Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 03:45:18 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Remotely running rpcminer-cuda fails "could not initialize cuda"  (Read 2056 times)
sharpie64
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 01:54:16 AM
 #1

I'm in a particular bind.  I can use Windows WMI to remotely execute processes and manage processes.  This is useful in the environment for which I intend to mine coins.

Specifically, 3 lines of python code like this can start a process on a remote system:

 
Code:
import wmi
c=wmi.WMI(computer="remotehost")
c.Win32_Process.Create(target="path\to\exe")

The miner executable and the flags I pass work when I run them as a user at the actual computer, but when running them through this method or through remote desktop they fail.  I specifically mention that they fail during remote desktop because nvidia released a doc saying RDP replaces the video driver with one that CUDA supposedly can not work with during RDP sessions.

Is there a way to initialize cuda?

Is there a way to remotely start rpcminer-cuda.exe?
1480779918
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480779918

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480779918
Reply with quote  #2

1480779918
Report to moderator
Once a transaction has 6 confirmations, it is extremely unlikely that an attacker without at least 50% of the network's computation power would be able to reverse it.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480779918
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480779918

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480779918
Reply with quote  #2

1480779918
Report to moderator
1480779918
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480779918

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480779918
Reply with quote  #2

1480779918
Report to moderator
1480779918
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480779918

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480779918
Reply with quote  #2

1480779918
Report to moderator
sharpie64
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 05:41:22 PM
 #2

So what do I do since I can't post this in the actual RPCminer thread?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 05:46:12 PM
 #3

You can't.  With WMI or RDP the process won't have access to the host GPU.

It is failing to "initialize CUDA" because it isn't seeing any valid GPU.

You will need an alternative form of remote management.  ssh, logmein, pcanywhere, etc.
TheStig
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105



View Profile
March 28, 2012, 06:21:46 PM
 #4

There's a free remote application called Team Viewer

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!