Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:03:05 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question: Is there any benifit in running two Miners, on one gpu?  (Read 3167 times)
baalho
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 04:47:58 AM
 #1

Greetings,
Heard about Bitcoin on Security Now podcast and was curious what this was all about.

I average about 25Mhash/s. When I run two miners, my rate is about half for each.
Is there any reason why I should be running two miners vs 1? Do the probability of finding a block improve at all?

On a second laptop, I am experimenting with the solo mode ( i average 5Mhash/s). I could leave it on 24/7 but would it be worth it?

After running for couple of hours @ 25Mhash/s on Slush's pool, i have about 0.07BTC



I am using GUIMiner with
username.miner1
username.miner2
on Nvidia Quadro FX 3700M GPU  and Windows 7 64bit.

thank you

edit:
cleaned up my post.
I have been reading more forum posts now, looks like even at Ghash/s, its getting increasingly difficult to find a block.
 Huh
1481389385
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389385

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389385
Reply with quote  #2

1481389385
Report to moderator
1481389385
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389385

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389385
Reply with quote  #2

1481389385
Report to moderator
1481389385
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389385

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389385
Reply with quote  #2

1481389385
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481389385
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389385

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389385
Reply with quote  #2

1481389385
Report to moderator
1481389385
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389385

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389385
Reply with quote  #2

1481389385
Report to moderator
1481389385
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389385

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389385
Reply with quote  #2

1481389385
Report to moderator
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 08:57:44 AM
 #2

That kind of M/hash generation, its not worth the power, to power your pc's.  Get a powerful ATI video card... 5xxx or 6xxx series, or don't bother with mining IMO.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
jkminkov
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 534


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 09:32:50 AM
 #3

you can mine at two pools, if one goes down, resources are taken by the 2nd miner but...

unlike cpu miner, gpu miner does not distribute speed evenly, not sure for cuda miner, you can check Smiley

Bleutrade
600 dollars in one place talking - Dudes, hooray, Bitcoin against us just one, but we are growing in numbers!
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 09:45:47 AM
 #4

Running multiple GPU miners on one GPU will cause the GPU to be shared between processes, and thus results in context switches. Context switches take some time so your total performance will suffer.

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
drcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 10:12:59 AM
 #5

There's no theoretical benefit from running two miners on the same GPU if the total hashing rate is the same. If the total rate was higher when running two then that would indicate that the single miner wasn't totally utilizing your GPU, which could be addressed by increasing the aggression of the miner. As long as you're running with an aggression level above 1 or 2 I expect a single miner would max out your Quadro.

1PnecfWugmwNW8affHCE2K22APrTZtcFw4
Kiv
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162



View Profile
May 07, 2011, 10:26:01 AM
 #6

GUIMiner author here, good to see the miner is working for you.

I run two miners on the same GPU so if one pool goes down the other will pick up the slack. By adjusting the -f flag value you can control which one is the "primary" and which is the "backup". I have my primary as -f40 and my backup as -f60. In general a higher f value is a lower priority.


GUIMiner - get started easily mining Bitcoins on your GPU or CPU
Donate to support work on GUIMiner: 1MDDh2h4cAZDafgc94mr9q95dhRYcJbNQo
or YouTipIt
gat3way
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 10:31:48 AM
 #7

There is in fact benefit in doing that. Context switch overhead is nothing compared to kernel launch and buffer copy one. You are likely to utilize the GPU better. With faster GPUs that makes sense. Also, with NVidia Fermi architecture, concurrent kernel execution is possible which does not bring 2x faster speeds of course but utilizes the GPU resources even better (speedup about 5-10%). That's why I create 2 threads per device in hashkill, each of them with its own context and queue. Speedup is not significant, but still there is one. You can easily check speed difference if you run it with -G 1 (single thread) and -G 2 (two threads per GPU). With my 6870, it's about 3 M/s.

However, for a multithreaded application, this requires a thread-safe OpenCL implementation. Thread-safety is a requirement to OpenCL 1.1 standart which is implemented in SDK 2.3 and above. So with 2.2 and 2.1 your only way is with multiple processes, not multiple threads. In this case, yes, context switches are more expensive.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!