Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 04:23:59 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin.exe -server does not work, will bitcoind.exe -server do the exact same??  (Read 2234 times)
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 10:47:20 AM
 #1

So I have been having some problems with my bitcoin.exe suddenly.

I have a few miners setup running ubuntu 11.04 and I was running the bitcoin server off of my windows 7 64 bit machine (quite smoothly for almost a week straight) until earlier today when I started receiving error messages related to bitcoin.exe

My question is, if I run bitcoind.exe -server and connect my miners as usualy, will everything still work as expected? Am I wasting my time running bitcoind.exe for mining?

It has looked like this for the past few hours since I started running it:



My miners are showing hashes per second and not any "RPC Cannot connect" values... I just want some confirmation that they are indeed working?! Can you give me some reassurance, bitcoiners?!
1481041439
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481041439

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481041439
Reply with quote  #2

1481041439
Report to moderator
1481041439
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481041439

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481041439
Reply with quote  #2

1481041439
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481041439
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481041439

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481041439
Reply with quote  #2

1481041439
Report to moderator
1481041439
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481041439

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481041439
Reply with quote  #2

1481041439
Report to moderator
1481041439
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481041439

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481041439
Reply with quote  #2

1481041439
Report to moderator
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 06, 2011, 05:42:09 PM
 #2

Open your task mangler and kill any extra running copies of bitcoind. If that fails, reboot your computer.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 06:10:35 PM
 #3

Open your task mangler and kill any extra running copies of bitcoind. If that fails, reboot your computer.

Whoa whoa whoa, wait a sec!?!

I only have one copy of bitcoind.exe running, I am just saying that is what my command line looks like. No error codes or messages whatsoever after 12 hours now... just want some clarification that it's even working properly!?
BitterTea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
May 06, 2011, 06:20:49 PM
 #4

You don't need the -server argument when using bitcoind, as that is all bitcoind does. When you use server with bitcoin.exe, it enables JSON-RPC, which allows you to make all the same API calls while also using the GUI.

I don't understand why you executed bitcoind over and over and over again. Running it once starts the daemon which runs in the background.
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 06:25:02 PM
 #5

You don't need the -server argument when using bitcoind, as that is all bitcoind does. When you use server with bitcoin.exe, it enables JSON-RPC, which allows you to make all the same API calls while also using the GUI.

I don't understand why you executed bitcoind over and over and over again. Running it once starts the daemon which runs in the background.

My apologies, please allow me to explain! I begain running it more than once because that command line became that way over the course of a few hours. Forgive me for not wiping it clean before I posted the screenshot Tongue

There is only one copy of bitcoind.exe running on my computer - all I wanted to know is if it is indeed working as a server - and if it does so by default, then I guess you answered my question BitterTea, +1 thanks!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!