Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 08:16:46 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows setting turn display off increases mining speed?  (Read 6002 times)
Blackasaurus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


Rawr!


View Profile
February 28, 2012, 09:48:37 PM
 #1

Whenever I come home at the end of the day and check my speeds at my pool they read 725+ but when I check my miner the speeds are at ~660-675 (using 7970 and diablo miner)
I was wondering if this setting in windows, Turn display off: (I have it set to 5 min), increases mining speed when I'm not around.
1480709806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480709806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480709806
Reply with quote  #2

1480709806
Report to moderator
1480709806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480709806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480709806
Reply with quote  #2

1480709806
Report to moderator
1480709806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480709806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480709806
Reply with quote  #2

1480709806
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480709806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480709806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480709806
Reply with quote  #2

1480709806
Report to moderator
1480709806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480709806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480709806
Reply with quote  #2

1480709806
Report to moderator
Lord F(r)og
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 477



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 10:01:38 PM
 #2

check it out and report back: turn turn display off off
Lord F(r)og
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 477



View Profile
February 28, 2012, 10:09:18 PM
 #3

check it out and report back: turn turn display off off
I'm running it off.  Why would someone run it with display on?
Use logmein, if you must see it.

not you. Blackasaurus did.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 01:04:02 AM
 #4

On linux if you are using the card to display the screen - it means you will lose MH/s

My linux install script says to also make sure your screen blanker is just a blank screen and is enabled for this exact reason

When I bring the screen up out of blank mode, for me it dropped about 50Mh/s of the 365MH/s for the 6950 connected to the display but of course the 2nd 6950 was unaffected (though I will also admit that I only checked this a few times back in August ...)

I'd be surprised if windows wasn't the same

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Lord F(r)og
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 477



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 07:09:35 AM
 #5

@Blackasaurus thx for figuring it out

@kano thx for your statment too

it does matter for overall efficiency optimization
Tittiez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
March 03, 2012, 05:01:35 PM
 #6

I just recently switched my 1280x1024 monitor for a 22'' 1080p monitor and only lost about 2MH/s.
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 517



View Profile WWW
March 03, 2012, 07:07:25 PM
 #7

Remember that when GPU needs to redraw anything for you, it must take a part of the processing power from the mining. So, when you move windows, redraw their contents, there is (very little) slow down of mining process.

For example, I minimize the console windows when not watching the mining.

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
neo_rage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
March 03, 2012, 11:28:10 PM
 #8

it's possible. display output affects performance of mining.

Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
March 06, 2012, 07:09:03 AM
 #9

I used to set my display to sleep when I was on Windows and it seemed to help a bit. But since switching to Ubuntu, I can't sleep my screen anymore because it won't respond when I try to wake it up again. Undecided

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
echris1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 07:46:51 AM
 #10

The rate shown by the pool is based on the number of shares you have submitted over a given period of time and involves a few averages and magic numbers, it should not be used to accurately gauge what your miners are actually running at.  The only truly accurate place is the display of the miner itself, for example in cgminer or diablo.  If you watch pool based hashrate readouts they can fluctuate wildly because it is also partly based on how lucky you were finding shares for that particular period of time. 

Also, using logmein or some other remote desktop would be the same as turning on the local display on the miner because the miner then has to render that desktop for your remote session.  The best way I've found is to use ssh to check your miners on the command line, or something like ANUBIS which gives you nice monitoring for cgminer, including 5s and long term averages directly reported by the miner.

PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
March 13, 2012, 06:11:39 AM
 #11

I can throw this into the conversation: last May when I got into mining, a few months before AMD added support for headless mining (and people were making dummy plugs), my cards all hashed about 1% faster without a monitor.  My process was to plug in the monitor, get the mining started on the currently plugged card, then unplug the monitor and move on to the next one. 

Since that was nearly a year ago, I can't say whether it still holds true today.


Test it and find out.

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
ram1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile
March 15, 2012, 09:26:48 PM
 #12

fwiw:  I noticed that on my Windows machine, if a video (e.g. youtube) is playing (even paused), my hashrate drops by approximately 67%. 
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 09:58:18 PM
 #13

Yep - it's all to do with using the graphics card.

It's quite blatantly obvious but I'll state it:
If you are hashing on a graphics card and the card isn't doing anything else, you get your expected X MH/s
If however, the graphics card is ALSO doing something else, it will reduce the X number by some amount in relation to what extra you are doing.
Try running a 3-D screen saver Cheesy
(of course if that something else is extremely small the reduction in X may be small or negligible also)

If you aren't seeing the above, then you are either not getting the correct expected X MH/s or you are confused about which cards are mining and which cards are mining + doing something else.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!