Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:22:30 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: p2pool-mine with friends  (Read 2017 times)
tomtheminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
March 10, 2012, 10:36:03 AM
 #1

Hi, i want to mine with my friends, and combine our hashes, i set up p2pool, and heard that you can set up your own 'pool', with own fees and stuff.
So, how do i do this, i read something about nodes, but dont know how this works, can anyone explain?

Please donate: BTC:
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481149350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149350
Reply with quote  #2

1481149350
Report to moderator
1481149350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149350
Reply with quote  #2

1481149350
Report to moderator
1481149350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149350
Reply with quote  #2

1481149350
Report to moderator
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 02:26:24 PM
 #2

You don't steal from your friends ! Cheesy

roomservice
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190



View Profile
March 10, 2012, 02:31:20 PM
 #3

It's pretty easy.

Just run a p2pool node and let your friends connect using their payout address as username.

If you really wanna charge a fee for your "friends" take a look at hte p2pool wiki:

  -f FEE_PERCENTAGE, --fee FEE_PERCENTAGE
                        charge workers mining to their own bitcoin address (by
                        setting their miner's username to a bitcoin address)
                        this percentage fee to mine on your p2pool instance.
                        Amount displayed at http://127.0.0.1:WORKER_PORT/fee
                        (default: 0)

"Tonight's the night. And it's going to happen again, and again. It has to happen. Nice night."
tomtheminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
March 10, 2012, 06:43:58 PM
 #4

How can i run a 'node'?

Please donate: BTC:
wabber
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
March 10, 2012, 06:47:43 PM
 #5

How can i run a 'node'?
all you need is bitcoind and this tool: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=18313.0
tomtheminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
March 10, 2012, 10:02:23 PM
 #6

Thank you (:

Please donate: BTC:
tomtheminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
March 11, 2012, 09:50:16 AM
 #7

I have it all running, but how can my miners connect, what do they type in in a miner?

Please donate: BTC:
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
March 11, 2012, 10:00:04 AM
 #8

I have it all running, but how can my miners connect, what do they type in in a miner?
They need to know your IP and you need to have port 9332 (or if you've change the port...) forwarded to allow outside connections.

tomtheminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
March 11, 2012, 10:51:53 AM
 #9

but i must change all the 127.0.0.1 into my ip?

Please donate: BTC:
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
March 11, 2012, 11:04:31 AM
 #10

but i must change all the 127.0.0.1 into my ip?
You only need to have your friends connect to your pool, not your bitcoind.
So, you need to visit a site like http://whatsmyip.net/ to get your IP.

Then, when you get your IP; plug the default port (9332) of p2pool onto it.

Example: If your IP happen to be 123.153.235.54, then you will tell your friends to connect to your pool @ http://THEIRBITCOINADDRESS:password@123.153.235.54:9332/ using their mining software.

tomtheminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
March 11, 2012, 11:24:14 AM
 #11

I get an error:

at least one server needs to be running??

Please donate: BTC:
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 04:27:37 PM
 #12

I get an error:

at least one server needs to be running??

Maybe you didn't forward the port? The friend needs to be able to connect to port 9332 (p2pool's port).

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!