Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:12:38 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: B.S.O.D. atikmpag.sys on 7x64  (Read 4098 times)
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2012, 10:33:33 AM
 #1

Hi, I have a system with a 5870 and a 5830 dual boot with Xp64 and 7-64. On both I have installed SDK from catalyst 11.6 and the driver from catalyst 12.1.
Xp64 mines stable for weeks, while when I try to mine on 7 (with phoenix 1.72), I get a BSOD in a couple of minutes, referring to atikmpag.sys. 7 is a fresh install. I tried to uninstall and reinstall the drivers and even to format and reinstall 7 but the result remains the same.
Any guess?

1480810358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810358
Reply with quote  #2

1480810358
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480810358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810358
Reply with quote  #2

1480810358
Report to moderator
1480810358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810358
Reply with quote  #2

1480810358
Report to moderator
1480810358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810358
Reply with quote  #2

1480810358
Report to moderator
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
February 27, 2012, 02:03:44 PM
 #2

Hi, I have a system with a 5870 and a 5830 dual boot with Xp64 and 7-64. On both I have installed SDK from catalyst 11.6 and the driver from catalyst 12.1.
Xp64 mines stable for weeks, while when I try to mine on 7 (with phoenix 1.72), I get a BSOD in a couple of minutes, referring to atikmpag.sys. 7 is a fresh install. I tried to uninstall and reinstall the drivers and even to format and reinstall 7 but the result remains the same.
Any guess?
Welcome to the shitty and unstable AMD drivers! Enjoy your stay.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
neo_rage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 06:41:10 PM
 #3

Do you install latest version of driver?

kllr123
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 08:11:03 PM
 #4

Have you done any overclocking? I know I get that same bsod when I overclock a bit too far then after a while it BSOD also with phoenix.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 08:48:02 PM
 #5

Drop back to 11.12
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 03:56:39 AM
 #6

11.12 is better for me.  Had to run the latest 12.2 pre driver with my 7970 and had more blue screens than I care to think of.  6950 back in Windows box and happy with 11.12...

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2012, 11:55:16 AM
 #7

Update: I mined stable for months after installing 7/32. Yesterday I retried to install 7/64 and the same story happened, no matter what driver or combination of them I used. Then I restored my 7/32 system backup and patched it for PAE (since 7/32 "sees" just 2.75 GB of my 4 GB Ram, and the patch allows it to use all the Ram available). Then guess what?  atikmpag.sys BSODs restarted. They happen even if I don't mine. So it must be something related to the use of the Ram.
I wonder if anyone else with 7/64 experienced anything like that and what drivers are they using.

bicer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 24, 2012, 05:08:00 AM
 #8

Yep same issue here, 7/64, atikmpag.sys BSOD.

Update: I mined stable for months after installing 7/32. Yesterday I retried to install 7/64 and the same story happened, no matter what driver or combination of them I used. Then I restored my 7/32 system backup and patched it for PAE (since 7/32 "sees" just 2.75 GB of my 4 GB Ram, and the patch allows it to use all the Ram available). Then guess what?  atikmpag.sys BSODs restarted. They happen even if I don't mine. So it must be something related to the use of the Ram.
I wonder if anyone else with 7/64 experienced anything like that and what drivers are they using.

conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2012, 12:43:42 PM
 #9

I found that my problem is probably due to my shitty motherboard: Asrock AliveXfire esata 2 r3: lots of people with this mobo have the same problem with ATI cards. Updating the bios to the last version did not help.

Vdizz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
November 25, 2012, 06:38:05 AM
 #10

Dual 7970 - W7/64 - same issue. BSOD almost always when I launch CGminer. I can write a book about everything I tried to resolve this until I upgraded to Windows 8 (yeah, I was that desperate). Not a single problem since.
Elxiliath
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66



View Profile
November 28, 2012, 04:20:58 AM
 #11

From the looks of it, it seems like there is a driver bug in the x64 Drivers with your card series.  I've ran my 4870 and 5850 without issues with the drivers.  Have you tried any different miner applications?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Bwincoin - 100% Free POS. BL5cYJHSEvjPo19GQa3z7Z3cCEbBY9iCee
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2012, 08:39:00 PM
 #12

just a little update for a coupla questions: I found that the ATI driver (11.12) sucks about 400 MB of Ram per each 58XX card installed, both in Seven 32 and x64. That's why in my 4 GB Ram system I get 2.7 GB only available ram from the exact moment that I install the ATI drivers on Seven x64 (before I install the drivers I got 4 GB available Ram (if I enable "remapping memory hole" in the bios). So I wonder if everybody else experience this huge waste of Ram from ATI cards or it's just me, and if there is a fix (apart from Linux). If I double my ram to 8 GB will I be able to get at least 6 GB of available ram on Seven x64? Or will the ATI ram waste double too? Or it will restart to BSOD? (I think I was able to install ATI drivers in Seven x64 with no more BSODs disabling something in the bios. But I am not sure about what exactly).

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!