Bitcoin Forum
February 26, 2017, 02:43:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: B.S.O.D. atikmpag.sys on 7x64  (Read 4168 times)
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2012, 10:33:33 AM
 #1

Hi, I have a system with a 5870 and a 5830 dual boot with Xp64 and 7-64. On both I have installed SDK from catalyst 11.6 and the driver from catalyst 12.1.
Xp64 mines stable for weeks, while when I try to mine on 7 (with phoenix 1.72), I get a BSOD in a couple of minutes, referring to atikmpag.sys. 7 is a fresh install. I tried to uninstall and reinstall the drivers and even to format and reinstall 7 but the result remains the same.
Any guess?

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1488120191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488120191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488120191
Reply with quote  #2

1488120191
Report to moderator
1488120191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488120191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488120191
Reply with quote  #2

1488120191
Report to moderator
1488120191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488120191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488120191
Reply with quote  #2

1488120191
Report to moderator
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
February 27, 2012, 02:03:44 PM
 #2

Hi, I have a system with a 5870 and a 5830 dual boot with Xp64 and 7-64. On both I have installed SDK from catalyst 11.6 and the driver from catalyst 12.1.
Xp64 mines stable for weeks, while when I try to mine on 7 (with phoenix 1.72), I get a BSOD in a couple of minutes, referring to atikmpag.sys. 7 is a fresh install. I tried to uninstall and reinstall the drivers and even to format and reinstall 7 but the result remains the same.
Any guess?
Welcome to the shitty and unstable AMD drivers! Enjoy your stay.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
neo_rage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 06:41:10 PM
 #3

Do you install latest version of driver?

kllr123
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 08:11:03 PM
 #4

Have you done any overclocking? I know I get that same bsod when I overclock a bit too far then after a while it BSOD also with phoenix.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 08:48:02 PM
 #5

Drop back to 11.12
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 03:56:39 AM
 #6

11.12 is better for me.  Had to run the latest 12.2 pre driver with my 7970 and had more blue screens than I care to think of.  6950 back in Windows box and happy with 11.12...

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2012, 11:55:16 AM
 #7

Update: I mined stable for months after installing 7/32. Yesterday I retried to install 7/64 and the same story happened, no matter what driver or combination of them I used. Then I restored my 7/32 system backup and patched it for PAE (since 7/32 "sees" just 2.75 GB of my 4 GB Ram, and the patch allows it to use all the Ram available). Then guess what?  atikmpag.sys BSODs restarted. They happen even if I don't mine. So it must be something related to the use of the Ram.
I wonder if anyone else with 7/64 experienced anything like that and what drivers are they using.

bicer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 24, 2012, 05:08:00 AM
 #8

Yep same issue here, 7/64, atikmpag.sys BSOD.

Update: I mined stable for months after installing 7/32. Yesterday I retried to install 7/64 and the same story happened, no matter what driver or combination of them I used. Then I restored my 7/32 system backup and patched it for PAE (since 7/32 "sees" just 2.75 GB of my 4 GB Ram, and the patch allows it to use all the Ram available). Then guess what?  atikmpag.sys BSODs restarted. They happen even if I don't mine. So it must be something related to the use of the Ram.
I wonder if anyone else with 7/64 experienced anything like that and what drivers are they using.

conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2012, 12:43:42 PM
 #9

I found that my problem is probably due to my shitty motherboard: Asrock AliveXfire esata 2 r3: lots of people with this mobo have the same problem with ATI cards. Updating the bios to the last version did not help.

Vdizz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
November 25, 2012, 06:38:05 AM
 #10

Dual 7970 - W7/64 - same issue. BSOD almost always when I launch CGminer. I can write a book about everything I tried to resolve this until I upgraded to Windows 8 (yeah, I was that desperate). Not a single problem since.
Elxiliath
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66



View Profile
November 28, 2012, 04:20:58 AM
 #11

From the looks of it, it seems like there is a driver bug in the x64 Drivers with your card series.  I've ran my 4870 and 5850 without issues with the drivers.  Have you tried any different miner applications?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Bwincoin - 100% Free POS. BL5cYJHSEvjPo19GQa3z7Z3cCEbBY9iCee
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2012, 08:39:00 PM
 #12

just a little update for a coupla questions: I found that the ATI driver (11.12) sucks about 400 MB of Ram per each 58XX card installed, both in Seven 32 and x64. That's why in my 4 GB Ram system I get 2.7 GB only available ram from the exact moment that I install the ATI drivers on Seven x64 (before I install the drivers I got 4 GB available Ram (if I enable "remapping memory hole" in the bios). So I wonder if everybody else experience this huge waste of Ram from ATI cards or it's just me, and if there is a fix (apart from Linux). If I double my ram to 8 GB will I be able to get at least 6 GB of available ram on Seven x64? Or will the ATI ram waste double too? Or it will restart to BSOD? (I think I was able to install ATI drivers in Seven x64 with no more BSODs disabling something in the bios. But I am not sure about what exactly).

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!