Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:30:06 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New rig (2x 5870) crossfire question/problem  (Read 1960 times)
kstepyra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 10:43:37 PM
 #1

Hi,

It's my first topic in here, so don't yell at me if i post it in wrong place:)

I am going to buy new computer for pc games, but i am also going to use it as rig. It's going to be 2x 5870 GPU's.
The question is - if i have windows 7 professional 32bit (can change it to 64 if needed) i will be able to run miners on both gpus? or i will have to change anything/install software or something?
Also i heard about turning out crossfire. How does it affect mining / games? or it's impossible to mine on crossfire?
A nice explanation on topic will be nice as i've seen on wiki that there are 5870 x 2 statistics.

Best regards,
Jakub
1481149806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149806
Reply with quote  #2

1481149806
Report to moderator
1481149806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149806
Reply with quote  #2

1481149806
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481149806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149806
Reply with quote  #2

1481149806
Report to moderator
c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 11:32:54 PM
 #2

I am running a Win7pro 64bit with two 5870s. 

I had no probs running miners on both gpus.  You have to have two miners running.  Change the Device to =1 and =2 for each miner bat file.

I did not crossfire them.  It does not matter for the 5870s.   You can have them crossfired, or not.  Same performance either way.

Make sure you upgrade your PSU.   I would recommend a 900Watt or higher PSU.



c-rock

kstepyra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 12:46:03 AM
 #3

Nice, ill give it a try in couple days. Btw - you are mining with normal GUIMiner? And what's yours mhash/s ? Smiley i heard it can go up to 400 and over it with little OC and specific card parameters
c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 05:40:39 AM
 #4

Using poclbm and was getting 358 on my first card,
and 370s on the second.


I could push them more, but they would crash. 
You need to just work it up to a level that is borderline crazy.   Tongue

Meni Rosenfeld
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 06:40:33 AM
 #5

Make sure you upgrade your PSU.   I would recommend a 900Watt or higher PSU.
You don't need a 900W PSU. You need a high-quality PSU such as Seasonic X-series, 750W tops but 650W should do fine too. Anything which is not from a known brand is utter junk, and even within a brand some products are good and others not so much.

1EofoZNBhWQ3kxfKnvWkhtMns4AivZArhr   |   Who am I?   |   bitcoin-otc WoT
Bitcoil - Exchange bitcoins for ILS (thread)   |   Israel Bitcoin community homepage (thread)
Analysis of Bitcoin Pooled Mining Reward Systems (thread, summary)  |   PureMining - Infinite-term, deterministic mining bond
benjamindees
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 07:35:00 AM
 #6

It's amazing to me how awful the PSU market has become.  I had good luck with Antecs for several years, but I have one here (SP-450) that crapped out, because apparently it had defective capacitors.  "Japanese capacitors" is now a feature that is used as a selling point.  Wattage ratings are completely useless.  Oh well, I'll try my luck with Corsair.

Civil Liberty Through Complex Mathematics
c-rock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


I love the Cloud, and Love Mining, how 2 combine?


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 01:43:02 PM
 #7

Make sure you upgrade your PSU.   I would recommend a 900Watt or higher PSU.
You don't need a 900W PSU. You need a high-quality PSU such as Seasonic X-series, 750W tops but 650W should do fine too. Anything which is not from a known brand is utter junk, and even within a brand some products are good and others not so much.

you might be able to go with a smaller one, but your efficency will be lower, plus overclocking does use the juice more.   I still stand by my recommendation.    A bigger PSU will have better effiencies. 

Meni Rosenfeld
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile WWW
May 07, 2011, 08:19:11 PM
 #8

Make sure you upgrade your PSU.   I would recommend a 900Watt or higher PSU.
You don't need a 900W PSU. You need a high-quality PSU such as Seasonic X-series, 750W tops but 650W should do fine too. Anything which is not from a known brand is utter junk, and even within a brand some products are good and others not so much.

you might be able to go with a smaller one, but your efficency will be lower, plus overclocking does use the juice more.   I still stand by my recommendation.    A bigger PSU will have better effiencies. 
For efficiency the most important thing is to get an 80+ Gold one. Once you do that increasing the power rating will have almost no effect.

1EofoZNBhWQ3kxfKnvWkhtMns4AivZArhr   |   Who am I?   |   bitcoin-otc WoT
Bitcoil - Exchange bitcoins for ILS (thread)   |   Israel Bitcoin community homepage (thread)
Analysis of Bitcoin Pooled Mining Reward Systems (thread, summary)  |   PureMining - Infinite-term, deterministic mining bond
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!