Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:14:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BlockExplorer.com and BlockChain.info out of sync?  (Read 1257 times)
BrightAnarchist
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 853



View Profile
March 01, 2012, 09:28:52 PM
 #1

I don't want to reveal one of my addresses, but it seems that these two websites are reporting different transactions at present. Specifically, there are txs on blockchain.info that have not appeared on blockexplorer.com.

Any ideas? Thanks
1481199259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199259
Reply with quote  #2

1481199259
Report to moderator
1481199259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199259
Reply with quote  #2

1481199259
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481199259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199259
Reply with quote  #2

1481199259
Report to moderator
blueadept
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 09:32:00 PM
 #2

blockexplorer.com is at least 60 blocks behind blockchain.info right now.

Like my posts?  Connect with me on LinkedIn and endorse my "Bitcoin" skill.
Decentralized, instant off-chain payments.
Revalin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 09:33:29 PM
 #3

Blockexplorer is at 169217, Blockchain.info is at 169277.  If your transaction is between those you should expect to see different results.

      War is God's way of teaching Americans geography.  --Ambrose Bierce
Bitcoin is the Devil's way of teaching geeks economics.  --Revalin 165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g
BitPiggy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67



View Profile WWW
June 07, 2012, 06:28:41 PM
 #4

BlockExplorer is now a lot more that ~70 blocks behind: 182750 vs 183442

And it looked as if BlockExplorer even regressed! I grabbed a random address from BlockExplorer yesterday for testing purposes, 16A2heKS1zf4D3pHhwoHEweLzvBzExPtRS. Yet today when I go to BlockExplorer, it no longer has the block that includes that transaction, 182973.

Hmm...might be worth running a blockexplorer mirror myself. BlockChain and BlockExplorer are pretty darn useful.

http://BitPiggy.com: Australian Dollars (AUD) to BitCoin exchange
@bitpiggy

Me: Ruby on Rails developer, 12+ years programming experience.
@matholroyd, http://www.linkedin.com/in/matholroyd
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506


View Profile
June 07, 2012, 08:04:59 PM
 #5

I'm trying to fix it now. My PostgreSQL database's size on disk quadrupled for some reason, almost filling the disk and causing problems.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 07, 2012, 08:06:02 PM
 #6

I'm trying to fix it now. My PostgreSQL database's size on disk quadrupled for some reason, almost filling the disk and causing problems.
"Some reason" is probably satoshidice and their many tiny transactions.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506


View Profile
June 07, 2012, 08:16:12 PM
 #7

"Some reason" is probably satoshidice and their many tiny transactions.

I don't think so. My other BBE instance has a database size of 22 GB, while the main site's database with the exact same data is ~90 GB. I think it's something fixable. Right now I'm vacuuming the database to see if that helps. If that doesn't work, I'll ask the people on #postgresql if they know how to fix it. If not, I'll reset the database.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
BitPiggy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67



View Profile WWW
June 07, 2012, 09:53:56 PM
 #8

My other BBE instance has a database size of 22 GB, while the main site's database with the exact same data is ~90 GB.

Is this other instance + the main instance behind a load balancer?

EDIT:

That is, are they running off different IPs, and one is randomly shown when querying blockexplorer.com?

http://BitPiggy.com: Australian Dollars (AUD) to BitCoin exchange
@bitpiggy

Me: Ruby on Rails developer, 12+ years programming experience.
@matholroyd, http://www.linkedin.com/in/matholroyd
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506


View Profile
June 07, 2012, 10:02:11 PM
 #9

That is, are they running off different IPs, and one is randomly shown when querying blockexplorer.com?

It used to be set up that way, but my personal BBE instance is too slow to handle any significant percentage of the traffic nowadays.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!