Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:25:43 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Running an FPGA on Raspberry Pi, possible?  (Read 11507 times)
LordMord
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
May 24, 2012, 02:47:59 PM
 #21

I would really like to know if somebody got that to work.

I would try myself but is hard to get your hands on a Raspberry Pi in the moment.
1480861543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861543
Reply with quote  #2

1480861543
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480861543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861543
Reply with quote  #2

1480861543
Report to moderator
1480861543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861543
Reply with quote  #2

1480861543
Report to moderator
1480861543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861543
Reply with quote  #2

1480861543
Report to moderator
wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
May 24, 2012, 03:59:42 PM
 #22

OK, here's what I got so far:
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install autoconf
sudo apt-get install libtool
sudo apt-get install libncurses-dev
sudo apt-get install yasm
sudo apt-get install curl
sudo apt-get install libcurl4-openssl-dev
sudo apt-get install pkg-config
Download zip archive from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer
Code:
unzip ckolivas-cgminer-v2.4.1-9-gb69d735.zip
cd ckolivas-cgminer-b69d735/
./autogen.sh
./configure --enable-bitforce
configure then quits after a while with the following errors:
Code:
./configure: line 9269: syntax error near unexpected token `PKG_CHECK_MODULES'
./configure: line 9269: `PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LIBCURL, libcurl >= 7.15.6, AC_DEFINE([CURL_HAS_SOCKOPT], [1], [Defined if version of curl supports sockopts.]),'

Any insights are appreciated!

Edit: Doing a
Code:
curl-config --version
results in
Code:
libcurl 7.21.0
so the libcurl version should work.

Jackbauer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
May 24, 2012, 04:14:12 PM
 #23

Python will run fine on the device, its what they recommend you learn (the device is mostly meant for students). But honestly unless you try it yourself you will never know, ARM is a weird platform, some things will run fine with no issues, some things will explode.
wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
May 24, 2012, 04:16:52 PM
 #24

Python will run fine on the device, its what they recommend you learn (the device is mostly meant for students). But honestly unless you try it yourself you will never know, ARM is a weird platform, some things will run fine with no issues, some things will explode.

I'm confused, is this in response to the specific configure issues I quoted in my last post? Doesn't seem to help, sorry man.


wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
May 24, 2012, 06:08:58 PM
 #25

OK, with the hint of P_Shep https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg919542#msg919542
and some additional command lines here's how to compile and install cgminer on your Raspberry Pi:

Note: These instructions are for Debian Squeeze Linux http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads. Other Linux distros may differ.

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install autoconf
sudo apt-get install libtool
sudo apt-get install libncurses-dev
sudo apt-get install yasm
sudo apt-get install curl
sudo apt-get install libcurl4-openssl-dev
sudo apt-get install pkg-config
Download zip archive from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer
Code:
unzip ckolivas-cgminer-v2.4.1-9-gb69d735.zip
cd ckolivas-cgminer-b69d735/
aclocal
./autogen.sh
export LIBCURL_CFLAGS='-I/usr/include/curl'
export LIBCURL_LIBS='-L/usr/lib -lcurl'
./configure --enable-bitforce
make
sudo make install

Now to run your BFL Single:
Plug it in now (may need a USB hub if you plan to also use USB kbd/mouse, I got around that with a PS/2-USB splitter).
Do a quick check if it registered with your Raspberry Pi Linux:
Code:
ls -l /dev/ttyUSB*
will show some ttyUSB device (typically ttyUSB0).
If not, check out that post: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65879.msg915045#msg915045

Run cgminer the usual way but add the option
Code:
-S auto


Have fun!  Cheesy

LordMord
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
May 25, 2012, 08:04:28 AM
 #26

th wogaut now i only need to get my hands on a Raspberry Pi.
punin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 559


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2012, 09:24:37 PM
 #27

Has anyone gotten Raspberry Pi to work with Ztex boards?

Edit: Hashing happily away!

Head of Product Development
Bitfury Group
www.bitfury.com
matthewh3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2012, 06:09:05 AM
 #28

Has anyone gotten Raspberry Pi to work with Ztex boards?

Edit: Hashing happily away!

On P2Pool?

jothan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 184


Feel the coffee, be the coffee.


View Profile
June 05, 2012, 06:17:54 AM
 #29

I am doing this this, I am successfully running 6 BFL singles off of a DreamPlug with minimal CPU usage (< 2%).

Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor : Feroceon 88FR131 rev 1 (v5l)
BogoMIPS : 1192.75
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp
CPU implementer : 0x56
CPU architecture: 5TE
CPU variant : 0x2
CPU part : 0x131
CPU revision : 1

Hardware : Marvell GuruPlug Reference Board
Revision : 0000
Serial : 0000000000000000


https://www.globalscaletechnologies.com/t-dreamplugdetails.aspx

Bitcoin: the only currency you can store directly into your brain.

What this planet needs is a good 0.0005 BTC US nickel.
lafiamafia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 05:34:15 PM
 #30

what is an FPGA?

Sharecoin: SPyMuGW9JSWDfy5B6NKA9Btrc748EdXPqu
wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 06:05:23 PM
 #31

what is an FPGA?

GIYF  Tongue

lafiamafia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 06:32:09 PM
 #32


as it turns out, it is

Sharecoin: SPyMuGW9JSWDfy5B6NKA9Btrc748EdXPqu
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
July 26, 2012, 10:28:42 PM
 #33

I was able to get cgminer 2.5.0 running on the Pi. Thanks wogaut for the guide. I am a linux newbie and could use some help on a few commands.

1. How can you get cgminer to run in the background? I tried adding a "&" after the command but it does not seem to work. (tried sudo in front too) Example:
./cgminer -S auto -o pool:8332 -u acct -p pass &

I want to be able to keep it running and use "screen" to attach (screen -ls then screen -r PID) after I SSH to the Pi. I did a "sudo apt-get install screen", but it does not show any PID when I do a "screen -ls".

2. If I can get it to run in the background, where would the best place be to insert that command so that it starts on boot when the Pi is powered up? I found this: http://www.debian-administration.org/articles/28 but got a little confused and figured there might be a specific file to put it in?

Thanks for any hints.

wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
July 26, 2012, 10:58:12 PM
 #34

Glad my guide is of use.

I noticed that cgminer doesn't like I/O redirections (like the '&' at the end).
When putting the '&' at the end without anything, it takes it as a command line parameter and fails.
When using '`' quotes for the cgminer command before appending the '&', it will run the CPU near 100% on the RPi.

The best I found is to put your cgminer command line into a script (e.g. startminer.script) that you can access from within a startup file.
Make sure your script is executable:
chmod a+x startminer.script

I shamelessly put it at the end of /etc/rc.local using the screen command (so rc.local would not hang there):

screen -dmS miner /home/pi/startminer.script



BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
July 26, 2012, 11:59:00 PM
 #35

Glad my guide is of use.

I noticed that cgminer doesn't like I/O redirections (like the '&' at the end).
When putting the '&' at the end without anything, it takes it as a command line parameter and fails.
When using '`' quotes for the cgminer command before appending the '&', it will run the CPU near 100% on the RPi.

The best I found is to put your cgminer command line into a script (e.g. startminer.script) that you can access from within a startup file.
Make sure your script is executable:
chmod a+x startminer.script

I shamelessly put it at the end of /etc/rc.local using the screen command (so rc.local would not hang there):

screen -dmS miner /home/pi/startminer.script
I was able to create the script and launch it with screen command above, but it looked like it was not working on boot. (sudo nano /etc/rc.local) added before the exit 0. (sudo reboot) Then I did a ps -e -f and found it was running. When I put it after the exit 0 it did not seem to work.  Undecided

(I'm sure you know already, this is for others that might be following along...)
You need to sudo and then it works:
Code:
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ screen -ls
No Sockets found in /var/run/screen/S-pi.

pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo screen -ls
There is a screen on:
        1428.miner      (26/07/12 16:26:54)     (Detached)
1 Socket in /var/run/screen/S-pi.

pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo screen -r 1428
Bingo! It connects fine, CTRL-A, D and it disconnects. Exactly what I wanted.  Grin Thank you!

Please send me your address so I can donate.  Cool
wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 03:44:08 PM
 #36

Yes, before the exit statement, otherwise it would be ignored.

Glad it works for you!




BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
August 12, 2012, 03:07:43 AM
 #37

What is the max number of BFL Single anyone has running on a Pi?  Cheesy
btrash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
August 12, 2012, 01:33:22 PM
 #38

I thought this was done already with some of the prebuilt FPGA out there
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
August 12, 2012, 01:37:15 PM
 #39

I thought this was done already with some of the prebuilt FPGA out there

Oh, I have it working with 3, but it started getting very unresponsive. I was going to add another 2 and see if it could handle it, but I need a bigger USB hub with more ports. I was just asking to save time if anyone had hit a wall on usability.
Jezzz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
August 14, 2012, 07:38:50 PM
 #40

Going to try and set this up with 10 BFL singles tonight or tomorrow.  I'll post back with results.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!