Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:03:42 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Experience with Ubuntu 10.4 + Radeon 6990?  (Read 3013 times)
jharbert
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 09:18:39 AM
 #1

Hey guys,

I'm setting up a box with Ubuntu 10.4 (previously was running 11.04 but ran into too many issues) along with a Radeon 6990.  I'm having some issues presumably getting OpenCL to see the GPUs.

I have Catalyst 11.4 installed and SDK 2.4 installed at /opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx32/

fglrxinfo gives the following:

Code:
display: :0.0  screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: AMD Radeon HD 6990
OpenGL version string: 4.1.10666 Compatibility Profile Context

display: :0.0  screen: 1
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: AMD Radeon HD 6990
OpenGL version string: 4.1.10666 Compatibility Profile Context

SDK 2.4 doesn't seem to have CLInfo in bin/, but 2.1 and 2.3 did, and it did not show any GPUs, just the CPU.

The output of the bitcoinpool poclb-mod.py script shows this issue as well:

Code:
$ python poclbm-mod.py
#########################################################################
# BitcoinPool.Com Custom Miner -
#
# Visit http://www.bitcoinpool.com to register for a free account.
# Then use the following commandline to start mining, just replace
# the username and password with your own, and choose your device
# from the list below:
#
# poclbm-mod.exe --user=USERNAME --pass=PASSWORD -d #
#
# You must specify a device. Use -d to specify one of the following:
#
# [0] AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 260 Processor
#
# Use the --help flag for more options.
#########################################################################

Any idea on what is going on?  I'm assuming it is an issue with OpenCL or the 2.4 SDK detecting the card, but I'm out of ideas..

My xorg.conf:

Code:
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:7:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:6:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Thanks!
1481346222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346222
Reply with quote  #2

1481346222
Report to moderator
1481346222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346222
Reply with quote  #2

1481346222
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481346222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346222
Reply with quote  #2

1481346222
Report to moderator
1481346222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346222
Reply with quote  #2

1481346222
Report to moderator
1481346222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346222
Reply with quote  #2

1481346222
Report to moderator
ghost
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 03:47:18 PM
 #2

CLInfo moved into a different directory in SDK 2.4 but if you search around you'll find it. I recommend Catalyst 11.3 and SDK 2.3 (I also have a 6990 running Ubuntu 10.10).
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 09:07:51 PM
 #3


I have Catalyst 11.4 installed and SDK 2.4 installed at /opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx32/

SDK 2.4 doesn't seem to have CLInfo in bin/, but 2.1 and 2.3 did, and it did not show any GPUs, just the CPU.


find /opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx32/ -name CLInfo  ... should tell you where it is


The output of the bitcoinpool poclb-mod.py script shows this issue as well:

Code:
$ python poclbm-mod.py
#########################################################################
# BitcoinPool.Com Custom Miner -
#
# Visit http://www.bitcoinpool.com to register for a free account.
# Then use the following commandline to start mining, just replace
# the username and password with your own, and choose your device
# from the list below:
#
# poclbm-mod.exe --user=USERNAME --pass=PASSWORD -d #
#
# You must specify a device. Use -d to specify one of the following:
#
# [0] AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 260 Processor
#
# Use the --help flag for more options.
#########################################################################

Any idea on what is going on?  I'm assuming it is an issue with OpenCL or the 2.4 SDK detecting the card, but I'm out of ideas..



Did you do export DISPLAY=:0.0 before running poclbm-mod?

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
jharbert
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 09:37:16 PM
 #4

Thanks, Ghost.

I ended up putting 11.3 and SDK 2.3 on a fresh install, copying some of the files over directly instead of doing a make, and removing the 64-bit files.  OpenCL then detected the GPUs.
jharbert
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 11:29:36 PM
 #5

I messaged this but thought I'd include in the thread in case anyone else wants to chime in:

--

Thanks for the help with the Catalyst and SDK versions.  I'm curious how many mhps you're pulling per core on the 6990 using 11.3 and 2.3.

I'm getting way lower than expected, ~250mhps per core.  Running 1 core alone it's about 450 or so.

Did you have this issue too?  I'm thinking about putting on windows 7 just to see if the driver differences increase the hash rate.

Cheers
Steve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile WWW
May 04, 2011, 11:52:16 PM
 #6

That's interesting...I was having all sorts of trouble with 10.10 (cloned from a 5970 based rig...but with sdk 2.4 and catalyst 11.4) and a 6990 (it wouldn't even read the clocks or temps using aticonfig)...I upgraded Ubuntu to 11.04 and suddenly everything started working.

(gasteve on IRC) Does your website accept cash? https://bitpay.com
ghost
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 12:04:44 AM
 #7

Have you tried phoenix?
jharbert
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 12:20:47 AM
 #8

Steve / Ghost,

I'm tempted to go back and try it again with Ubuntu 11.04 and the newest Catalyst drivers and SDK - since I handled the deployment of the SDK files differently this time around.

But, I think I'll throw win 7 on it tomorrow and see if I notice a big difference in mhps.  I'm not feeling very confident in the Catalyst 11.3 drivers running on my installation.

I'm also wondering whats with 48% GPU load while running two instances of the phoenix miner, 1 per core:
 
Code:
$ aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-getclocks

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    950           1250
             Current Peak :    950           1250
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [1250-1500]
                 GPU load :    48%

$ aticonfig --adapter=1 --od-getclocks

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    950           1250
             Current Peak :    950           1250
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [1250-1500]
                 GPU load :    48%
netcrack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 11:28:31 PM
 #9

Hello,
do you have any results yet? Are the 6990 running better on Win7 than Ubuntu? What did you end up using?
And which hashrate do you achieve with your current configuration?

greetings
jharbert
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 05:51:40 PM
 #10

We found support in win7 to be much better, making performance much better.  I can get about ~400mhps per core, so about 800mhps per 6990 without many problems (cards overclocked to 910mhz)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!