Bitcoin Forum
January 23, 2017, 05:01:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: If bitcoin isn't running do i lose my bitcoins?  (Read 958 times)
Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 02:58:31 AM
 #1

Probubly a dumb question but if i don't have bitcoin running will i not recieve my bitcoins that someone has set or a mining pool attempted to send?
1485190879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485190879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485190879
Reply with quote  #2

1485190879
Report to moderator
1485190879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485190879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485190879
Reply with quote  #2

1485190879
Report to moderator
1485190879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485190879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485190879
Reply with quote  #2

1485190879
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1485190879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485190879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485190879
Reply with quote  #2

1485190879
Report to moderator
1485190879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485190879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485190879
Reply with quote  #2

1485190879
Report to moderator
demonofelru
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
May 02, 2011, 03:20:32 AM
 #2

Probubly a dumb question but if i don't have bitcoin running will i not recieve my bitcoins that someone has set or a mining pool attempted to send?

You'll still receive them as soon as you start it again and it downloads the new blocks.

Names do not matter; however, if you insist...id...
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
May 02, 2011, 03:20:48 AM
 #3

The client does not need to be running to receive coins, because coins are sent by broadcasting a transaction to everyone, and that transaction is then included in the block chain (a collection of all transactions ever).

So when you start the client again, it catches up to the latest block and along the way sees a transaction that credits coins to an address you control, and so it puts that in the GUI so you can see that specific transaction.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!