Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:23:36 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Restored wallet backup not showing balance [solved]  (Read 1491 times)
deMangler
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 11:18:52 PM
 #1

Hi,

Something a little disturbing.

I recently restored a wallet backup.

I have paid 99 BTC to this address on (2011-03-20 04:47:46), but the wallet is not showing the payment as received. It is showing a 1 BTC payment that was made another time (2011-03-19 23:46:38).


The wallet is showing a balance of 1 when it should be 100.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

dM


<edit> I should clarify that the transaction is not showing at all, this does not seem to be an issue like long latency confirmation, I have not seen anything like this before. <edit>
Currently running bitcoin 3.20.2

_______
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others." - Groucho Marx.
1Fm9Xa71jy8vC1acqeyMMk7VkbQseEYjgC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481207016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207016
Reply with quote  #2

1481207016
Report to moderator
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 11:23:08 PM
 #2

Which version of bitcoin are you using?

On 0.3.21, it should have done a rescan automatically.
Earlier versions will need to be started with the -rescan switch once.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
deMangler
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 11:26:56 PM
 #3

Which version of bitcoin are you using?

On 0.3.21, it should have done a rescan automatically.
Earlier versions will need to be started with the -rescan switch once.

Sorry - just edited post but you beat me to it.

I will see if running it with -rescan helps.....

ty.

Smiley

dM


_______
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others." - Groucho Marx.
1Fm9Xa71jy8vC1acqeyMMk7VkbQseEYjgC
deMangler
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 11:29:22 PM
 #4

Yes, a rescan has solved the problem.

I wonder why it was not automatic?

<edit> because I was accidentally running an earlier binary.... Doh!!!!!!!   Roll Eyes<edit>

Anyway, that is a relief.

Thanks for the reminder.

dM


_______
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others." - Groucho Marx.
1Fm9Xa71jy8vC1acqeyMMk7VkbQseEYjgC
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!