Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:13:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Unofficial "High MHash"/"Best Settings" GPU Comparision Thread  (Read 29174 times)
tidus_13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231



View Profile
June 20, 2012, 02:09:56 AM
 #81

Why u guys put the card HD 5850 at 560 Memory clock isnt  300 better or no?


i was using 840   and 300 memory clock.

~334 mH/S do i have to change something?

BTC: 1FHwwpjGubVr2JJsrd6QjGiUWWqt9PGvVx
LTC: LNbwFdAf4zn3FjGmnw6aknT82poY2YH3Q6
1481192017
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192017

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192017
Reply with quote  #2

1481192017
Report to moderator
1481192017
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192017

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192017
Reply with quote  #2

1481192017
Report to moderator
1481192017
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192017

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192017
Reply with quote  #2

1481192017
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481192017
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192017

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192017
Reply with quote  #2

1481192017
Report to moderator
1481192017
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192017

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192017
Reply with quote  #2

1481192017
Report to moderator
dani
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525


..yeah


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 02:20:20 PM
 #82

Card Manufacturer: ATI Sapphire
Card Model Number: 5830 Extreme 1gb
Card OEM:
MHash per Second: 279
Core Clock: 925
Memory Clock: 180
Average Operating Temperature: 68 °C
Ambient Temperature: 30 °C
Fan Speed: 20%
Host OS: Win7 - 64bit extreme
Driver Version: catalyst suite (minimal installation) 11.11
Mining Program: cgminer 2.6.5
Command Line Flags/GUIminer Settings: -k diablo, worksize: 256, vectors: 1, intensity: 9, gpu-threads: 2
Other Information: 4 cards, seperated by 1x-16x pcie riser, without plastic on the fans. sempron 140 (unlocked to athlon II X2 4400e) and some 900watt psu. GPU vddc 1.065 V

Anyone could tell me why my cards only run around 279? I tried bamt with phoenix, it gave me about 300mh/s on same settings. Phoenix on win7 will give me like 850-900 only (maybe because i cant overclock properly). Any other kernel performs worse (using diablo).

Please anyone?

Hai
racerguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 03:08:30 PM
 #83

Card Manufacturer: ATI Sapphire
Card Model Number: 5830 Extreme 1gb
Card OEM:
MHash per Second: 279
Core Clock: 925
Memory Clock: 180
Average Operating Temperature: 68 °C
Ambient Temperature: 30 °C
Fan Speed: 20%
Host OS: Win7 - 64bit extreme
Driver Version: catalyst suite (minimal installation) 11.11
Mining Program: cgminer 2.6.5
Command Line Flags/GUIminer Settings: -k diablo, worksize: 256, vectors: 1, intensity: 9, gpu-threads: 2
Other Information: 4 cards, seperated by 1x-16x pcie riser, without plastic on the fans. sempron 140 (unlocked to athlon II X2 4400e) and some 900watt psu. GPU vddc 1.065 V

Anyone could tell me why my cards only run around 279? I tried bamt with phoenix, it gave me about 300mh/s on same settings. Phoenix on win7 will give me like 850-900 only (maybe because i cant overclock properly). Any other kernel performs worse (using diablo).

Please anyone?

Experiment with different driver versions?  I thought catalyst 10.6 were meant to be best for 5xxx cards.  Also you're not having problems with the 100% cpu bug are you?
dani
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525


..yeah


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 04:41:37 PM
 #84

I just saw i have the 100% cpu bug. i tried 11.11, 11.12 (no difference for me) and 12.6 (worst)... ill try 10.6, i thought 11.11 was the best.. thanks in advice!

edit: thats odd. i now have sdk 2.5 running (drivers 11.11, it seems the driver version doesnt effect mhash, but sdk does). I have 1mh/s less than before. Wtf?

edit: fixed the 100% cpu bug, using 12.6 drivers but 2.5 sdk. Still no improvement except 100% cpu bug is gone. Any point in using older sdk than 2.5? Is 2.5 the best choice for cgminer 2.6.5 with diablo kernel?

I dont see whats the best combination. is it the kernel? Phatk performs way worse than diablo.

edit2: for some reason sdk 2.1 didnt work with cgminer

Hai
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2012, 05:42:50 PM
 #85

I just saw i have the 100% cpu bug. i tried 11.11, 11.12 (no difference for me) and 12.6 (worst)... ill try 10.6, i thought 11.11 was the best.. thanks in advice!

edit: thats odd. i now have sdk 2.5 running (drivers 11.11, it seems the driver version doesnt effect mhash, but sdk does). I have 1mh/s less than before. Wtf?

edit: fixed the 100% cpu bug, using 12.6 drivers but 2.5 sdk. Still no improvement except 100% cpu bug is gone. Any point in using older sdk than 2.5? Is 2.5 the best choice for cgminer 2.6.5 with diablo kernel?

I dont see whats the best combination. is it the kernel? Phatk performs way worse than diablo.

on a 5830:
Phatk2 - with BFI INT enabled, 256 worksize, vectors (2vector), at ~360MHz RAM and as high coreclock as you can get. Look at my previous posts on the first page of this topic.

SDK 2.5 is a good choice, you have to make sure that if you have ever installed a driver after 11.11 or SDK 2.6+ that you manually go in and remove the opencl files left behind by SDK 2.6, neither the uninstaller or a reinstallation of an older driver properly removes them. Stream SDK 2.1 will get +1%, but for the time it will take for you to get it working (substituting around files, newer miners won't work right because this SDK only support OpenCL 1.0, etc) it's not worth it.

dani
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525


..yeah


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 06:06:04 PM
 #86

on a 5830:
Phatk2 - with BFI INT enabled, 256 worksize, vectors (2vector), at ~360MHz RAM and as high coreclock as you can get. Look at my previous posts on the first page of this topic.

SDK 2.5 is a good choice, you have to make sure that if you have ever installed a driver after 11.11 or SDK 2.6+ that you manually go in and remove the opencl files left behind by SDK 2.6, neither the uninstaller or a reinstallation of an older driver properly removes them. Stream SDK 2.1 will get +1%, but for the time it will take for you to get it working (substituting around files, newer miners won't work right because this SDK only support OpenCL 1.0, etc) it's not worth it.

i see, thanks. I just dont know how to install/use phatk2. Where do i get the phatk2 kernel from? I found this site containing phatk2:
https://github.com/DDarko/Phoenix-Miner/tree/master/kernels/phatk2

but where to put it? Please, your help is appreciated very much

edit:

i tried to replace the original phatk120823.cl or so with the kernelfile i found (phatk2). Get an error:

Quote
[2012-08-24 19:53:21] Started cgminer 2.7.3




 error detected in the compilation of "C:\Users\root\AppData\Local\Temp\OCLABB2
tmp.cl".

nternal error: clc compiler invocation failed.

[2012-08-24 19:53:22] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
[2012-08-24 19:53:22] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
[2012-08-24 19:53:22] Try restarting cgminer.
ress enter to continue:

same error when i call the kernel phatk2120823.cl and use -k phatk2

As you mentioned its hard to deinstall higher drivers/sdk. i deinstalled drivers and sdk via install manager, then went to windows/system32/ delted 3 files (amdcpl64, amdcplcl64,Opencl or so) and the same on systemWOW64 or so. Reinstalled sdk 2.5 and driver version 11.11. im pretty sure there is no 2.6 sdk running, but how can i tell? Did i miss any files?

Hai
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2012, 07:36:44 PM
 #87

You can just use Phoenix miner which comes with phatk2.

here's a phoenix.cfg file for you, just put in your pool info:

[general]
    autodetect = +cl -cpu #Use autodetect for all OpenCL devices, except those which are CPUs.
    verbose = True #Enable verbose logging?
    backend = http://user:password@us1.ozco.in:8332 #The primary backend.
    backups = http://user:password@us2.ozco.in:8332 #A space seperated list of backup servers.
    failback = 300 #Seconds between attempts to reconnect to primary backend when using backups. (0 to disable)
    queuesize = 1 #Target/maximum size of the queue
    queuedelay = 5 #Seconds before work expires to request more work (WARNING: don't change this unless you know what you are doing!)
    statusinterval = 1 #Seconds between statusbar updates
    ratesamples = 10 #Number of samples to average for hashrate reporting
    logfile = False #Set this option to log to a file.
[web]
    disabled = True #Disable the RPC server?
    bind = 192.168.1.100 #IP to bind the RPC server to
    port = 7780 #RPC port
    password = phoenix #RPC password
    root = C:\phoenix2\phoenix2\www #Root directory for the web server
    logbuffer = 1000 #How many logs to remember in the getlogs() RPC call
[cl:0:0]
    autoconfigure = False #Automatically configure this device?
    kernel = phatk2 #The kernel to use for the device
    name = GPU 0 #The name to display the device as (default is device ID if not specified)
    start_undetected = False #Do not start the kernel if the device is not present
    disabled = False #Disable this device?
    worksize = 256 #Work group size, tweaking this option may improve performance
    vectors = True #Use unit2 vectors? (enable this or vectors4, not both)
    vectors4 = False #Use uint4 vectors? (enable this or vectors, not both)
    bfi_int = True #Use BFI_INT instruction on ATI VLIW GPUs?
    goffset = True #Use OpenCL 1.1 global offset?
    fastloop = False #Use fast internal loop? (ideal for low aggression)
    aggression = 12 #Number of nonces to test per kernel execution (lower value = less desktop lag, higher value = higher hashrate)
[cl:0:1]
    autoconfigure = False
    kernel = phatk2
    name = GPU 1
    start_undetected = False
    disabled = False
    worksize = 256
    vectors = True
    vectors4 = False
    bfi_int = True
    fastloop = False
    aggression = 12
[cl:1:0]
    autoconfigure = True

dani
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525


..yeah


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 07:48:08 PM
 #88

im very frustrated Sad

i tried phoenix already, it gives 266 mh/s now, most likely because it runs on stock clock. How can i adjust clock/etc without any (stupid) tools? (266 on 800mnz would be excellent i guess, making 320 on 975 possible Smiley ).
I tried deleting any amd/ati file like you said here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=63616.0
also installed 11.6.
Now opencl wont find any card except gpu0 (no gpu1,2,3..). Damn, my day is already screwed..

Quote
18:51] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
18:51] ADL found more devices than opencl!
18:51] There is possibly at least one GPU that doesn't support

18:51] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL
18:51] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!
18:51] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!

edit: i found out phoenix was running on 970/180.. still only 266mh/s. Thats madness!

Hai
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2012, 08:34:34 PM
 #89

im very frustrated Sad

i tried phoenix already, it gives 266 mh/s now, most likely because it runs on stock clock. How can i adjust clock/etc without any (stupid) tools? (266 on 800mnz would be excellent i guess, making 320 on 975 possible Smiley ).
I tried deleting any amd/ati file like you said here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=63616.0
also installed 11.6.
Now opencl wont find any card except gpu0 (no gpu1,2,3..). Damn, my day is already screwed..

Quote
18:51] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
18:51] ADL found more devices than opencl!
18:51] There is possibly at least one GPU that doesn't support

18:51] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL
18:51] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!
18:51] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!

edit: i found out phoenix was running on 970/180.. still only 266mh/s. Thats madness!

Driver 11.11 is fine, it comes with SDK 2.5 runtimes after you find and remove newer ones (which you only need to do once). I use Sapphire Trixx to overclock, but MSI Afterburner will also change clocks and voltage above what the stock ATI control panel allows. I don't know where you got 180MHz ram setting, 350-380MHz RAM will be the peak performance on a 5830 with SDK 2.5.

The phoenix 2.0 config file has entries for each GPU - you just need to copy the working [cl:0:0] parameters to additional [cl:0:1] [cl:0:2] and [cl:0:3] for each GPU.

This is offtopic, futher questions should go to the phoenix thread or cgminer threads.

jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 09:00:14 PM
 #90

You need SDK 2.1 for best performance of 5xxx series cards.

I use driver 11.12 and SDK 2.1 on my 5970's and 5870's and you get max hash rates with that combo.

CGminer is also a very easy miner to work with, but people can get slightly higher hash rates with Phoenix although phoenix requires some more configuring as the poster above showed you.

CGminer doesn't require as much configuring for optimal performance.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 24, 2012, 09:02:58 PM
 #91

You need SDK 2.1 for best performance of 5xxx series cards.

I don't understand why people are always saying that. I always got exceptional hashrates on my 58xx and 5970 cards with 2.5. It was 2.6+ that stunk for 5xxx cards.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2012, 09:50:10 PM
 #92

You need SDK 2.1 for 100% CPU usage with 5xxx series cards.
Fixed that 4 U.

I was able to get 0.3 % better performance with SDK 2.1

BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 10:33:03 PM
 #93

OP updated, thanks Dani. That's an impressive temp with that OC and 20% fan, nice job.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
dani
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525


..yeah


View Profile
August 25, 2012, 07:32:46 AM
 #94

Thank you for your help, i will post further on cgminer thread.

for the temps: some cards are even lower (63°c). pictures here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7216.msg1131595#msg1131595. i also applied new cooling paste last month.
if overclocked to 975/300 (1.128 V) the system is getting way hotter (like 73-74 on avarage). keept it cool Smiley

edit: i fixed it! i was thinking vectors 2 isnt working, but i tried again: it works now. it works as it should Smiley im so happy right now  Grin

Hai
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!