Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:05:22 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCI to PCI-E converter?  (Read 7050 times)
nandika
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2012, 11:57:37 AM
 #1

anyone tried mining with this?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCI-32bits-to-PCI-E-express-16X-riser-card-adapter-/320693561785?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4aaad369b9#ht_1770wt_946

This way i could use some slots on my MB for additional gpus

Order your BitCoin funded VISA Plastic Debit Card at http://visacrypt.com
1481450722
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450722

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450722
Reply with quote  #2

1481450722
Report to moderator
1481450722
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450722

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450722
Reply with quote  #2

1481450722
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481450722
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450722

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450722
Reply with quote  #2

1481450722
Report to moderator
this time
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
March 19, 2012, 12:40:01 PM
 #2

How many slots does your mb have? It's way cheaper to just get a mb with 5-6 slots to start with. Those adapters are $30 ea., as opposed to a $100 mb with 5 slots.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 19, 2012, 01:14:39 PM
 #3

I use one to turn a 5 card rig into 6 cards. It was finicky to get set up, but it eventually started working fine. The main thing to consider is whether it may just be cheaper to get a mobo with more pcie slots. Although the ones you linked to are a bit cheaper than I have seen elsewhere.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Chefnet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
March 19, 2012, 01:17:16 PM
 #4

i have several running with no problem (sometimes the mobo don't want, but normally it works without problems).
I have selled about 20 pieces and all customer are happy.

01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
March 19, 2012, 09:28:32 PM
 #5

Any mobo to recommend with max PCI E for lowest price possible?
silverbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
March 19, 2012, 11:11:24 PM
 #6

this one will do 2 on the board, 2 above on 1x risers.  $115

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1963431

01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
March 19, 2012, 11:33:22 PM
 #7

this one will do 2 on the board, 2 above on 1x risers.  $115

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1963431


Thank you very much sir!
fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
March 20, 2012, 12:06:00 PM
 #8

This will do probably 1 onboard, 3 with risers
http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=M4A79XTD-EVO-PB-R&cat=MBB
63$

Geeks is very underrated, the refurbished mobos are very cheap and, from my own experience, very good quality.
Bigpiggy01
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
March 20, 2012, 12:14:02 PM
 #9

Those Asus boards are really nice little boards  Grin

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
March 21, 2012, 02:35:30 AM
 #10

To be on topic, the pictured PCI to PCI-E converter works fine for mining.  I have one for myself, and hash rates do not suffer at all. Be careful though as the PCI spec doesn't offer as much power as current gen PCI-E slots do. I didn't have any problems running an unpowered riser from that converter to a radeon 5830. It was overclocked core and overvolted slightly and underclocked memory

timvan007
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 02:44:52 PM
 #11

Would anyone have some pointers on getting one of the mentioned adapters to work if cgminer is not accepting shares? I bought one and tried with a powered 16x riser. Windows recognizes the card, but cgminer won't accept shares. Interested to see how you got these working if there were any config changes necessary.
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
January 07, 2014, 04:05:10 AM
 #12

Would anyone have some pointers on getting one of the mentioned adapters to work if cgminer is not accepting shares? I bought one and tried with a powered 16x riser. Windows recognizes the card, but cgminer won't accept shares. Interested to see how you got these working if there were any config changes necessary.

You resurrected a 2 year old thread?  Honestly it's not worth the time or energy to get it working with so many proven motherboards out there.

Having said that, try increasing the PCI timer latency if it's available as a setting on your mobo.

timvan007
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 01:31:27 PM
 #13

I resurrected an old mobo and an old thread. If I can't get it working, I'll probably sell the card rather than get a new motherboard since it's only a 7850. Thanks for the suggestion though. I'll give that a shot tonight.
FlyForFun
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 250


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 02:58:54 PM
 #14

I resurrected an old mobo and an old thread. If I can't get it working, I'll probably sell the card rather than get a new motherboard since it's only a 7850. Thanks for the suggestion though. I'll give that a shot tonight.

I myself tried with old motherboard and gave me different error. In the end, I just gave up and buy some better motherboard like msi gd45

tabletuser.blogspot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
July 13, 2014, 03:21:02 AM
 #15

Would anyone have some pointers on getting one of the mentioned adapters to work if cgminer is not accepting shares? I bought one and tried with a powered 16x riser. Windows recognizes the card, but cgminer won't accept shares. Interested to see how you got these working if there were any config changes necessary.

You resurrected a 2 year old thread?  Honestly it's not worth the time or energy to get it working with so many proven motherboards out there.

Having said that, try increasing the PCI timer latency if it's available as a setting on your mobo.
My first parts purchase off ebay included an Intel wireless PCIe card that they guy told me was a pain to configure.  This card include a PCI to PCIe adapter that works great for mining.  Look for Intel Dual Band Wireless AC 7260 for Desktop and it includes the adapter. 

Anyone jumping into crypto mining should consider upfront cost and look at getting older recycled equipment. 

Example both these rigs have similar mining performance. New vs Old is double in cost.

Radeon R280, Latest DDR3 motherboard, SSD, RAM (all new) over $400 all NEW
Radeon 7950, socket 775/T mobo off ebay, 8 GB USB Stick, 1gb DDR2 ram (used off ebay/CL) less than $200

I'm currently running 3 rigs, all using 2008-2009 manufactured parts.  I'm mining over 30Mhs for X11, X13, and Fresh.  I stopped mining scrypt because these 3 rigs consumed close to 3000 watts at full speed.  Freshcoin mining is consuming about half and thats 9 GPUS. 

Also look at Dell Poweredge server power supplys around 700 to 750 watts go for less than $20 and a little work can easily power 3 cards.  That way you can get by with a sub 500 watt PC PSU for your rig and run 4 cards easily.  I'm using an HP and a Dell motherboard and both are solid.


tabletuser blogspot

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!