Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:27:34 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Need help on getting 6990 cards working  (Read 1579 times)
c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 02:04:50 AM
 #1

Hello All,

I just purchased two 6990 cards, and using Windows 7 pro 64 bit. 

I got a 1250 power supply.  Both cards are working on the machines,  I have two monitors working fine on it. 

I did install the drivers from the disk.  I did not uninstall the old drivers and such for the 5870s.   

I start up the miner,  nothing happens.   I do have internet access.

I also did check the bat file, and did change the device=1 to something like 3 and 4.


Any ideas?

thanks
c-rock

1481012854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012854
Reply with quote  #2

1481012854
Report to moderator
1481012854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012854
Reply with quote  #2

1481012854
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
May 05, 2011, 02:06:57 AM
 #2

What do you mean nothing happens? There are many failure scenarios, you need to add more detail.

One quick thing to try is to enable crossfire, that seems to be a requirement for mining on windows.
c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 02:09:19 AM
 #3

I start up poclbm on my computer.   Nothing starts to hash.  Sorry for the lack of communication.


So when I try to start the bat file for poclbm, it starts up, but nothing starts to churn. 


c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 02:32:50 AM
 #4

That is the bat file I am using.   I had some other switches for the 5870s, but took them out to just get it to work.

C:\april2011poclbm\poclbm.exe --user=XXX --pass=XXX --host=mining.bitcoin.cz --port=8332 --device=1
pause

I did have a issue of the driver crashing this time around.    When I ran the file, it did crash the driver.

I am downloading the drivers from the manufactor.


I am using a HIS 6990. 


Thank you for your help.   I spent sometime already putting the two cards into the case.   That was exciting as it is.   Tongue

Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
May 05, 2011, 02:41:06 AM
 #5

Try "start /DC:\path\to poclbm.exe arguments go here"

That's how mine is setup currently.
c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 03:04:23 AM
 #6

I installed a new driver from the manufacturer.  Same thing. 

Every time I try to run it, it was crash the driver. 


I did try what you said, but I think those commands are for unix.   On windows you can just write to the exe to make it run. 

Then you use switches for any control you might be able to have.

Pleas help.

I started this upgrade at 6pm, and its 10pm.   Either I am braindead, or forgetting something.

c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 01:23:32 PM
 #7

I am using Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.4
I crossed fired the units.   

Same thing.   


Any ideas folks?

c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 01:57:33 PM
 #8

now I am getting the ATI display driver stopped working, and has recovered.

I am suspecting maybe the 5870 driver is causing a conflict?   Any ideas folks?   I could use the help.

BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 04:52:12 PM
 #9

Hello All,

I just purchased two 6990 cards, and using Windows 7 pro 64 bit. 

I got a 1250 power supply.  Both cards are working on the machines,  I have two monitors working fine on it. 

I did install the drivers from the disk.  I did not uninstall the old drivers and such for the 5870s.   

I start up the miner,  nothing happens.   I do have internet access.

I also did check the bat file, and did change the device=1 to something like 3 and 4.


Any ideas?

thanks
c-rock


Just to make sure I understand, you previously had a working mining setup for the 5870s, correct?  Which means you already have a correctly configured bitcoin server.  So the problem is probably a conflict of an incorrectly configured miner or something is wrong with between the cards and the system.   

c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 11:29:45 PM
 #10

Yes, the machine was working with two 5870 cards, with no problems.  I threw in the 6990s, and blue screens and such.

I did crossfire them, and not. 

When I did activate the crossfire on the catalyst, it did blue screen on me.


I am wondering if the drivers, older catalyst, and SDK 2.2 was the issue.  I did remove them, but maybe something is stuck on there?>


grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 01:29:34 AM
 #11

Yes, the machine was working with two 5870 cards, with no problems.  I threw in the 6990s, and blue screens and such.

I did crossfire them, and not. 

When I did activate the crossfire on the catalyst, it did blue screen on me.


I am wondering if the drivers, older catalyst, and SDK 2.2 was the issue.  I did remove them, but maybe something is stuck on there?>



You may want to try upping the SDK to 2.3 or 2.4 for the 6990.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 03:01:38 AM
 #12

I did try SDK 2.4   



c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 05:39:20 AM
 #13

Ok,

Here is a update.  It is windows, so I just reinstalled the OS. 

Then did Catalst 11.4, and SDK 2.4. 

Got the first card up. 

Both GPUs are going.

When I installed the 2nd card.   I did have to crossfire them.   Windows would not load otherwise. 

Its loaded up.  I am getting between 335 and 347 Mhash from each GPU.

Now my 4th GPU is not kicked on, or seen by Windows.   

The other three are huming along.  I am using a analog monitor for my 2nd monitor.   Could that be one reason the 4th GPU is not working?

When in doubt, reinstall.    Hated to do it, since this is my work machine, but I dont want to let these cards go to waste.

These are somewhat louder than the 5870s.  They do get toasty on stock.   There is some heat comming out the back. 

So far I love bitcoin.  I do IT work for a living, but to me, this is like racing.   We are racing against the clock.





Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!