gat3way (OP)
|
|
July 04, 2011, 06:59:41 AM |
|
I found that your nice tool stalls when it looses connectivity.
If you don't define a pool list text file (and use -f file) on connection loss, it sleeps for 20-30 seconds then retries. If you have defined a pool list file, it just tries the next one without sleeping. It'd also be nice to have a socket spawn from hashkill that allows reading of basic program statistics, so we can develop our tools around yours.
This is not supported, however the bitcoin plugin exports statistics in a text file in json format (in ~/.hashkill/bitcoin.json). It'd also be awesome if hashkill had a switch to show all avail plugins
Use hashkill-gpu -p I've been searching for some tool that can use a GPU to get around salted MD5 ($1$, ya know:-D).
MD5(Unix) is not supported at present on GPUs. It is on CPUs though. The only tool I know of that supports it on GPUs is oclhashcat+ Still the question remains whether hashkill has native CUDA support.
No CUDA support, just OpenCL. Yes, CUDA tends to be faster, but I don't really care about 5-10% performance gains on NVidia platforms that require the whole codebase to be rewritten. If it was AMD, I would do that, but NVidia hardware just sucks in terms of integer ops. It's a waste of money and electricity for hash cracking, even when huge hashlists are to be cracked.
|
|
|
|
M4v3R
|
|
July 04, 2011, 07:39:58 AM |
|
Hi, I've tried hashkill for the first time today, but unfortunately it doesn't quite work well for me (it works at 1/3 GPU capacity only): Linux tifa 2.6.35-30-server #54-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jun 7 20:13:05 UTC 2011 x86_64 GNU/Linux LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.2-lnx64/lib/x86_64/ hashkill-gpu -p bitcoin -f pools -D -G4 SDK version: 2.2 Catalyst version: 10.2 Any ideas why? Edit: I use SDK 2.1 in my miners because 2.2 and newer for some reason don't work for me. And 2.1 doesn't work with hashkill, I get the clBuildProgram error.
|
|
|
|
figvam
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 42
Merit: 0
|
|
July 04, 2011, 07:42:54 AM |
|
Something's wrong with Fedora 14, 2.1 SDK and 4650. It used to work in some previous version. [hashkill] Version 0.2.5 [hashkill] Plugin 'bitcoin' loaded successfully [hashkill] Found GPU device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. - ATI RV730 [hashkill] Using 4xxx codepath [hashkill] GPU0: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650 [busy:0%] [temp:4114C] [hashkill] Temperature threshold set to 90 degrees C [hashkill] This plugin supports GPU acceleration. [hashkill] Initialized hash indexes [hashkill] Initialized thread mutexes [hashkill] Spawned worker threads [hashkill] Successfully connected and authorized at mineco.in:3000 [hashkill] Compiling OpenCL kernel source (amd_bitcoin.cl)[error] (ocl_bitcoin.c:1209) clBuildProgram error (-11) [hashkill] Attack took 0 seconds. [hashkill] Bye bye
|
|
|
|
figvam
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 42
Merit: 0
|
|
July 04, 2011, 07:45:37 AM |
|
Running under strace:
open("/tmp/OCL1Dtk0m.log", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = 3 _llseek(3, 0, [19367], SEEK_END) = 0 _llseek(3, 0, [19367], SEEK_CUR) = 0 _llseek(3, 0, [0 ], SEEK_SET) = 0 read(3, "/tmp/OCL1Dtk0m.cl(107): error: b"..., 19367) = 19367
Looks like the OpenCL compilation log contained more descriptive error. Maybe output that error when compilation fails?
|
|
|
|
gat3way (OP)
|
|
July 04, 2011, 09:18:34 AM |
|
Any SDKs below 2.3 are not supported, sorry. They do not support OpenCL 1.1 features correctly and have significant problems with using multiple devices in a single process.
P.S if you chose to use 2.2 anyway, do not use -G4, but -G1. It should provide you better utilization.
|
|
|
|
antares
|
|
July 04, 2011, 09:50:55 AM |
|
@gat3way ok, so I see that hashkill is supposed to resume hashing. however I had 3 occurrances of a stalled hashkill today, each correspond with connectivity issues(I monitor load on my GPU and I just added monitoring my IP addresses)
It'd be also nice if you could add a wallet ID to your signature so we can donate to you to keep you doing your amazing work. Last thing for now - I'd like to set up a mirror for hashkill, so people wont get stalled in case your site gets anavailable again - If that's ok with you
|
|
|
|
antares
|
|
July 04, 2011, 11:54:11 AM |
|
[hashkill] Spawned worker threads [hashkill] Successfully connected and authorized at bitcoins.lc:8080 [hashkill] Compiling OpenCL kernel source (amd_bitcoin.cl) [hashkill] Binary size: 349084 [hashkill] Doing BFI_INT magic...
Mining statistics... Speed: 212 MHash/sec [proc: 16] [subm: 9] [stale: 0] [eff: 56%] [error] (ocl_bitcoin.c:926) Statistics about that pool (bitcoins.lc) not supported. GPU0: AMD Radeon HD 6700 Series [busy:99%] [temp:74C]
Speed: 211 MHash/sec [proc: 298] [subm: 275] [stale: 29] [eff: 92%] [error] (ocl_bitcoin.c:245) Long polling failure, will retry in 20s! Speed: 212 MHash/sec [proc: 302] [subm: 275] [stale: 29] [eff: 91%] Long polling: got new block! Speed: 211 MHash/sec [proc: 334] [subm: 304] [stale: 30] [eff: 91%] Long polling: got new block! Speed: 0 MHash/sec [proc: 506] [subm: 460] [stale: 37] [eff: 90%]
this is what happens when hashkill gets killed.
|
|
|
|
figvam
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 42
Merit: 0
|
|
July 04, 2011, 12:29:20 PM |
|
Still slower than poclbm/phatk on HD 4650 and SDK 2.4: hashkill 24Mhashes/sec poclbm/phatk: 27-29Mhashes/sec Interestingly minerd suffers from the same problem, with exactly the same hash rate numbers.
|
|
|
|
datguywhowanders
Member
Offline
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
|
|
July 04, 2011, 08:09:29 PM |
|
Has anyone tried this with either a 6950 or 6970, and if so, are they getting any gains over using poclbm or phoenix?
|
Donations Welcome: 163id7T8KZ6MevqT86DjrBF2kfCPrQsfZE
|
|
|
Tartarus
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 47
Merit: 0
|
|
July 05, 2011, 03:28:41 AM |
|
Has anyone tried this with either a 6950 or 6970, and if so, are they getting any gains over using poclbm or phoenix?
On my 6950 I see the same rates as phoenix/poclbm+phatk, +/-1MHash.
|
|
|
|
Dusty
|
|
July 05, 2011, 12:05:04 PM |
|
I tried latest release and the MH/sec seems faster, the problem is that I get 0% efficiency, with no good submitted shares. I'm using SDK 2.4 and stock ati drivers from ubuntu 11.04, any hints?
Also, I would like to ask gat3way to please change the name of the file for every release because using the same name for different content causes a lot of problems for who uses proxy and makes difficult to trace the problem or benefits of every release.
Thanks!
|
|
|
|
Dusty
|
|
July 05, 2011, 09:05:03 PM |
|
I forgot to tell that I'm using bitcoin.ls, and it's possible that the problem only exhibits with that pool?
|
|
|
|
gat3way (OP)
|
|
July 07, 2011, 06:15:30 AM |
|
Don't know, need to investigate.
Unfortunately my priorities are now shifted towards implementing some DES-based password hashing algorithms on GPUs, so I won't be able to work on the bitcoin plugin in the near future.
|
|
|
|
kripz
|
|
July 07, 2011, 07:53:03 AM |
|
open source it?
|
|
|
|
gat3way (OP)
|
|
July 07, 2011, 08:58:44 AM |
|
|
|
|
|
Dusty
|
|
July 07, 2011, 03:26:23 PM |
|
Great move, thanks! Out of curiosity: is it possible to use hashkill to crack WEP passwords...?
|
|
|
|
gat3way (OP)
|
|
July 07, 2011, 04:55:41 PM |
|
No.
|
|
|
|
iamzill
|
|
July 07, 2011, 07:00:45 PM Last edit: July 07, 2011, 11:39:15 PM by iamzill |
|
Nice tool, but it cannot find one of my cards. I have two 5830s installed, both are being detected by Linux and ATI drivers:04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 5800 Series (Cypress LE) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller]) Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 036a Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 32 Memory at b0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M] Memory at fe6c0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=128K] I/O ports at b000 [size=256] Expansion ROM at fe6a0000 [disabled] [size=128K] Capabilities: <access denied> Kernel driver in use: fglrx_pci Kernel modules: fglrx, radeon
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 5800 Series (Cypress LE) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller]) Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Device 174b Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 76 Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M] Memory at fe9c0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=128K] I/O ports at e000 [size=256] Expansion ROM at fe9a0000 [disabled] [size=128K] Capabilities: <access denied> Kernel driver in use: fglrx_pci Kernel modules: fglrx, radeon
Currently hashkill only detects the second card.
I'm assuming you have the device ID hardcoded somewhere?Edit: Sorry, my bad. One of the card is detected by Linux but not by the ATI drivers. This is definitely not hashkill's fault. My apologies. Thanks for the great tool again.
|
|
|
|
SkipDaShu
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
|
|
July 07, 2011, 07:41:26 PM |
|
Nice tool, but it cannot find one of my cards. I have two 5830s installed, both are being detected by Linux and ATI drivers:
I have one mobo that does this with it's 2 x 5830's. One boot only card 2 and only video on card 2 (even boot up bios screen). One or two reboots and video moves to card 1 where it should be and Diablo can then use both cards. Seems that something gets messed up on a soft reset. Power off for 3 mins and it always comes up right. I have another very similar machine, same OS, same drivers, same config files, both i7-87x 1156 sockets, different mobos and it never does this. The one that gives me the problem is a MSI H55-GD65 (H55) the one that doesn't is a BioStar T5 XE (P55) mobo.
|
|
|
|
figvam
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 42
Merit: 0
|
|
July 07, 2011, 07:41:40 PM |
|
My understanding is that the bitcoin plugin isn't included in the source code drop. Am I wrong?
|
|
|
|
|