Bitcoin Forum
January 20, 2019, 06:29:40 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Poll
Question: Are you going to buy the upgrade kit or...Huh?
YES on Upgrade - 4 (8.7%)
NAH on Upgrade - 16 (34.8%)
Maybe Upgrade - 7 (15.2%)
Underclock Antminer s1 - 7 (15.2%)
Just buy S3 outright - 12 (26.1%)
Total Voters: 37

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S3 upgrade kit????  (Read 4636 times)
Lucky7Gaming
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 03:45:54 PM
 #1

I'm just curious to see who's gonna get the https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=0002014081313175081722f1GeUO063F
upgrade kit  Huh

The difficulty is going up so fast.... might just underclock my S1.....  Opinions?

Earn BTC investing in Peer to Peer Loans on BTCJam.
http://tinyurl.com/lc4wmvx
1548008980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548008980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548008980
Reply with quote  #2

1548008980
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1548008980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548008980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548008980
Reply with quote  #2

1548008980
Report to moderator
1548008980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548008980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548008980
Reply with quote  #2

1548008980
Report to moderator
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 04:19:53 PM
Last edit: August 14, 2014, 07:05:46 PM by jonnybravo0311
 #2

I'm just curious to see who's gonna get the https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=0002014081313175081722f1GeUO063F
upgrade kit  Huh

The difficulty is going up so fast.... might just underclock my S1.....  Opinions?
I already sold off my S1s and upgraded with S3s directly, so I won't be purchasing the upgrade kits.  I'm glad I did, 9/20 is a long ways off.

One thing I'd like to add here is that the upgrade kit really doesn't make sense.  Here's why:

Your S1 is already getting you 180GH/s (or 200GH/s if you've over clocked it).  The upgrade kit effectively turns your S1 into an S3.  You gain 273GH/s - 304GH/s (base clocks to both over clocked).  So, is ~275GH/s worth 0.46BTC (by the way, the MOQ on the upgrade kits is 2, so you're looking at 0.92BTC).

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
Bitsaurus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 859
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 09:08:30 PM
 #3

None of Bitmain product offerings make sense considering the difficulty will be up 50% (1.25x1.25?) by Sept 20 ship date.  The S3 upgrade is basically saving you a little money by reusing the shell from the S1.  It would make more sense to sell the S1 and just buy a S3+ but even that is way overpriced for Sept 20 ship date.

Bitmain doing preorders Oh God

              ███████░
             ░███████
             ▓████▓▒▒▓▓▓▓▒░
          ░▓█░      ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
       ░▓██▓▓      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
     ░███▓▓▓░      ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░░░░▒▒░░
    ▓██▓▓▓▓▓       ▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒    ▒   ░████░
   ███▓▓▓▓▓▓      ░▓▓▓░   ▓    ▒       ███
  ███▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ▓▓▓   ▒    ▓          █░
 ████▓▓▓▓▓▓       ▓▓░░▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▓▒      ░▓▓▓    ▓░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ▓▓░  ░▓░ ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
▒███▓▓▓▓▓▓     ░▓▓▓░░▓░   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▒   ░▓░░▓▓▓░    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒
 ████▓▓▓▓░ ░▓░  ▓▓░      ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
 ▒███▓▓▓▓░▓░  ░▓▓▓       ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒
  ▓███▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
   ▓███▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    ░████▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░       ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
      ▓████▓▓▓▓▓▓░                 ▓█░
        ░█████▓▓▓▓░             ░████░
           ░▒█████▓▓▒░     ░░████████░
.

     ░▓▓▓▓                   ▓▓▓▓░
     ▓▓▓▓░                  ░▓▓▓▓
     ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
    ░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▒░ ▒▓▓▓▒░░▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ▓▓▓▓░░░░▒  ░▓▓▓▓░░▓▓▓▓
    ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓    ░▓▓▓▓░▒▓▓▓▓░  ▒▓▒▒░  ░░░░░   ▒▓▓▓▓░     ▓▓▓▓░▒▓▓▓▓░
   ░▓▓▒▒   ░░░░░   ░       ░░░░░    ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░ ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░░
   ▒▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░    ▓▓▓▓░    ░   ▒▓▓▓▒   ▓▓▓▓░       ▒▓▓▓░ ▓▓▓▓░    ░░
   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒  ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
  ░▓▓▓▓   ▒▓▓▓▒   ▓▓▓▓░    ▒▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓░░  ░▓▓▓▓   ▒▓▓▓▒  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░

    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░                ▒▓▓▓▓
  ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓                 ▓▓▓▓░
 ▒▓▓▓▓░            ░░░░░          ░     ░░   ░░░
 ▓▓▓▓░          ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
░▓▓▓▓          ▒▓▓▓▓░░░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
░▓▓▓▓         ░▒▒▒░    ░░░░  ░░▒▒▒   ▓███░   ████
▓▓██░         ▓███░   ░████  ▓███░  ░████   ░███▓
████▓    ░░░  ████░  ░████░  ████░  ▒███▒   ▓███░
▓██████████░  ░██████████░  ░███▓   ████░  ░████
  ░▒▓▓▓▓▒░░     ░▒▓▓▓▒░░    ░▒▒▒░   ▒▒▒▒   ░▒▒▒░
.
  GET INTENSE COIN!

Lucky7Gaming
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 09:11:41 PM
 #4

None of Bitmain product offerings make sense considering the difficulty will be up 50% (1.25x1.25?) by Sept 20 ship date.  The S3 upgrade is basically saving you a little money by reusing the shell from the S1.  It would make more sense to sell the S1 and just buy a S3+ but even that is way overpriced for Sept 20 ship date.

Bitmain doing preorders Oh God

September 20 is so long away and difficulty is going up exponentially....I agree.  Not worth it

Earn BTC investing in Peer to Peer Loans on BTCJam.
http://tinyurl.com/lc4wmvx
Lucky7Gaming
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 09:12:57 PM
 #5

I'm just curious to see who's gonna get the https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=0002014081313175081722f1GeUO063F
upgrade kit  Huh

The difficulty is going up so fast.... might just underclock my S1.....  Opinions?
I already sold off my S1s and upgraded with S3s directly, so I won't be purchasing the upgrade kits.  I'm glad I did, 9/20 is a long ways off.

One thing I'd like to add here is that the upgrade kit really doesn't make sense.  Here's why:

Your S1 is already getting you 180GH/s (or 200GH/s if you've over clocked it).  The upgrade kit effectively turns your S1 into an S3.  You gain 273GH/s - 304GH/s (base clocks to both over clocked).  So, is ~275GH/s worth 0.46BTC (by the way, the MOQ on the upgrade kits is 2, so you're looking at 0.92BTC).

It is much more efficient per watt too.......

Earn BTC investing in Peer to Peer Loans on BTCJam.
http://tinyurl.com/lc4wmvx
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 10:32:57 PM
 #6

I'm just curious to see who's gonna get the https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=0002014081313175081722f1GeUO063F
upgrade kit  Huh

The difficulty is going up so fast.... might just underclock my S1.....  Opinions?
I already sold off my S1s and upgraded with S3s directly, so I won't be purchasing the upgrade kits.  I'm glad I did, 9/20 is a long ways off.

One thing I'd like to add here is that the upgrade kit really doesn't make sense.  Here's why:

Your S1 is already getting you 180GH/s (or 200GH/s if you've over clocked it).  The upgrade kit effectively turns your S1 into an S3.  You gain 273GH/s - 304GH/s (base clocks to both over clocked).  So, is ~275GH/s worth 0.46BTC (by the way, the MOQ on the upgrade kits is 2, so you're looking at 0.92BTC).

It is much more efficient per watt too.......
That goes without saying... the S1 is 2W per GH/s, the S3 (and the upgraded S1) are 0.78W per GH/s.  I think my main point was that with a ship date of 9/20, neither the S1 or the S3 make a lot of sense.  I got in with the early batches (1, 4, 5), so by the time the S3+ comes out, my S3s will have been mining for a couple months.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
Lucky7Gaming
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 10:34:18 PM
 #7

I'm just curious to see who's gonna get the https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=0002014081313175081722f1GeUO063F
upgrade kit  Huh

The difficulty is going up so fast.... might just underclock my S1.....  Opinions?
I already sold off my S1s and upgraded with S3s directly, so I won't be purchasing the upgrade kits.  I'm glad I did, 9/20 is a long ways off.

One thing I'd like to add here is that the upgrade kit really doesn't make sense.  Here's why:

Your S1 is already getting you 180GH/s (or 200GH/s if you've over clocked it).  The upgrade kit effectively turns your S1 into an S3.  You gain 273GH/s - 304GH/s (base clocks to both over clocked).  So, is ~275GH/s worth 0.46BTC (by the way, the MOQ on the upgrade kits is 2, so you're looking at 0.92BTC).

It is much more efficient per watt too.......
That goes without saying... the S1 is 2W per GH/s, the S3 (and the upgraded S1) are 0.78W per GH/s.  I think my main point was that with a ship date of 9/20, neither the S1 or the S3 make a lot of sense.  I got in with the early batches (1, 4, 5), so by the time the S3+ comes out, my S3s will have been mining for a couple months.

Yeah....the early adopters won out, and the later batches have too small of a discount to win.

Earn BTC investing in Peer to Peer Loans on BTCJam.
http://tinyurl.com/lc4wmvx
cozk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 12:20:09 AM
 #8

not worth it.
timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 959
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 08:00:15 PM
 #9

They state that the kit is NONREFUNDABLE AFTER PURCHASE.  Why?  What are they hiding?  The fact they they are a nonreputable company who only wants your money?  They take your money, and say thank you and screw off now and never call us again?

DO NOT BUY AN ASIC!  I keep telling you idiots and you never learn!!!
Lucky7Gaming
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 08:19:35 PM
 #10

They state that the kit is NONREFUNDABLE AFTER PURCHASE.  Why?  What are they hiding?  The fact they they are a nonreputable company who only wants your money?  They take your money, and say thank you and screw off now and never call us again?

DO NOT BUY AN ASIC!  I keep telling you idiots and you never learn!!!
Lol yeah....but GPUs are not making anything right now right?

Earn BTC investing in Peer to Peer Loans on BTCJam.
http://tinyurl.com/lc4wmvx
Houseman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 156
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 16, 2014, 12:23:45 AM
 #11

They state that the kit is NONREFUNDABLE AFTER PURCHASE.  Why?  What are they hiding?  The fact they they are a nonreputable company who only wants your money?  They take your money, and say thank you and screw off now and never call us again?

DO NOT BUY AN ASIC!  I keep telling you idiots and you never learn!!!

Bitmaintech have always delivered. This upgrade kit is hash boards and fixings to diy your S1 chassis to S3 like performance. Probably non refundable because potential for damage quite high when diy'ing the bits and bobs together.

▮▮█ # metahashYour Gate to Decentralized Internet# metahash █▮▮
#TraceChain#MetaApps#MetaGate#MetaHashCoin
▮▮█▬▬▬▬▬❰Facebook❱▬❰Twitter❱▬❰Telegram❱▬❰Ann thread❱▬▬▬▬▬█▮▮
timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 959
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 16, 2014, 01:44:42 AM
 #12

GPUs have a life beyond mining.  Even 7950's are still very good GPUs.  ASICs become useless.
whitemage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 212
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 16, 2014, 06:03:24 AM
 #13

The upgrade kit is only good if it can deliver immediately or soon. 1 month is really too long. Better to just buy S3..

Bitsaurus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 859
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 16, 2014, 07:19:55 AM
 #14

The upgrade kit is only good if it can deliver immediately or soon. 1 month is really too long. Better to just buy S3..

S3 is now overpriced because of the 1 month delay. Better to buy some S1s secondhand from somebody who has expensive power rates and undervolt them (of course this is for people with cheap power as nobody can run them profitably at stock in about 4 days).

              ███████░
             ░███████
             ▓████▓▒▒▓▓▓▓▒░
          ░▓█░      ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
       ░▓██▓▓      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
     ░███▓▓▓░      ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░░░░▒▒░░
    ▓██▓▓▓▓▓       ▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒    ▒   ░████░
   ███▓▓▓▓▓▓      ░▓▓▓░   ▓    ▒       ███
  ███▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ▓▓▓   ▒    ▓          █░
 ████▓▓▓▓▓▓       ▓▓░░▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▓▒      ░▓▓▓    ▓░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ▓▓░  ░▓░ ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
▒███▓▓▓▓▓▓     ░▓▓▓░░▓░   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▒   ░▓░░▓▓▓░    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒
 ████▓▓▓▓░ ░▓░  ▓▓░      ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
 ▒███▓▓▓▓░▓░  ░▓▓▓       ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒
  ▓███▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
   ▓███▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    ░████▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░       ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
      ▓████▓▓▓▓▓▓░                 ▓█░
        ░█████▓▓▓▓░             ░████░
           ░▒█████▓▓▒░     ░░████████░
.

     ░▓▓▓▓                   ▓▓▓▓░
     ▓▓▓▓░                  ░▓▓▓▓
     ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
    ░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▒░ ▒▓▓▓▒░░▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ▓▓▓▓░░░░▒  ░▓▓▓▓░░▓▓▓▓
    ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓    ░▓▓▓▓░▒▓▓▓▓░  ▒▓▒▒░  ░░░░░   ▒▓▓▓▓░     ▓▓▓▓░▒▓▓▓▓░
   ░▓▓▒▒   ░░░░░   ░       ░░░░░    ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░ ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░░
   ▒▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░    ▓▓▓▓░    ░   ▒▓▓▓▒   ▓▓▓▓░       ▒▓▓▓░ ▓▓▓▓░    ░░
   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒  ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
  ░▓▓▓▓   ▒▓▓▓▒   ▓▓▓▓░    ▒▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓░░  ░▓▓▓▓   ▒▓▓▓▒  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░

    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░                ▒▓▓▓▓
  ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓                 ▓▓▓▓░
 ▒▓▓▓▓░            ░░░░░          ░     ░░   ░░░
 ▓▓▓▓░          ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
░▓▓▓▓          ▒▓▓▓▓░░░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
░▓▓▓▓         ░▒▒▒░    ░░░░  ░░▒▒▒   ▓███░   ████
▓▓██░         ▓███░   ░████  ▓███░  ░████   ░███▓
████▓    ░░░  ████░  ░████░  ████░  ▒███▒   ▓███░
▓██████████░  ░██████████░  ░███▓   ████░  ░████
  ░▒▓▓▓▓▒░░     ░▒▓▓▓▒░░    ░▒▒▒░   ▒▒▒▒   ░▒▒▒░
.
  GET INTENSE COIN!

Bitsaurus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 859
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 16, 2014, 07:49:51 PM
 #15

Keep your old S1 as is, when upgraded, when can't mine anymore with your S1.
They recycle the heat sink.

X-Hash dropped price on gridseed products this morning.
You can order 1TH / 1200W for 1000$

http://www.x-hash.com/go?url=EX4RZF8pUnAXKlUoRDgUaQpwAyMHKkk2BC8Te0V2DCsFahY5UzJCf08lBXgAIw93FHYEfEEjFiBcJgc0QiAAYg%3D%3D

Little less efficient in power but damn good deal.

I bought 2x hosted S3 for 1000$ yesterday, only get 840GH for my buck.
http://gawminers.go2cloud.org/SH38

New from today : Hashlet cloud miner
Have a look before spending money

http://gawminers.go2cloud.org/SH38


That's a decent price for the GH/s/$ but the power usage is double that of an S3.  That means it will make money up front for the first 3 -4 months and then have an early retirement compared to something that is a lot more efficient.  Bitfury gear is still able to run due to it's great efficiency.

Unless you have really cheap power always go for higher efficiency, especially when it's double as in this case.

              ███████░
             ░███████
             ▓████▓▒▒▓▓▓▓▒░
          ░▓█░      ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
       ░▓██▓▓      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
     ░███▓▓▓░      ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░░░░▒▒░░
    ▓██▓▓▓▓▓       ▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒    ▒   ░████░
   ███▓▓▓▓▓▓      ░▓▓▓░   ▓    ▒       ███
  ███▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ▓▓▓   ▒    ▓          █░
 ████▓▓▓▓▓▓       ▓▓░░▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▓▒      ░▓▓▓    ▓░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ▓▓░  ░▓░ ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
▒███▓▓▓▓▓▓     ░▓▓▓░░▓░   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▒   ░▓░░▓▓▓░    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒
 ████▓▓▓▓░ ░▓░  ▓▓░      ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
 ▒███▓▓▓▓░▓░  ░▓▓▓       ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒
  ▓███▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
   ▓███▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    ░████▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░       ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
      ▓████▓▓▓▓▓▓░                 ▓█░
        ░█████▓▓▓▓░             ░████░
           ░▒█████▓▓▒░     ░░████████░
.

     ░▓▓▓▓                   ▓▓▓▓░
     ▓▓▓▓░                  ░▓▓▓▓
     ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
    ░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▒░ ▒▓▓▓▒░░▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ▓▓▓▓░░░░▒  ░▓▓▓▓░░▓▓▓▓
    ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓    ░▓▓▓▓░▒▓▓▓▓░  ▒▓▒▒░  ░░░░░   ▒▓▓▓▓░     ▓▓▓▓░▒▓▓▓▓░
   ░▓▓▒▒   ░░░░░   ░       ░░░░░    ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░ ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░░
   ▒▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░    ▓▓▓▓░    ░   ▒▓▓▓▒   ▓▓▓▓░       ▒▓▓▓░ ▓▓▓▓░    ░░
   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒  ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
  ░▓▓▓▓   ▒▓▓▓▒   ▓▓▓▓░    ▒▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓░░  ░▓▓▓▓   ▒▓▓▓▒  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░

    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░                ▒▓▓▓▓
  ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓                 ▓▓▓▓░
 ▒▓▓▓▓░            ░░░░░          ░     ░░   ░░░
 ▓▓▓▓░          ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
░▓▓▓▓          ▒▓▓▓▓░░░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
░▓▓▓▓         ░▒▒▒░    ░░░░  ░░▒▒▒   ▓███░   ████
▓▓██░         ▓███░   ░████  ▓███░  ░████   ░███▓
████▓    ░░░  ████░  ░████░  ████░  ▒███▒   ▓███░
▓██████████░  ░██████████░  ░███▓   ████░  ░████
  ░▒▓▓▓▓▒░░     ░▒▓▓▓▒░░    ░▒▒▒░   ▒▒▒▒   ░▒▒▒░
.
  GET INTENSE COIN!

JohanM
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 09:27:31 PM
 #16

It was almost never profitable to mine bitcoins when compared to electricity costs.
When we were mining with CPU, the electricity bill was 100x more expensive that the coins we won.
Same when the GPU mining started, 100x more expensive.
Of course afterwards when the bitcoin price rose many many times, it was profitable Smiley

Same as now, it you calculate your mining costs with a bitcoin price of 500, you're not going to have a positive ROI.
But if you hope for bitcoin price of 3, 5 or 15 thousand, the numbers look really different.

As for the kits, no i'm undervolting (10k pot mod) my S1's to add to their lifespan.
If you can get defective S1's for free, that would be a good option.
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1017



View Profile
August 19, 2014, 09:51:19 PM
 #17

It was almost never profitable to mine bitcoins when compared to electricity costs.
When we were mining with CPU, the electricity bill was 100x more expensive that the coins we won.

Same when the GPU mining started, 100x more expensive.
Of course afterwards when the bitcoin price rose many many times, it was profitable Smiley

Same as now, it you calculate your mining costs with a bitcoin price of 500, you're not going to have a positive ROI.
But if you hope for bitcoin price of 3, 5 or 15 thousand, the numbers look really different.

As for the kits, no i'm undervolting (10k pot mod) my S1's to add to their lifespan.
If you can get defective S1's for free, that would be a good option.

First of all that is outright false.  If you were CPU mining with electricity 100x the profit, maybe you should have upgraded that 486-DX2  Cheesy.  Same with GPU mining.  Unless you were paying on the order of $30 per KWH (and this is coming from somebody paying $0.35/KWH at home).

If electricity costs more than you earn, IT ALWAYS MAKES MORE SENSE TO BUY the coin outright.  ALWAYS.  The only reason to mine at that point is to support the network or get newly minted coins by solo mining.
bmoscato
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 09:52:12 PM
 #18

Can the old boards be utilized as well?
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1017



View Profile
August 19, 2014, 09:54:55 PM
 #19

Can the old boards be utilized as well?

The old boards are the part that is being replaced because they are inefficient.  You can undervolt them to get a little more life out of them and that's why the upgrade kit is considered a bad idea.
bmoscato
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 10:29:41 PM
 #20

Can the old boards be utilized as well?

The old boards are the part that is being replaced because they are inefficient.  You can undervolt them to get a little more life out of them and that's why the upgrade kit is considered a bad idea.

I was just asking since I have 4 S1's and wondered if I could repurpose them.  I'm really not worried about the cost of power... Solar on the house.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!