Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:45:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GUI questions.  (Read 930 times)
Zackcy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
April 30, 2011, 01:44:12 AM
 #1

Can I setup both the CPU & GPU to mine using the GUI client?
Is the GUI less efficient that the python OpenCL client?
Some clarification on the whole solo vs pool mining would be nice.
1481100352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100352
Reply with quote  #2

1481100352
Report to moderator
1481100352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100352
Reply with quote  #2

1481100352
Report to moderator
1481100352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100352
Reply with quote  #2

1481100352
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin-Qt, but full nodes are more resource-heavy, and they must do a lengthy initial syncing process. As a result, lightweight clients with somewhat less security are commonly used.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481100352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100352
Reply with quote  #2

1481100352
Report to moderator
1481100352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100352
Reply with quote  #2

1481100352
Report to moderator
clonedone
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 30, 2011, 01:52:35 AM
 #2

Doing both cpu and gpu on one comp is not a good idea. mining on gpu already uses alotta cpu with the gui client. they said the poclbm is faster if you dont usethe gui with it, but i tried it and i couldnt tell the difference in speed. it was still the same for me. i ran 6990 on both.
only solo mine if your either lucky, or have a great machine, maybe 4gbhash/sec, if not it might be easier to pool cus u see the income racking in every day. solo might take a week with a good machine, might take months to years with a bad one.

in the end, it is said that pooled and solo reap the same amount, but if ur inpatient, then pool. if u are patient then solo i suppose.

Zackcy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
April 30, 2011, 01:55:01 AM
 #3

Well my CPU is @ 0.7% usage right now  Roll Eyes.

I will continue pool mining and maybe will try one random day to solo mine.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!