105127
Report to moderator
1715105127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715105127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715105127
Reply with quote  #2

1715105127
Report to moderator
1715105127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715105127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715105127
Reply with quote  #2

1715105127
Report to moderator
dabura667
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 252


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 05:40:40 PM
 #2

I'm talking about terminal/bash, not the Electrum console.

If I navigate to the Electrum executable file on Mac (/Applications/Electrum.app/Contents/MacOS) and type:

Code:
./electrum listaddresses

I get a perfectly good response with a list of my addresses.

But if I want to send some Bitcoins to some address using the "payto" command:

Code:
./electrum payto 1CM6v8N9ZST5koc8g7W2So6hKyADQYvi8B 0.001

It first asks me for my password (so it recognised my command) and when I input my password it starts a deamon (Starting deamon [some node]) and then... nothing. It doesn't send the coins neither does anything else. It's just... idle.

It's the same if I include the fee into transaction:

Code:
./electrum payto 1CM6v8N9ZST5koc8g7W2So6hKyADQYvi8B 0.001 --fee=0.0002

Has anyone tried to send bitcoins through the unix terminal? Am I doing something wrong?

Are you 100% sure about your password being correct? You might want to check that.

My Tip Address:
1DXcHTJS2DJ3xDoxw22wCt11FeAsgfzdBU
marat22 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 06:13:38 PM
 #3

Yes, 100% sure. If I type a wrong password I get this Error: This password does not decode this wallet. but if I type the right one the daemon starts and then goes idle... weird.
dabura667
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 252


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 06:30:14 PM
 #4

Yes, 100% sure. If I type a wrong password I get this Error: This password does not decode this wallet. but if I type the right one the daemon starts and then goes idle... weird.

Did you try mktx and see if the signed tx comes back alright? If it does, then that means the problem is in the network interface.

My Tip Address:
1DXcHTJS2DJ3xDoxw22wCt11FeAsgfzdBU
marat22 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 07:47:53 PM
 #5

Yes, 100% sure. If I type a wrong password I get this Error: This password does not decode this wallet. but if I type the right one the daemon starts and then goes idle... weird.

Did you try mktx and see if the signed tx comes back alright? If it does, then that means the problem is in the network interface.

Thanks, I tried it now and a signed tx goes thru. So what kind of problem can be in the network interface? Like firewall?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!