Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:35:38 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: pyopencl doesn't find my 5870...?  (Read 949 times)
schone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 04:42:34 AM
 #1

Hello,

So I've installed my ATI HD 5870, installed catalyst and the SDK.  Its shared on my mobo with an internal graphic card ATI 3000HD and i'm using the 3000 for my monitor while wanting to use 5870 for mining headless.

I run the poclbm script and get the following:


Code:
No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following

AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor"

Mind you that when I right click on the system tray and see the catalyst context menu, it shows both my cards.  When I go to the info though catalyst shows the 5870 as "disabled" while window's device manager shows it not disabled.

Suggestions? Ideas?

Windows 7, 64bit.

Thanks much!
-schone
1481340938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340938
Reply with quote  #2

1481340938
Report to moderator
1481340938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340938
Reply with quote  #2

1481340938
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 05:02:02 AM
 #2

So I've installed my ATI HD 5870, installed catalyst and the SDK.  Its shared on my mobo with an internal graphic card ATI 3000HD and i'm using the 3000 for my monitor while wanting to use 5870 for mining headless.
You should use 5870 for video output or insert some dummy-vga plug in it.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 08:53:00 AM
 #3

Hello,

So I've installed my ATI HD 5870, installed catalyst and the SDK.  Its shared on my mobo with an internal graphic card ATI 3000HD and i'm using the 3000 for my monitor while wanting to use 5870 for mining headless.

I run the poclbm script and get the following:


Code:
No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following

AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor"

Mind you that when I right click on the system tray and see the catalyst context menu, it shows both my cards.  When I go to the info though catalyst shows the 5870 as "disabled" while window's device manager shows it not disabled.

Suggestions? Ideas?

Windows 7, 64bit.

Thanks much!
-schone

Try re-starting, and plugging a monitor cable into both of the outlets.
schone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 10:14:48 AM
 #4

does the dummy vga need to have a monitor on the other hand or does it just press one of the pins inside the connector to let it know "it's alive"?


Also, i tried hooking up my monitor to the 5870 using the VGA->DVI so I have one free not connected DVI, one that is connected and two HDMI ports not connected... is it supposed to work now?  Cause i'm still getting nothing on the device list running poclbm with no switches...

Thanks!!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!