Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 01:26:23 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Soooo, would this work for mining? PCIe to USB 3.0 controller  (Read 9682 times)
kibblesnbits
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 557


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 04:49:47 PM
 #1

Apologies if it's been posted before.  I tried looking on the forum and didn't see it..

http://plxtech.com/files/products/usbcontrollers/pcie_to_usb3.html


ASICMINERTUBE
   
  The Best $/Gh Bitcoin Miner So Far
   ►►►   DISCOVER NOW !!!   ◄◄◄
1481333183
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333183

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333183
Reply with quote  #2

1481333183
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481333183
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333183

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333183
Reply with quote  #2

1481333183
Report to moderator
1481333183
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333183

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333183
Reply with quote  #2

1481333183
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 05:01:55 PM
 #2

Probably but AMD drivers have a limit of 8 GPUs.  The cost per slot isn't very high for most boards.

$60 board w/ 4 slots = $15 per slot.
$100 board w/ 5 slots = $20 per slot.
$140 board w/ 6 slots = $23 per slot.

If AMD had no GPU limit it might be more interesting.
tritium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 05:06:25 PM
 #3

also it depends how much power can be supplied through the USB3, can it do 75w like the PCIe or would it be limited to low power/low end graphics cards

1FCzN34C1xCLsDaLxfY7yB5CQKN74ruGHV
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 05:07:18 PM
 #4

also it depends how much power can be supplied through the USB3, can it do 75w like the PCIe or would it be limited to low power/low end graphics cards
You could rig up an short extender to supply power via Molex connector. I would imagine it has an external PSU though as all cards use the bus for some power.  Low end cards don't really pull any less than high end ones (~20W to 40W).
Jaryu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 09:31:10 PM
 #5

Probably but AMD drivers have a limit of 8 GPUs.  The cost per slot isn't very high for most boards.

$60 board w/ 4 slots = $15 per slot.
$100 board w/ 5 slots = $20 per slot.
$140 board w/ 6 slots = $23 per slot.

If AMD had no GPU limit it might be more interesting.

isn't the problem in part due to the bios, since this would only boot the card "after" post and inside windows/linux all they would need is to do is release the driver lock on card number and enjoy a 256 card in a single rig :p

BTW are those for sale somewhere? I couldn't find any info on company site and Google didn't turn up anything either.
kibblesnbits
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 557


View Profile
March 15, 2012, 10:48:53 PM
 #6

That's what I was thinking, it would be a limitation of USB, not PCIe.
The links to merchants are on their website, however some are dead. (not a good sign)
Video looked pretty straight forward, though. 

ASICMINERTUBE
   
  The Best $/Gh Bitcoin Miner So Far
   ►►►   DISCOVER NOW !!!   ◄◄◄
Jaryu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 12:45:07 AM
 #7

can't find a single product that uses that chip and any attempt to search using the obvious "usb to pci express" or variations with the 3382 chip returns every ad for a pci express usb host controller.... urg...
N.Olmos
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile
March 16, 2012, 02:22:29 AM
 #8

I think this is the part.

PLX Technology
USB3382-AA50NI G
TWO X1-PORT PCI EXPRESS GEN 2.0 TO USB 3.0 SUPERSPEED PERIPH

One Source
http://avnetexpress.avnet.com/store/em/EMController?action=products&catalogId=500201&storeId=500201&N=0&langId=-1&slnk=e&term=USB3382-AA50NI%22G&mfr=PLZ&hrf=http%3A%2F%2Foctopart.com%2Fusb3382-aa50ni%252Bg-plx-19995644&CMP=KNC-Octopart_VSE

Parts List
http://www.plxtech.com/products/usbcontrollers/partlisting

Download Product Brief
http://www.plxtech.com/products/usbcontrollers/usb3382

Refer friends and earn 25%!

http://offers.coinad.com/?r=3
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2012, 07:38:44 AM
 #9

So USB3.0 device to connect 2x PCI-E devices?
On another thread there was just talk about this, i thought i had seen something like this but thinking it had to be a joke or something ...

Anyone know who has these actually on sale and at a price?

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 01:15:03 PM
 #10

That's what I was thinking, it would be a limitation of USB, not PCIe.
The links to merchants are on their website, however some are dead. (not a good sign)
Video looked pretty straight forward, though. 

There are three limits.
1) AMD drivers have a hardcoded limit of 8 devices.  AMD has indicated no intentions of increasing this.
2) Unlike NVidia, AMD drivers are hard linked to xorg (or Aero in windows).  They ARE Graphics cards which we happen to mine.  Not general purpose compute modules which CAN be used as graphics cards.  Neither xorg nor windows support more than 8 graphics cards.
3) There is a BIOS limit as each PCIe device needs to be allocated memory.  Foolishly most bioses are working with very small memory range.  Using USB 3.0 doesn't magic away the problem.  This is simply a USB 3.0 to PCIe bridge.  It will be seen by the BIOS as additional PCIe slots which have devices that need to be initialized.

Issue #3 has been solved by custom BIOS.  Issue #2 has been solved by custom version of xorg which ignores the GPUs (doesn't see them as GPUs).  However these have only been solved on NVidia based systems.

AMD hardcoded device limit combined with hard linking to graphical subsystem of the OS is a project killer.  Without AMD joining the 21st century and treating GPUs as independent computing engines (like NVidia does) you won't have more than 8 GPU per rig.
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2012, 04:23:21 PM
 #11

Yes, but you could using these have more than 5x7970 on single rig Grin

But mostly they are just curiosities Smiley

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
Jaryu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 04:38:23 PM
 #12

Yes, but you could using these have more than 5x7970 on single rig Grin

But mostly they are just curiosities Smiley

I've seen mother boards with 8 PCIe slots, they just cost too much. And for 8 x 7970s you could get 6 of the 7990s when they come out.
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2012, 04:46:52 PM
 #13

Yes, but you could using these have more than 5x7970 on single rig Grin

But mostly they are just curiosities Smiley

I've seen mother boards with 8 PCIe slots, they just cost too much. And for 8 x 7970s you could get 6 of the 7990s when they come out.

I seriously doubt 7990 is only 33% more expensive per card. Try more like 80%.

7970s are damn cheap right now, well for me atleast ...

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
Jaryu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 04:53:39 PM
 #14

Yes, but you could using these have more than 5x7970 on single rig Grin

But mostly they are just curiosities Smiley

I've seen mother boards with 8 PCIe slots, they just cost too much. And for 8 x 7970s you could get 6 of the 7990s when they come out.

I seriously doubt 7990 is only 33% more expensive per card. Try more like 80%.

7970s are damn cheap right now, well for me atleast ...

The 7990s have had their price out for more than 4 months. You can just search for it, in 100% of places that talk about it's always the same $ 850 for the basic reference design. If retailers are going to pad the price some then I don't know.
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2012, 04:58:25 PM
 #15

Yes, but you could using these have more than 5x7970 on single rig Grin

But mostly they are just curiosities Smiley

I've seen mother boards with 8 PCIe slots, they just cost too much. And for 8 x 7970s you could get 6 of the 7990s when they come out.

I seriously doubt 7990 is only 33% more expensive per card. Try more like 80%.

7970s are damn cheap right now, well for me atleast ...

The 7990s have had their price out for more than 4 months. You can just search for it, in 100% of places that talk about it's always the same $ 850 for the basic reference design. If retailers are going to pad the price some then I don't know.

Exactly like i assumed, that is pretty much double price.

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2012, 05:16:39 PM
 #16

Buuuuuuut...

*Could* it be used to add PCIe devices to, say, a Rasberry Pi?

Maybe... maybe...
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2012, 05:17:21 PM
 #17

Wait, that would require USB 3.0 on a Raspberry Pi.

Nevermind!
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2012, 06:03:43 PM
 #18

Wait, that would require USB 3.0 on a Raspberry Pi.

Nevermind!

Doesn't Raspberry Pi have some USB interface?
USB is backwards compatible on that direction too, i think.

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2012, 06:30:01 PM
 #19

Wait, that would require USB 3.0 on a Raspberry Pi.

Nevermind!

Doesn't Raspberry Pi have some USB interface?
USB is backwards compatible on that direction too, i think.

Yeah, USB 2.0.
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2012, 06:35:52 PM
 #20

Yes, but you could using these have more than 5x7970 on single rig Grin

But mostly they are just curiosities Smiley

I've seen mother boards with 8 PCIe slots, they just cost too much. And for 8 x 7970s you could get 6 of the 7990s when they come out.
you can't have 6x 7990 running in the same box because that's 12 GPUs. 

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!