Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 06:50:55 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin client crashed during transaction and now displays wrong balance  (Read 1427 times)
glitch003
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2012, 03:42:16 AM
 #1

Well I was trying to send 5 BTC to Bitcoinica and my bitcoin client crashed due to not being able to find GrowlHelper.App on my mac.  So, now my client says I have 12 BTC but I know I have 17 in the addresses if I view them on blockchain.info. 

Importing the public/private key pairs into Electrum should show the correct balance, right?  Is there a way to refresh my balance in the regular bitcoin client?

If I didn't understand bitcoin, losing money like this would scare me. But I know that the funds are still present in my addresses at blockchain.info.  Anyway I'm surprised the client records the transaction in it's database before it has actually been executed.  That just seems wrong to me.  Can someone more informed explain why this happens?

Thanks!

1480747855
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747855

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747855
Reply with quote  #2

1480747855
Report to moderator
1480747855
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747855

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747855
Reply with quote  #2

1480747855
Report to moderator
1480747855
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747855

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747855
Reply with quote  #2

1480747855
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480747855
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747855

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747855
Reply with quote  #2

1480747855
Report to moderator
1480747855
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747855

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747855
Reply with quote  #2

1480747855
Report to moderator
1480747855
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747855

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747855
Reply with quote  #2

1480747855
Report to moderator
glitch003
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2012, 04:37:26 AM
 #2

How odd, the transaction seems to have gone through about 6 hours after I placed it.  It now shows up on blockchain.info as spent, but not yet confirmed.  Why would this happen?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!