Bitcoin Forum
April 22, 2018, 08:48:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows 8  (Read 6233 times)
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 11, 2012, 02:27:46 AM
 #1

Anybody mining in Windows 8 yet?  Installed "amd_catalyst_win8_consumer_preview_[rc10]" driver.  I have one 7970 and two 5830's.  The driver does not support the 7970's, but the 5830's are fully detected.  OpenCL says it is fully installed.  Mining software cannot find OpenCL devices, only CPU detected.  Tried 12.4 preview driver made for Windows 7 that doesn't even install, tried installing OpenCL v2.6 standalone SDK - no go. Gah.
1524430109
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524430109

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524430109
Reply with quote  #2

1524430109
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 11, 2012, 05:26:11 AM
 #2

Fixed it by accident!  I have a few beta/preview and official AMD catalyst driver releases extracted to a certain folder.  I went into my Device Manager in Windows 8 and forced the 7970 (listed as Microsoft generic display adapter or something like that) to install a driver from that main directory.  I don't know which one it used, but it installed properly (meaning I told it to search all subfolders and it found one).  AMD has not released a driver for 7970 in Windows 8 officially, but here I am with a working setup!  It unlocked OpenCL for all 3 of my video cards and I am mining just like I was in Windows 7.  Whee!  Hope this helps other ppl.
OggerMC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 16, 2012, 10:18:27 PM
 #3

any benefits for going to Windows 8 instead of using Windows 7?
someone703
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 17, 2012, 07:43:34 AM
 #4

any benefits for going to Windows 8 instead of using Windows 7?

Not sure if there's a difference as far as mining goes, but from what I've read Windows 8 is just Windows 7 but with an app of sorts that runs over the desktop which is geared more towards tablet PCs and touchscreens?

Haven't decided myself if I wanna bother playing around with it instead of just sticking with Windows 7.

Sold To: aggrojosh, FreeMoney (x2), challengeaccepted, the joint, TECHSHARE, BurntSnow, yrral, serp, waterskeer, jduck1987, grue (x2)

Bought From: bcjunkie, newdude, Zakcy, frank90, Chinaski, Cookie_Monster, DandoRealIta, Globes (x2), recursive

Leant To: kais3r (ended up being a scammer), jjzm
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 18, 2012, 06:40:37 PM
 #5

I can't say I see any benefits to using Windows 8 right now.  I've been daily driving it since the original post.  Like someone703 said it is pretty much just Windows 7 with the Metro UI for touchscreen devices.  As soon as I launch Chrome or Windows Explorer it takes me out of the Metro UI and 99% of my day is spent on a desktop that is identical to Windows 7.  I'm not sure what Microsoft was trying to accomplish for desktop devices here.  I've read articles that say they are trying to unify all devices and force them to use this Metro UI, but in reality I'm working all day without it in Win 8.
Wekkel
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1026


yes


View Profile
April 18, 2012, 10:07:38 PM
 #6

I think Microsoft could hit something really big with Windows 8 on Tablets. I do not wonder why Google is desperate to get a sub $250 Tegra 3 tablet on the Market before Windows 8 is rolled out. It's going for the moon if done right -> real business usability for tablets....

Imagine the total rocket if MS also get Windows Phone 8 right at the same moment.

But that is not relevant for Bitcoin of course.

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion★  Anonymity Guaranteed
★  Anonymous and Untraceable
★  Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1007


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 07:03:54 PM
 #7

I understand metro for tablet and smartphone, but putting this shit in the desktop version? Meh

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1000


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 07:41:11 PM
 #8

If you think think using Metro UI for a desktop is crazy then shield your eyes.

Windows Server 2012 start screen:


No .... No I am not kidding (although I wish I was).
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 07:41:39 PM
 #9

If you think think using Metro UI for a desktop is crazy then shield your eyes.

Windows Server 2012 start screen:

Jesus no. Please no.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1000


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 07:45:08 PM
 #10

Well "Server Core" (command line only version of Windows Server that I don't know anyone who actually uses) will obviously not have it.

Lots of nice stuff in 2012 (we have been testing it) but the Metro UI nonsense is not one of them.
oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


roundhouseminer


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 12:25:32 AM
 #11

Some say Win8 can improve Games for example, results in higher fps.
Some how, maybe same effects on CL Performance.

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 05:56:51 AM
 #12

Not in my experience.  Same exact performance as Windows 7.
billington.mark
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 14, 2012, 10:00:09 AM
 #13

Im getting blue screen when mining with the preview driver and the 2.7 SDK after ~ 5 mins of kicking off cgminer. temps are all fine so i can only assume either theres still bugs in the driver or the SDK isnt compatible with windows 8 yet.

BTC - 1MarkBCmVn3yp1SB9RZZ7VfqJzkpV8Hmdo
BitMessage - BM-GtZkeAbmKGs77FEoigm9TmsQBSfvMB3N
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!