Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2017, 01:06:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 100 % cpu bug on Slush's pool  (Read 1635 times)
Idzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 03:52:45 AM
 #1

Hows this for weird behavior:

Using Guiminer on Win 7 64 on 3 different machines, using 11.12 and sdk 2.5 and opencl flags in gui miner are -v -f 90 -w 128

When I mine on Slush's pool I get the 100% cpu bug uses one core full time on my fx8120 and the same on my dual core athalons for the other 2 machines

If I switch to btcGuild no cpu bug same settings.

Any ideas?

Successful Transactions with: 21after2
1506301581
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506301581

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506301581
Reply with quote  #2

1506301581
Report to moderator
1506301581
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506301581

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506301581
Reply with quote  #2

1506301581
Report to moderator
1506301581
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506301581

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506301581
Reply with quote  #2

1506301581
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 04:01:35 AM
 #2

I'm guessing that it's just continually trying to reconnect. See the slush pool thread, but the pool is down.
Idzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 04:04:16 AM
 #3

No the 100% bug has been affecting me for a couple weeks on all my machines they were all not having the problem then one morning I checked them and they were hashing in the kh/s range until I enabled more core afinity on them.

I just noticed that it doesn't affect me when I connect to btc guild because of the problems with slush's pool tonight before that I hadn't tried another pool.

Successful Transactions with: 21after2
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
March 28, 2012, 06:29:51 AM
 #4

in the kilohash range indicates you were cpu mining. your settings must be wrong, double check you're mining on gpu and not cpu.

Idzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 08:47:10 AM
 #5

no I was not cpu mining but when I am connected to slush if I don't check off all the cpu affinity checkboxes then it drops into the kh/s range mining on my GPUs on my 8120 I check off all 8 because it seems to randomly choose a core to use and if they are not all checked it drops down to the kilohash range if it doesn't have the one it picks available

Successful Transactions with: 21after2
Idzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
March 28, 2012, 09:03:43 AM
 #6

Heres some screen shots of this in action:

Mining on slush with all cpus selected works ok uses 100% of a core
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/19/btc1.jpg/


With all cpus unselected kilohash range mining on my 6870
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/836/btc2.jpg/


Mining on Btcguild all cpus selected almost no cpu usage
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/171/btc3k.jpg/

Mining on Btcguild no cpus selected almost no cpu usage no problems
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/580/btc4.jpg/

Successful Transactions with: 21after2
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750



View Profile
March 29, 2012, 02:10:21 AM
 #7

BTC Guild is just that cool!

That's a very interesting find...I can't imagine what's going on that would make the bug appear based on the specific pool you're pointed at.  Have you tested any others?
Idzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
March 29, 2012, 07:35:19 PM
 #8

No CPU bug on Eligius or Deepbit either

Successful Transactions with: 21after2
Idzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
March 29, 2012, 07:47:23 PM
 #9

It started sometime overnight between the 16th and 17th of March, I know this because I built the 8120 System on the friday evening and it was working fine with no cpu bug when I went to bed, in the morning all my Miners were doing the kilohash thing till I checked off all the cores.

Im in the GMT -6 time zone.

Successful Transactions with: 21after2
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
March 29, 2012, 08:43:13 PM
 #10

(repost from pool thread)

This is very interesting, but some other people come from other pools to my pool exactly because they have no 100% cpu bug with me :-). I mean - there's probably some strange issue inside guiminer which can be triggered by something like faster/slower responses etc (I mean some strange race condition or so). I didn't changed mining part since March 16 and I even cannot imagine how can I affect this bug by any change inside the pool...

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 29, 2012, 08:46:57 PM
 #11

Wouldn't the simplest solution be to drop GUI Miner and use a real one?
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile
March 29, 2012, 09:05:52 PM
 #12

I am mining on slush with a 3 cards rig + a 2 cards rig with no issues using aoclbf (so phoenix) with no issues at all in 2 months.
Idzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
March 30, 2012, 02:40:42 AM
 #13

Wouldn't the simplest solution be to drop GUI Miner and use a real one?

Do you have any suggestions on what a real one might be.  From my understanding guiminer is just a front end for the real miners.  And No I'm not going to be switching to linux anytime soon since I use my PCs for more than just mining.

Successful Transactions with: 21after2
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 30, 2012, 02:55:12 AM
 #14

cgminer.  (yes that is a period)
Idzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
March 30, 2012, 04:50:07 AM
 #15

cgminer does seem to be fixing the cpu bug.

Successful Transactions with: 21after2
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!