Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 11:00:53 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Phoenix miner  (Read 3889 times)
lesniakbj
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 05:53:23 PM
 #1

Hi,

I am currently using the GUI miner (because I have no clue how to set up any of the command line miners), but I've read that Phoenix miner performs much better on 5870's and I am interested in using that miner, while still connecting to the pool on deepbit.

Thank you.
1481108453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108453
Reply with quote  #2

1481108453
Report to moderator
1481108453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108453
Reply with quote  #2

1481108453
Report to moderator
1481108453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108453
Reply with quote  #2

1481108453
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481108453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108453
Reply with quote  #2

1481108453
Report to moderator
1481108453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108453
Reply with quote  #2

1481108453
Report to moderator
keybaud
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 06:02:15 PM
 #2

Why not ask the question in the existing Phoenix Miner thread, a few lines below your new one:

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6458.0
lesniakbj
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 06:04:34 PM
 #3

The newest version of GUIminer uses an updated poclbm that is equivalent to pheonix.


The problem with the GUI miner is that I am getting only about 50-80% usage on my 5870, guessing this is either due to the fact that I am folding on all my cores (F@H) or the miner itself.
lesniakbj
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 06:45:40 PM
 #4

The problem with the GUI miner is that I am getting only about 50-80% usage on my 5870, guessing this is either due to the fact that I am folding on all my cores (F@H) or the miner itself.

Wait, so you think you might be folding on the 5870 as well as mining?

No, -bigadv on my CPU, my 5870 has been idle. But if the miner uses any CPU at all, wouldn't that slow it down due to the fact that my CPU is at 100% (due to folding)
lesniakbj
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 06:50:52 PM
 #5

No, -bigadv on my CPU, my 5870 has been idle. But if the miner uses any CPU at all, wouldn't that slow it down due to the fact that my CPU is at 100% (due to folding)

I don't know. I doubt it would be as much as 30-50% less. Perhaps you could use higher priority on the miner? Are you using any flags in the GUI miner?

-v -w128
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!