Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:32:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Im very new, can't understand M/hesh...  (Read 1392 times)
knifeproz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 05:41:00 AM
 #1

Hello, I have found out today about bitcoin and found it interresting enough to try to get some on my own. I got enough info to download bitcoin 0.5.2 itself, and a miner. Im not exactly 100% sure how this miner works but i made an account on a website called bitcoins.cz and used slush's pool on GUIMiner. At first I was getting login errors, then i figured out what to do. After i got past that problem, i was able to finally start getting some mining done....until i realized that i saw people saying that they had over 20-500+ m/hesh and i'm only getting 2.1m/hesh. My computer is pretty decent i'd say, i have 2 Radeon 6800 series graphics cards, 2.4? 3.4 quadcore processor and it runs all games pretty smooth, so Im not sure why i'm getting such low m/hesh. Could someone please explain to me what is it exactly that im doing wrong?

I have looked for an answer on many forums for a few hours and couldn't find anything so i finally came here and decided to post. Could someone please help in some way? Thank you.

EDIT: after DxDiag heres some of my info in case needed;
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.4GHz, 8.2k ram, Windows 7 64 bit, Radeon 6800 Graphics cards. If any other tests are needed, please let me know. Thank you.
1480869163
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869163

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869163
Reply with quote  #2

1480869163
Report to moderator
1480869163
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869163

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869163
Reply with quote  #2

1480869163
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480869163
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869163

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869163
Reply with quote  #2

1480869163
Report to moderator
1480869163
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869163

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869163
Reply with quote  #2

1480869163
Report to moderator
1480869163
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869163

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869163
Reply with quote  #2

1480869163
Report to moderator
knifeproz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 06:10:31 AM
 #2

Good news: I figured out i accidentally set it to CPU power not GPU, but still im only gegtting around 190-200 Mhash. Is that normal? I see people getting way higher results. Thanks
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 06:42:46 AM
 #3

Good news: I figured out i accidentally set it to CPU power not GPU, but still im only gegtting around 190-200 Mhash. Is that normal? I see people getting way higher results. Thanks

What specific graphics card do you have?  6850?  6870?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Check that out and scroll down until you find your specific graphics card.  It will tell you the average m/hash of a few sample setups.
 
If you have two graphics cards, I think you need to open another miner tab in GUIminer and select the 2nd graphics card to be able to mine with both cards.

knifeproz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 06:45:59 AM
 #4

Good news: I figured out i accidentally set it to CPU power not GPU, but still im only gegtting around 190-200 Mhash. Is that normal? I see people getting way higher results. Thanks

What specific graphics card do you have?  6850?  6870?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Check that out and scroll down until you find your specific graphics card.  It will tell you the average m/hash of a few sample setups.
 
If you have two graphics cards, I think you need to open another miner tab in GUIminer and select the 2nd graphics card to be able to mine with both cards.

Thanks you. I think it may be possible its not recognizing them because its showing up as [0-0]Barts and the other option i have is my CPU which was the problem initially. Any idea on that maybe? But thank you for the site, i'll definitely compare.
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 06:50:40 AM
 #5

Good news: I figured out i accidentally set it to CPU power not GPU, but still im only gegtting around 190-200 Mhash. Is that normal? I see people getting way higher results. Thanks

What specific graphics card do you have?  6850?  6870?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Check that out and scroll down until you find your specific graphics card.  It will tell you the average m/hash of a few sample setups.
 
If you have two graphics cards, I think you need to open another miner tab in GUIminer and select the 2nd graphics card to be able to mine with both cards.

Thanks you. I think it may be possible its not recognizing them because its showing up as [0-0]Barts and the other option i have is my CPU which was the problem initially. Any idea on that maybe? But thank you for the site, i'll definitely compare.

Yeah, the [0-0]Barts is your graphics card.  If you have two, you should be able to go to file (I think it's file) and then something like "new OpenCL miner."  You'll have a 2nd mining tab.  You'll have to enter your miner details again so you can connect to the pool with that miner.  Then select [0-1]Barts in that mining tab.


knifeproz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 06:53:08 AM
 #6

No matter what i check, without taking teh computer appart I wont be able to check my graphics card. All it says is "Radeon 6800 series"  ....i think its either only recognizing one, or my dad took the other one out. when opening a new OpenCL miner it still had the choice of [0-0]Bart and the CPU
diabinc141
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 06:59:54 AM
 #7

If it only gives you those options then yeah you only have 1 GPU. As for the 190-200 Mhash/s, that could be better depending on what 6800 series it is. I easily get 310+ Mhash/s out of my 6870. Best drivers for your card are the 11.11 with SDK 2.5. If you have newer than that (11.12/12.1/12.2) then you will see significantly less Mhash/s. I also suggest lowering the memory speed on your card to get temperatures down. Without doing that temps can get pretty hot.

124ExGY8igKZzpbti7vzvXqajVc8AC6vi8
knifeproz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:01:51 AM
 #8

If it only gives you those options then yeah you only have 1 GPU. As for the 190-200 Mhash/s, that could be better depending on what 6800 series it is. I easily get 310+ Mhash/s out of my 6870. Best drivers for your card are the 11.11 with SDK 2.5. If you have newer than that (11.12/12.1/12.2) then you will see significantly less Mhash/s. I also suggest lowering the memory speed on your card to get temperatures down. Without doing that temps can get pretty hot.
Thank you for the advice. I'm not exactly sure but i think i have the 6850...what tool would i be able to use to see the temperature and tone down the memory speed?
diabinc141
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:08:26 AM
 #9

Use MSI Afterburner. Also if you use MSI Afterburner don't enable voltage monitoring. See this post why https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=44495.0. You can look at this post for how to unlock MSI Afterburner https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=18102.0. Once you have done that you can lower your memory clocks!

124ExGY8igKZzpbti7vzvXqajVc8AC6vi8
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:10:42 AM
 #10

If it only gives you those options then yeah you only have 1 GPU. As for the 190-200 Mhash/s, that could be better depending on what 6800 series it is. I easily get 310+ Mhash/s out of my 6870. Best drivers for your card are the 11.11 with SDK 2.5. If you have newer than that (11.12/12.1/12.2) then you will see significantly less Mhash/s. I also suggest lowering the memory speed on your card to get temperatures down. Without doing that temps can get pretty hot.
Thank you for the advice. I'm not exactly sure but i think i have the 6850...what tool would i be able to use to see the temperature and tone down the memory speed?

Try this.

http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm

Click on "Download the Lastest MSI Afterburner Beta," the second one down on the far left hand column.

It's an overclocking tool that you can use to adjust your core and memory clock speeds, your voltage, and your fans.  It also lets you monitor the temperature of each card.  Be careful not to overclock your card too much and definitely don't over-volt it if you aren't sure of what you're doing.  Drop the memory clock speeds to around 300 if you can.  Keep your temperatures around 70-75C or lower at all times (lower is much much better).

diabinc141
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:14:01 AM
 #11

If it only gives you those options then yeah you only have 1 GPU. As for the 190-200 Mhash/s, that could be better depending on what 6800 series it is. I easily get 310+ Mhash/s out of my 6870. Best drivers for your card are the 11.11 with SDK 2.5. If you have newer than that (11.12/12.1/12.2) then you will see significantly less Mhash/s. I also suggest lowering the memory speed on your card to get temperatures down. Without doing that temps can get pretty hot.
Thank you for the advice. I'm not exactly sure but i think i have the 6850...what tool would i be able to use to see the temperature and tone down the memory speed?

Try this.

http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm

Click on "Download the Lastest MSI Afterburner Beta," the second one down on the far left hand column.

It's an overclocking tool that you can use to adjust your core and memory clock speeds, your voltage, and your fans.  It also lets you monitor the temperature of each card.  Be careful not to overclock your card too much and definitely don't over-volt it if you aren't sure of what you're doing.  Drop the memory clock speeds to around 300 if you can.  Keep your temperatures around 70-75C or lower at all times (lower is much much better).
I haven't tried the beta yet. Is it pretty stable? Also I have a rig that has a 5870 and a 6870 in it and, with the non-beta version I have, I have to adjust my 6870 first then my 5870. If I do it in reverse order my 6870 gets bumped back to stock settings! No clue why but do you think the beta would fix this?

124ExGY8igKZzpbti7vzvXqajVc8AC6vi8
knifeproz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:15:34 AM
 #12

Thank you guys so much. Very appreciated. I'll do my best to get a donation goin if i finally get this figured out ^^
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:20:17 AM
 #13

If it only gives you those options then yeah you only have 1 GPU. As for the 190-200 Mhash/s, that could be better depending on what 6800 series it is. I easily get 310+ Mhash/s out of my 6870. Best drivers for your card are the 11.11 with SDK 2.5. If you have newer than that (11.12/12.1/12.2) then you will see significantly less Mhash/s. I also suggest lowering the memory speed on your card to get temperatures down. Without doing that temps can get pretty hot.
Thank you for the advice. I'm not exactly sure but i think i have the 6850...what tool would i be able to use to see the temperature and tone down the memory speed?

Try this.

http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm

Click on "Download the Lastest MSI Afterburner Beta," the second one down on the far left hand column.

It's an overclocking tool that you can use to adjust your core and memory clock speeds, your voltage, and your fans.  It also lets you monitor the temperature of each card.  Be careful not to overclock your card too much and definitely don't over-volt it if you aren't sure of what you're doing.  Drop the memory clock speeds to around 300 if you can.  Keep your temperatures around 70-75C or lower at all times (lower is much much better).
I haven't tried the beta yet. Is it pretty stable? Also I have a rig that has a 5870 and a 6870 in it and, with the non-beta version I have, I have to adjust my 6870 first then my 5870. If I do it in reverse order my 6870 gets bumped back to stock settings! No clue why but do you think the beta would fix this?

I use the Beta to adjust the memory clocks on my 3x6970 rig.  I usually don't leave the Beta running because I adjust everything else in CGminer.  They're non-reference cards and the manufacturers didn't allow me adjust the clocks that low without flashing the BIOS.  I had to adjust a couple things in the MSIAfterburner.cfg file to get it to let me drop my memory clocks to 685.

It sounds like your problem is a little different than mine was.  The Beta has been stable for me so far.  I haven't noticed anything glitchy.  I'm not sure if it would solve your problem, though.

knifeproz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:23:27 AM
 #14

Sorry for being a bother but one more thing to ask: my card only went down to 500 minimum, when i put 300 it bumped it to 500 - is that still fine? it was originally at 1000.
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:26:26 AM
 #15

Sorry for being a bother but one more thing to ask: my card only went down to 500 minimum, when i put 300 it bumped it to 500 - is that still fine? it was originally at 1000.

500 is not bad at all.  That should reduce temperatures quite a bit and will draw less energy.  It might even help out your m/hashes slightly.

knifeproz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:28:08 AM
 #16

Sorry for being a bother but one more thing to ask: my card only went down to 500 minimum, when i put 300 it bumped it to 500 - is that still fine? it was originally at 1000.

500 is not bad at all.  That should reduce temperatures quite a bit and will draw less energy.  It might even help out your m/hashes slightly.

Alright thanks (: It didnt do much to the temp really, its still ranging between 74 and 77, but it rose the hash by 3 or 4 ^^
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:30:54 AM
 #17

Sorry for being a bother but one more thing to ask: my card only went down to 500 minimum, when i put 300 it bumped it to 500 - is that still fine? it was originally at 1000.

500 is not bad at all.  That should reduce temperatures quite a bit and will draw less energy.  It might even help out your m/hashes slightly.

Alright thanks (: It didnt do much to the temp really, its still ranging between 74 and 77, but it rose the hash by 3 or 4 ^^

What's your fan % at?

knifeproz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:33:09 AM
 #18

Sorry for being a bother but one more thing to ask: my card only went down to 500 minimum, when i put 300 it bumped it to 500 - is that still fine? it was originally at 1000.

500 is not bad at all.  That should reduce temperatures quite a bit and will draw less energy.  It might even help out your m/hashes slightly.

Alright thanks (: It didnt do much to the temp really, its still ranging between 74 and 77, but it rose the hash by 3 or 4 ^^

What's your fan % at?

Currently its at 77%
diabinc141
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:41:16 AM
 #19

Wow my 6870 at 45% fan peaks at 58C with 950 core and 300 memory!

124ExGY8igKZzpbti7vzvXqajVc8AC6vi8
knifeproz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 07:41:58 AM
 #20

This might be more helpful
http://imgur.com/vvmfr
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!