Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:19:12 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: PCIe x1 capable of transmitting video or only mining?  (Read 18994 times)
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 03:33:01 AM
 #21

it works... pci-e is backward compatible, but there are problems with VGA detection on x1 speed on some mbs or VGA cards. In those cases you need to jumper the slots or the risers, you can place the cable on the mb x16 slots or just do it on the riser, i recomend to just do it on the x1 riser to rule out any posibility of jumping the wrong pins.

Personally, im on the way to start a mining rig this week, on a MA770T-UD3, i also thought about the posibility of get 2 pci to pci-e adapters to make a total of 7 cards, but for now i starting with 1 5850, ill add more cards later.

Addicionally, i not sure if PCI bandwidth is enoght.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
1481264352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481264352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481264352
Reply with quote  #2

1481264352
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 06:21:46 AM
 #22

I think he was talking about using PCIe video cards not PCI video cards...just with a PCI -> PCIe adapter. I looked at this also and while I don't doubt that bandwidth will be sufficient I am still wondering how it gets its 12V power over that adapter. The adapters I have seen don't appear to have any external power connection.
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 04:45:39 PM
 #23

I think he was talking about using PCIe video cards not PCI video cards...just with a PCI -> PCIe adapter. I looked at this also and while I don't doubt that bandwidth will be sufficient I am still wondering how it gets its 12V power over that adapter. The adapters I have seen don't appear to have any external power connection.
There aren't PCI cards that allow you to plug in a PCI-E adapter.  All of the PCI-PCI-E converters go the other way––allowing you to plug PCI cards (usually two) into a PCI-Ex1 slot.




I think I'll get one the next time I buy hardware, just for testing if nothing else :3
trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 04:53:25 PM
 #24

There aren't PCI cards that allow you to plug in a PCI-E adapter.  All of the PCI-PCI-E converters go the other way––allowing you to plug PCI cards (usually two) into a PCI-Ex1 slot.
I probably stated it incorrectly (PCI -> PCIe). Would you prefer I say PCIe -> PCI?

I will probably get one also on next hardware purchase to test out. I want to see how the PCIe slot has 12V. I noted on the forums here that someone is using such an adapter successfully...have to hunt that post down.
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 11:52:59 PM
 #25

[img]http://gyazo.com/b06420dae3f009b1169ed63dc6f6331f.png[img]
[img]http://gyazo.com/75b1f9fe750872247b3f0a5f6cab36ab.png[img]

I think I'll get one the next time I buy hardware, just for testing if nothing else :3

Cool.  URLs?  I love to be wrong on things like this. :-)

PCI - PCIe x16;
Homepage - Not exactly the same but the same speccs and datasheets..
Ebay
Ebay

PCI - PCIe x1;
Homepage Flexible
Homepage Low profile
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
May 03, 2011, 01:06:20 AM
 #26

the problem with pci is that you will run out of bandwidth very fast... its 133mb/s shared on all pci slots... so if you have 2 pci->pci-e adapters, max teorical bandwidth for each card is 66mb/s

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 03, 2011, 01:18:05 AM
 #27

the problem with pci is that you will run out of bandwidth very fast... its 133mb/s shared on all pci slots... so if you have 2 pci->pci-e adapters, max teorical bandwidth for each card is 66mb/s

As far as I know PCI is faster then PCIe x1. But never the less, since when is bandwidth a huge factor in GPGPU work?
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 03, 2011, 11:24:09 AM
 #28

Just bought some copper wire and will be shorting those connections on the x1 cables shortly...

Any connections before I electrocute myself? Should they be insulated wires?
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 08, 2011, 07:12:51 PM
 #29

Ok so technopagan was nice enough to chime in and let me know what he does when creating his pcie x1 extension cables for x16 boards...

Apparently: It's pins A2+A3+B1+B2+B3 that require bridging.

But shivanas only suggests bridging two pins?

Which one is it, guys?

I don't feel like frying my motherboard today :S
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
May 08, 2011, 08:35:20 PM
 #30

i have already tested it using only 1 cable and it works fine, just remember to bridge the x1 riser and no the slot, i not sure if the pinout is 100% the same.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 08, 2011, 10:38:04 PM
 #31

i have already tested it using only 1 cable and it works fine, just remember to bridge the x1 riser and no the slot, i not sure if the pinout is 100% the same.

Can you point me to the blog post on zorinaq that shows that picture you provided specifically???

Nevermind, found it!

Edit: ahhhhhh crap... ok... I see what's going on here....

So my original question was how do I do this using a pcie x16 slot, a pcie x16 card, and an x1 extension cable. Not a pcie x1 slot to a pcie x16 card (which is what zorinaq is talking about...)
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
May 08, 2011, 11:08:30 PM
 #32

is the same. if you plug a x1 riser intro a x16 slot then it become a x1 slot Tongue

Just place the cable on the same pin on the x16 slot as it where a x1 slot.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 08, 2011, 11:32:17 PM
 #33

is the same. if you plug a x1 riser intro a x16 slot then it become a x1 slot Tongue

Just place the cable on the same pin on the x16 slot as it where a x1 slot.

Ok I'll try it!

Anybody know what technopagan is talking about with this then: bridge A2+A3+B1+B2+B3 Huh
Miner-TE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 513



View Profile
May 08, 2011, 11:57:21 PM
 #34

Pin number and side of the slot.  See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express

Bridging these does not make sense to me.  It appears that they are all +12 V except for the Reserved B3.  Proceed with caution.

B1 - +12V
B2 - +12V
B3 - Reserved
A2 - +12V
A3 - +12V


Bridging A1 to B17 makes sense. This should pull the state of A1 to b17 (low) and indicate the card is present.  See page 1 of this thread for pic.

A1 - PRSNT1#
B17 - PRSNT2# 

BTC - 1PeMMYGn7xbZjUYeaWe9ct1VV6szLS1vkD - LTC - LbtcJRJJQQBjZuHr6Wm7vtB9RnnWtRNYpq
RchGrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149



View Profile
May 21, 2011, 01:34:17 AM
 #35

is the same. if you plug a x1 riser intro a x16 slot then it become a x1 slot Tongue

Just place the cable on the same pin on the x16 slot as it where a x1 slot.

Ok I'll try it!

Anybody know what technopagan is talking about with this then: bridge A2+A3+B1+B2+B3 Huh

Of course.. This is when you want to supply the power via the yellow wire fed from a lead on your main power supply.  The purpose of this is to take some strain off of a motherboard running a lot of GPU's.  Look for the post selling the modded flexible 1x to 16x risers w/ the 4 pin molex power.  I'd link u, but typing this on a phone. ;-) (this is a power mod, it has nada to do with the 1x presence detect.)

4C 6F 6E 67  4C 69 76 65  42 69 74 63 6F 69 6E
Qba'g lbh unir nalguvat orggre gb qb?
faille
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 10:04:01 AM
 #36

I can't seem to get a card working on a pcie 1x slot with a riser cable at all. I've tried bridging and non bridging and nothing. I got it working fine on one computer that didn't need any bridging at all, so I'm confident I've cut the rise cables properly and connected it all up, but no joy.
jackjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 11:55:17 AM
 #37

the problem with pci is that you will run out of bandwidth very fast... its 133mb/s shared on all pci slots... so if you have 2 pci->pci-e adapters, max teorical bandwidth for each card is 66mb/s

As far as I know PCI is faster then PCIe x1. But never the less, since when is bandwidth a huge factor in GPGPU work?
Bandwidth really doesn't lower hashrates?

Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2
Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
syb3ria
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


'buntusiast


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 12:04:50 PM
 #38

the problem with pci is that you will run out of bandwidth very fast... its 133mb/s shared on all pci slots... so if you have 2 pci->pci-e adapters, max teorical bandwidth for each card is 66mb/s

As far as I know PCI is faster then PCIe x1. But never the less, since when is bandwidth a huge factor in GPGPU work?
Bandwidth really doesn't lower hashrates?
Not at all. Mining on PCIe x1 is like mining on x16. You can mine even with USB if you have the controller, but it's not worth it since the price is very high.
jackjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 01:11:37 PM
 #39

I was thinking about PCI but ok it's the same
Thanks

Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2
Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!