Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:48:32 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Running an FPGA on Raspberry Pi, possible?  (Read 11503 times)
stampz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 12, 2012, 06:13:23 PM
 #61

Why not get an Intel Atom board? I tried one before and couldn't get it to go above 15 Watts whatever programs I ran.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121596

They're small and you can get fanless power supplies for them.

Add a small SSD disk and you have a dead quiet system.


You can put either Linux or Windows on them (I tried Windows 7 and Ubuntu 12  something)

1480772912
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772912

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772912
Reply with quote  #2

1480772912
Report to moderator
1480772912
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772912

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772912
Reply with quote  #2

1480772912
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480772912
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772912

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772912
Reply with quote  #2

1480772912
Report to moderator
1480772912
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772912

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772912
Reply with quote  #2

1480772912
Report to moderator
1480772912
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772912

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772912
Reply with quote  #2

1480772912
Report to moderator
Ginsley
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
November 12, 2012, 07:05:01 PM
 #62

This thing looks good.
How is it powered? With a normal pc-power supply (if i have no fanless PS)?

1HYeuyxKHGmFs1ARvAPGgmEW9pW6u8L26U
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
November 13, 2012, 02:06:05 AM
 #63

Hi ChipGeek,

i followed your instructions - my ZTex isnt found again.
Even the option -S isnt recognized by cgminer

[2012-11-12 16:56:29] cgminer: -S: unrecognized option

This time i have taken the cgminer directly from git - as you mentioned in your instructions...

Did you include the " --enable-ztex " option when you ran autogen.sh?  Like this:

sudo ./autogen.sh --enable-scrypt --enable-bitforce --enable-icarus  --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --with-libudev

If you did, I would post your questions on the cgminer thread.  (Go to the last page of the thread I posted previously.)  I do not own a Ztex but at least one of the developers (kano I think) has one and should be able to help.

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
November 13, 2012, 02:07:47 AM
 #64

This thing looks good.
How is it powered? With a normal pc-power supply (if i have no fanless PS)?
It is powered with a 1A cell phone charger.  This is one I recommend as some typical phone chargers do not have enough current capability or have slightly too low voltage.
  http://adafruit.com/products/501

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
dunand
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 625



View Profile
November 13, 2012, 02:23:38 AM
 #65

Why not get an Intel Atom board? I tried one before and couldn't get it to go above 15 Watts whatever programs I ran.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121596

They're small and you can get fanless power supplies for them.

Add a small SSD disk and you have a dead quiet system.

You can put either Linux or Windows on them (I tried Windows 7 and Ubuntu 12  something)

Because a RPI is smaller, cost a little bit less and use less energy. But with the Atom you can power up to 4 devices without a hub and you can easily power it with the same PSU you use to power your FPGA/ASIC miners. I am asking myself the same question.
stampz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 14, 2012, 02:24:33 PM
 #66

The atoms I tested had som small internal power-pcb and was powered by a laptop supply.

It might be a good idea to get the power supply from the same vendor, I had a weird problem with one board refusing to start up at all with a another seemingly identical psu.



Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!