Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:34:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can you run more than 4 amd gpus in windows now?  (Read 1876 times)
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 08:17:40 AM
 #1

was that just a driver thing? also, does 32 bit or 64 bit matter?

thanks.
1480890847
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890847

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890847
Reply with quote  #2

1480890847
Report to moderator
1480890847
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890847

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890847
Reply with quote  #2

1480890847
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480890847
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890847

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890847
Reply with quote  #2

1480890847
Report to moderator
1480890847
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890847

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890847
Reply with quote  #2

1480890847
Report to moderator
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 03:18:10 PM
 #2

Yes you can.  Maximum of 8 now.
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 05:14:32 PM
 #3

Yes you can.  Maximum of 8 now.

Is there a trick to this? I am able to boot into Windows 7 64 with 5 GPUs, and it will stay stable, until I attempt to mine on all 5 GPUs then it BSODs, saying pagefault in non paged area; using 12.1 drivers with bundled SDK.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 06:02:23 PM
 #4

Actually I spent all weekend trying to figure this out... roll back to 11.12 and I bet you'll find it works.  12.1+ seems to BSOD as soon as start mining with 5+
bangra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 07:08:58 PM
 #5

Updated on rig to 12.1 and BSOD with 5 5850's, dropped back to 11.12 and fine also

Have i helped? 1Gm9NMJ2qn2XU1qc4Mps9GSCGe5cdetmpv
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 07:23:51 PM
 #6

Updated on rig to 12.1 and BSOD with 5 5850's, dropped back to 11.12 and fine also

THANKS! Been killing myself trying to get my f*king $260 mobo to run more than 4 GPUs. Not much of a Linux person, but I even tried perusing that without luck so far (different issue though, Diablo wouldn't start up, but I believe it was because I tried using an old AMD SDK)

Will try as soon as I get off work and let you know if that works for me jjshabadoo; but from what I have heard this was a driver issue for Windows, so this makes sense to me. I would have thought that if it was fixed in 11.12, that it would have been fixed moving forward, but then again, it is the AMD dev team making these drivers  Roll Eyes Whats you address portron? I'll send a couple coins your way if I can get this working. Sorry you were late to the party bangra, I don't have a lot of MH/s or I'd send you some BTC too  Embarrassed

Also, possibly related to the 12.1 drivers, Windows would not even stay booted without BSODing until I had the first PCIE-x16 populated with a 16X graphics card (1x risers don't work for me in 16x slots, although that's probly my mobo)
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 09:12:46 PM
 #7

Updated on rig to 12.1 and BSOD with 5 5850's, dropped back to 11.12 and fine also

THANKS! Been killing myself trying to get my f*king $260 mobo to run more than 4 GPUs. Not much of a Linux person, but I even tried perusing that without luck so far (different issue though, Diablo wouldn't start up, but I believe it was because I tried using an old AMD SDK)

Will try as soon as I get off work and let you know if that works for me jjshabadoo; but from what I have heard this was a driver issue for Windows, so this makes sense to me. I would have thought that if it was fixed in 11.12, that it would have been fixed moving forward, but then again, it is the AMD dev team making these drivers  Roll Eyes Whats you address portron? I'll send a couple coins your way if I can get this working. Sorry you were late to the party bangra, I don't have a lot of MH/s or I'd send you some BTC too  Embarrassed

Also, possibly related to the 12.1 drivers, Windows would not even stay booted without BSODing until I had the first PCIE-x16 populated with a 16X graphics card (1x risers don't work for me in 16x slots, although that's probly my mobo)

Worked for me! Thanks portron! What's your wallet address? I'll send a couple BTC your way for the help.

jjshabadoo, to document my process: I installed Driver Sweeper from Tech Powerup, express uninstalled all ATI drivers, rebooted in safe mode, ran driver sweeper, cleaned AMD display drivers, rebooted in normal mode, installed 11.12 drivers, and 2.5 SDK, then installed 2 more GPUs for a total of 6 and Windows started hashing!

Note driversweeper will delete any drivers that were extracted into C:/AMD or C:/ATI, so you will need the download package for 11.12 and 2.5 SDK

BTW jjshabadoo, I am using the same motherboard as you are I believe, as per your other thread; I have the P8P67 WS Platinum, 1503 BIOS. You should be able to use up to 7 video cards (8 GPUs max) using my instructions above.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 10:00:54 PM
 #8

My address: 15cE8MYa48tYKdeJg5TEn6VVWuTHeNcZbc

I had built a few new rigs... and kind of went a cheaper route and got some ASRock Mobo's instead of my standard GD70's... I returned one board becuase I thought the PCI-E Slot was bad... then I was thinking one of the cards was bad...

After flashing countless BIOS updates, reinstalling windows multiple times, cleaning drivers, god it was a nightmare... all to find out that 12.1+  with 4+ GPU's either freezes on windows boot up or BSOD's on starting mining...

jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 10:04:04 PM
 #9

Does it mater if it's 32 bit or 64 bit windows 7?

I have a bunch of free 32 bit licenses from work.

Want to get 2 x 5970's and 2 5870's in each machine under water.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 10:07:58 PM
 #10

Does it mater if it's 32 bit or 64 bit windows 7?

I have a bunch of free 32 bit licenses from work.

Want to get 2 x 5970's and 2 5870's in each machine under water.

You should be OK on 32 bit, make sure to update to SP1 (and run 10.6+)
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 01:24:26 AM
 #11

I'm glad that the 4 GPU in win 7 limit is now gone.I just wish that AMD would stop coding in limits that decide how many gpus you can have in your system though.

[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 01:59:56 AM
 #12

technically you can run 8 under windows 7 x64 with recent AMD drivers

however I have never gotten past 5 without stability issues, 6- is unstable and 5 is rock solid

all my rig have 5 radeon hd 5870s in them with no problem but If I try to add anther all hell breaks lose

if you want to do more than 5 on a mb i would suggest linux
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 06:48:18 PM
 #13

Anyone trying over 4 GPUs 6970 with 6550D (Beaver Creek)?

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!