Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:14:54 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Dedicated Mining Rig  (Read 1229 times)
Vwlopez3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 02:24:21 AM
 #1

Hello ive been mining along at a respectable rate of 1ghash but i want more power!!! I was wondering if these specs would work
4x5850 Sapphire Extreme
1500w Silverstone PSU
Amd Sempron 140
MSI 890fx Motherboard (5pci-e x16 size 1 pci-e x1)
4gb generic ddr3
With the possibility of transferring my 1x5870 and another 5850 to the dedicated rig. Will this be enough power and can all 6 pci lanes work? I would have to use linux right?

Can anyone suggest any better components?
PS im planing on putting the rig on a custom built platform in the basement with technopagan's risers
Any advice is greatly appreciated.

19G8b28qHHM7yACCwwWfikGv7QimEsHyga
1481055294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055294
Reply with quote  #2

1481055294
Report to moderator
According to NIST and ECRYPT II, the cryptographic algorithms used in Bitcoin are expected to be strong until at least 2030. (After that, it will not be too difficult to transition to different algorithms.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481055294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055294
Reply with quote  #2

1481055294
Report to moderator
1481055294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055294
Reply with quote  #2

1481055294
Report to moderator
1481055294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055294
Reply with quote  #2

1481055294
Report to moderator
Vwlopez3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 02:29:55 AM
 #2

Also what would be a better buy a diamond 5870 @$220 or Sapphire @152?
Is the PSU overkill cause its pretty expensive and hurting my budget
Thank you in advance-
Thomas

19G8b28qHHM7yACCwwWfikGv7QimEsHyga
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 02:31:00 AM
 #3

You can only use 4 GPUs in windows and 8 in linux, and just FYI, with good cooling the 5850 can push over 400MHash each without much of a problem..

I'd got for a 1200W, just for good measure and some room for further expansion..
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 02:50:02 AM
 #4

Hello ive been mining along at a respectable rate of 1ghash but i want more power!!! I was wondering if these specs would work
4x5850 Sapphire Extreme
1500w Silverstone PSU
Amd Sempron 140
MSI 890fx Motherboard (5pci-e x16 size 1 pci-e x1)
4gb generic ddr3
With the possibility of transferring my 1x5870 and another 5850 to the dedicated rig. Will this be enough power and can all 6 pci lanes work? I would have to use linux right?

Can anyone anything component that better?
PS im planing on putting the rig on a custom built platform in the basement with technopagan's risers
Any advice is greatly appreciated.

5850 and 5870 take up 2 slots of space on the board and the case. 4 is the maximum number of cards you can put in 1 case unless you do the PCI-E extenders.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 02:53:02 AM
 #5

You can only use 4 GPUs in windows and 8 in linux, and just FYI, with good cooling the 5850 can push over 400MHash each without much of a problem..

I'd got for a 1200W, just for good measure and some room for further expansion..

5850 pulling OVER 400? I saw one getting 390 in an insane overclock. Haven't seen over 400 though.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Vwlopez3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 02:59:29 AM
 #6

5850 and 5870 take up 2 slots of space on the board and the case. 4 is the maximum number of cards you can put in 1 case unless you do the PCI-E extenders.
right which is why i said i would use PCI-E riser or extender, and a custom set-up to hold the card with some better spacing. I would also be willing to buy a skeleton chassis with custom spacing if anyone knows were to buy one.
PS took me awhile to figure out how to quote

19G8b28qHHM7yACCwwWfikGv7QimEsHyga
fasti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
May 08, 2011, 05:41:27 PM
 #7

I found: http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_Socket_939/A8N32SLI_Deluxe/#specifications with everything working. Would just need to get new PSU for better graphics card.

Would this work with 6990? Don't think I can use crossfire setup on that mobo, but two cores on one card should work?

Electricity is free for me.

Edit: I already have 6950 on my main computer, if that will works and 6990 doesn't, I guess I can just put 6950 to old one and use 6990 on my main computer. Any problems gaming with 6990 and mining at the same time(directx9 games)?

1QCcAR3e3wdxr7CcJ8ND1NmWuvLttCJScH
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!