Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:44:34 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 under Ubuntu  (Read 1663 times)
xanadu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 07:36:20 PM
 #1

I have a new system up and running using Ubuntu and a 5970 card.

Using the phoenix miner (vectors, -k poclbm, BFI_INT, aggression=8, worksize=128) it runs one core at 300/Mhash, but when I start the second core by specifying device= both miners drop down to 180-190/Mhash.

Normally that would be a sign that both miners were using the same core, but I've double checked and indeed the device= is being properly set.  Starting the miner without specifying just shows [ 0 ] Cypress [ 1 ] Cypress [ 2 ] AMD Sempron

CPU usage also shoots up to 100% so it could be a resource constraint somewhere else? (No, I didn't start the miner running on the CPU!)

Any ideas?  I'm new to Ubuntu so this has been an interesting learning curve to get the machine running.

Thanks,
-X
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480934674
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934674

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934674
Reply with quote  #2

1480934674
Report to moderator
1480934674
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934674

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934674
Reply with quote  #2

1480934674
Report to moderator
1480934674
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934674

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934674
Reply with quote  #2

1480934674
Report to moderator
netxshare
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 07:39:28 PM
 #2

Can I see your full command line?

donations: 1CWddfhXagPoWgzUCs7oVHFjwBmqbAoJRr
xanadu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 07:50:03 PM
 #3

Can I see your full command line?

python phoenix.py -u http://name:pass@ipaddress:8332 -k poclbm BFI_INT aggression=8 vectors worksize=128 device=0 (or 1)
xanadu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 08:17:25 PM
 #4

I just used the command
Quote
$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
Current Clocks :  725           1000
Current Peak :    725           1000
Configurable Peak Range : [550-1000]     [1000-1500
GPU load :    46%

Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
Current Clocks :  725           1000
Current Peak :    725           1000
Configurable Peak Range : [550-1000]     [1000-1500]
GPU load :    51%

It looks like both GPUs are running at 50% load
twitcoins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 01:59:39 AM
 #5

Issue 'top' to keep an eye on your processes.  Launch the first miner.  I'm guessing you have a single-core sempron and it will spike the CPU to 100%.

If you have a multicore Sempron, I'm willing to bet you'll see %CPU spike over 100%, and with both miner's running I'd bet you peg both cores.

Just a guess though.

cat /proc/meminfo /proc/cpuinfo and paste the results here?
xanadu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:58:22 AM
 #6

Issue 'top' to keep an eye on your processes.  Launch the first miner.  I'm guessing you have a single-core sempron and it will spike the CPU to 100%.

cat /proc/meminfo /proc/cpuinfo and paste the results here?

Absolutely dead on, it is a single core Semperon CPU, I was under the impression that mining put very little load on the CPU since the GPU was doing all of the calculating so I didn't spend anything more than the minimum for the CPU on the dedicated mining hardware.

Here is the /proc/meminfo
MemTotal:        2059804 kB
MemFree:         1099720 kB
Buffers:          117872 kB
Cached:           320908kB
SwapCached:            0kB
Active:           351276 kB
Inactive:         315408 kB
Active(anon):     229692kB
Inactive(anon):     2144 kB
Active(file):     121584 kB
Inactive(file):   313264 kB
Unevictable:          16kB
Mlocked:              16 kB
HighTotal:       1187400kB
HighFree:         547808 kB
LowTotal:         872404 kB
LowFree:          551932 kB
SwapTotal:       2094076 kB
SwapFree:        2094076 kB
Dirty:                68 kB
Writeback:             0 kB
AnonPages:        227936 kB
Mapped:           101988 kB
Shmem:              3936 kB
Slab:             161460 kB
SReclaimable:     147012 kB
SUnreclaim:        14448kB
KernelStack:        2112 kB
PageTables:         4620 kB
NFS_Unstable:         0 kB
Bounce:                0 kB
WritebackTmp:          0 kB
CommitLimit:     3123976 kB
Committed_AS:    1220480 kB
VmallocTotal:     122880 kB
VmallocUsed:       60360 kB
VmallocChunk:      56476 kB
HardwareCorrupted:     0 kB
HugePages_Total:       0
HugePages_Free:        0
HugePages_Rsvd:        0
HugePages_Surp:        0
Hugepagesize:       4096kB
DirectMap4k:       12280kB
DirectMap4M:      897024 kB


Here is the CPU info:
processor   : 0
vendor_id   : AuthenticAMD
cpu family   : 16
model      : 6
model name   : AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor
stepping   : 2
cpu MHz      : 2700.000
cache size   : 1024 KB
fdiv_bug   : no
hlt_bug      : no
f00f_bug   : no
coma_bug   : no
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 5
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc up nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save
bogomips   : 5400.75
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate




RedSky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 08, 2012, 08:55:03 AM
 #7

Any update on a solution? I just updated Ubuntu to 12.04 and am running into the same problem...
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
May 08, 2012, 07:49:00 PM
 #8

Any update on a solution? I just updated Ubuntu to 12.04 and am running into the same problem...



i have 3 5970's on some random dual core intel CPU with one core disabled, device 0 at agg 9, rest at agg 12

use SDK 2.1?    and run them at 150mem with 128 worksize or 300mem @ 256 for maybe 1% more

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
RedSky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 09, 2012, 03:51:13 AM
 #9

I don't think it's the configuration settings - pretty much tried every reasonable combination there. I also tried downgrading the SDK to 2.4 from 2.6 (albeit not all the way to 2.1), with no luck.

The problem is that the GPU cores only see 50% load. It's like the miner (or maybe the driver) distributes the load for one core across both instead of running each under full load.

This is my first time running the 5970 so it could be I'm missing something basic, but my problem seems to match exactly that of the OP.
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2012, 08:56:12 PM
 #10

I have 4 5970 at water using:

Ubuntu 12.04 64 bits server
Catalyst 11.12
SDK v2.4
CGMiner 2.4.1

Clocks 790 / 150 = 355 MHash per GPU

Cheers!
Thiago

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
RedSky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 09:40:20 PM
 #11

Haha well thanks for rubbing it in...

The only difference with my system though seems to be the Catalyst driver version. I'll try rolling that back and see what happens.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!