Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:35:11 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What does long poll detected new block mean?  (Read 15583 times)
tom10122
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 01:50:22 AM
 #1

On one computer the LTC miner shows my hashes on my other , all it says long poll detected new block, it doens't say this once it says it and repeats it a whole mess of times
1480948511
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948511

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948511
Reply with quote  #2

1480948511
Report to moderator
1480948511
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948511

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948511
Reply with quote  #2

1480948511
Report to moderator
1480948511
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948511

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948511
Reply with quote  #2

1480948511
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480948511
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948511

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948511
Reply with quote  #2

1480948511
Report to moderator
1480948511
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948511

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948511
Reply with quote  #2

1480948511
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 01:52:45 AM
 #2

LP means there is a block found on the network so miner stops working on old data and begins to hash the next block.

Likely both miners are showing LP as LP are part of mining.  If one miner isn't showing any work (share completed) that is an issue but it showing LP likely has nothing to do with it.
tom10122
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 02:02:58 AM
 #3

well my one comp only shows that but if i go onto the pool i see my khashes so it is mining
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 02:15:24 AM
 #4

Did you by any chance enable disable an option in the miner to hide shares (silent, quiet, etc)?
tom10122
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 02:19:06 AM
 #5

i dont think so , i just used the gui and added my username pass, server ect
aaa801
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 02:50:22 AM
 #6

Thats normal, that message should be popping up every 10 seconds or so
Code:
2012-02-28 02:49:46] thread 7: 11109 hashes, 4.76 khash/s
2012-02-28 02:49:46] accepted: 828/832 (99.52%), 36.10 khash/s (yay!!!)
2012-02-28 02:49:47] thread 6: 47514 hashes, 4.72 khash/s
2012-02-28 02:49:47] accepted: 829/833 (99.52%), 37.00 khash/s (yay!!!)
2012-02-28 02:49:49] LONGPOLL detected new block
2012-02-28 02:49:49] thread 5: 55278 hashes, 4.61 khash/s
2012-02-28 02:49:49] thread 0: 18816 hashes, 4.57 khash/s
2012-02-28 02:49:49] thread 4: 29247 hashes, 4.72 khash/s
2012-02-28 02:49:49] thread 6: 10383 hashes, 4.77 khash/s
2012-02-28 02:49:49] thread 2: 56553 hashes, 4.50 khash/s
2012-02-28 02:49:49] thread 1: 20415 hashes, 4.55 khash/s
2012-02-28 02:49:49] thread 3: 104823 hashes, 4.70 khash/s
2012-02-28 02:49:49] thread 7: 11352 hashes, 4.72 khash/s
2012-02-28 02:49:49] accepted: 829/834 (99.40%), 37.15 khash/s (booooo)

LTC: LUUikznZrvDb65ZCNQUNCiTaCB4CWGYRSZ
BTC: 1325TrScK8jkiPuMEMxNf1VXHHfnR1QtgN
tom10122
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 03:17:31 AM
 #7

no it doesnt show my hash rate tho
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 10:13:44 AM
 #8

Thats normal, that message should be popping up every 10 seconds or so
More precisely:
  • About ten seconds when using p2pool.
  • About two minutes and a half, on average, when connected to a classic pool.
  • Never when mining solo.

no it doesnt show my hash rate tho
I assume you are using Scryptminer GUI. Does the hash rate show up in the top left corner?
Also, what is the hash rate reported by the pool?

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
drakahn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 02:55:51 PM
 #9

are they using different versions of the programs?

download the latest versions

14ga8dJ6NGpiwQkNTXg7KzwozasfaXNfEU
tom10122
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 09:49:02 PM
 #10

Im using the same program on all my comps , the only difference is the 64-bit shows hashes but my others dont , all my processors are 64-bit but only one has 64-bit OS
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 10:02:55 PM
 #11

Im using the same program on all my comps , the only difference is the 64-bit shows hashes but my others dont , all my processors are 64-bit but only one has 64-bit OS

Correct me if I'm wrong... isn't a 64-bit OS needed to run 64-bit applications?

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
tom10122
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 10:43:55 PM
 #12

No your rite , i run 32-bit version of the miner on the ones with out the 64-bit OS
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
February 28, 2012, 10:51:12 PM
 #13

No, you're right. I run the 32 bit version of the miner on the ones without a 64 bit OS.
Fixed that for you. Were you texting on a Nokia?

LP stands for Long Poll. It is a technology that allows an HTTP connection to stay open, so that data can be sent back to the requester at a later time. This is perfect for a new block announce, as instead of the miner continuously asking the pool every few seconds if there is a new Bitcoin block, it asks only once, the connection stays open, and the response is returned when a block is found.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!