Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 12:36:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Assistance gratefully rec'd [Solved]  (Read 2040 times)
RobMozza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 01, 2014, 02:48:56 PM
 #1

Hi guys,

OK, a little about me before I start, I've taken up Bitcoin mining five years too late. I am aware that it's unlikely to make me any money however in doing so I'm learning a little linux, finding out about Bitcoin and generally enjoying my time doing this. I've worked with PC's for many years and consider myself fairly proficient however linux is a different story..

A month or so ago I started Bitcoin mining with my GPU (a lowly 95 Mhash/s) but I thought I was the bee's knee's! hahaha, as I've been learning more I find that statement more and more hilarious. Recently I got a few ASIC's and bolted them onto the front of my PC

http://i.imgur.com/T9VIDg0.jpg


Running (via Windows) using command cgminer.exe -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u USERNAME -p PASSWORD

Hash rate was just over 1.1 Ghash/s with three Block Eruptors, which I thought wasn't too bad (again in heinsight that is also amusing..)

Then I got myself a Raspberry Pi, fiddled with it (repeatedly over and over until I had achieved what I wanted and boy does it take a long time to rewrite those SD card images. I had to do that at least five times!)

So today my USB hub finally arrived and I removed the three Block Eruptors from my PC and plugged everything together with my Pi.

http://i.imgur.com/cu77tEM.jpg


The power used from the wall socket was a little higher than I had anticipated but that's because I'm using an old BT Home Hub to act as a temporary repeater while I wait for a replacement RJ45 crimping tool to arrive. Also this is peak power and doesn't seem to go above this, normally it's around 4W lower than this but it does fluctuate a little.

http://i.imgur.com/6aPI5r1.jpg


So currently I'm running the Homehub, my Pi, a USB Hub and 8 Block Eruptors.

http://i.imgur.com/pCjp8CS.jpg


Everything went smoothly until I fired up VNC to ensure the Pi was doing it's job correctly

http://i.imgur.com/AqfCsi8.jpg


Running (via Pi) using command sudo cgminer -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u USERNAME -p PASSWORD

As you can see seemingly all of the Block Eruptors are taking it in turns to fail, getting disabled, then re-enabled and restarting

http://i.imgur.com/vfONw04.jpg


Surely this isn't usual (it never did this on the PC although that's not saying much I guess) and I assume something isn't right, the only problem is I don't know what!

I would certainly appreciate your help and suggestions in getting this resolved, I had hoped the hash average to be around 2.6 Ghash/sec although because of all of these interruptions I am currently only getting 1.99 Ghas/sec

RPi Miner
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508200587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508200587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508200587
Reply with quote  #2

1508200587
Report to moderator
1508200587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508200587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508200587
Reply with quote  #2

1508200587
Report to moderator
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
September 01, 2014, 02:53:44 PM
 #2

It's been a while since I have used the BE's.  I miss the leds at night Smiley.

Have you tried starting with 1 BE and adding one more after each time of it working?  I know I had best luck adding one start cgminer, stop add another.  Others might have better idea but that seemed to work for me most of the time.
minerpumpkin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


A pumpkin mines 27 hours a night


View Profile
September 01, 2014, 02:55:50 PM
 #3

That doesn't look like it's a genuine Anker USB hub, is it? What brand is it? Can you give us how many Amps the power supply of that hub gives? Do the sticks run fine when you use only one or 2 at a time? I guess that the Hub doesn't give enough power. But that's just a preliminary guess. Please provide more information.
(Apart from that ASICMiner Block Erupter USBs aren't excatly powerful these days anymore)

██████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████           ▄█▄        ▄█▄           █████
█████          ████████████████          █████
█████           ▀████████████▀           █████
█████           ████▀    ▀████           █████
█████           ████▄    ▄████           █████
█████           ▄████████████▄           █████
█████          ████████████████          █████
█████           ▀█▀        ▀█▀           █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
██             ▄█▀███████████
██              ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██▀
██                        ██
██                        ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
████████████████████████████
██                        ██
██                        ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                 ▄███▀  ██
██             ▄▄██▀▀  ▄█ ██
██     ▄    ▄███▀▀  ▄███  ██
██    ██▄▄██▀▀   ▄█████   ██
██   ████▀▀  ▄▄██▀▀ ▀█    ██
██  █▀▀   ▄▄██▀           ██
██    ▄▄███▀              ██
██▄▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██  ████▄  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ██
██     ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██    ██
██      ██         ██     ██
██       ███████████      ██
██        ▄▄     ▄▄       ██
██       ▀██▀   ▀██▀      ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                       ▄██
██                     █████
██         ▄         ███▀ ██
██       ▄███     ▄███▀   ██
██   ▄▄███▀▀███▄████▀     ██
██▄▄███▀     ▀███▀        ██
████▀                     ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄███████████▄  ██████████████
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
██████▀██████  ██████▀███████
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
RobMozza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 01, 2014, 03:17:18 PM
 #4

OK, the hub itself is Orico P10-U2-BK and I'm a little annoyed about that to be honest, not only did it take an age to arrive but it also included (in the box) a tiny invoice totalling $18, I purchased it from Amazon for £34, hmmm :-(

Output is 12v @ 3A, I had hoped buying an expensive ten port hub would of sufficed to give me enough power but possibly not..

I've just removed the Pi from the hub, to now be directly powered from a plug (hoping this will free up some power for the Eruptors)

It's currently running and I'll edit this post when I know if the problem is still occurring.

EDIT :

http://i.imgur.com/svgvuiv.jpg


Yes, although it did start a little better it is still occurring, unfortunately I'm short on time but I assume it's a power related issue then?

When I get a little more time I'll try as recommended plugging them in pairs, two by two (like animals going into the ark, hahaha)

Thanks guys, will update later tonight. I really appreciate the quick replys too :-)

RPi Miner
minerpumpkin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


A pumpkin mines 27 hours a night


View Profile
September 01, 2014, 03:25:29 PM
 #5

OK, the hub itself is Orico P10-U2-BK and I'm a little annoyed about that to be honest, not only did it take an age to arrive but it also included (in the box) a tiny invoice totalling $18, I purchased it from Amazon for £34, hmmm :-(

Output is 12v @ 3A, I had hoped buying an expensive ten port hub would of sufficed to give me enough power but possibly not..

I've just removed the Pi from the hub, to now be directly powered from a plug (hoping this will free up some power for the Eruptors)

It's currently running and I'll edit this post when I know if the problem is still occurring.

That seems to be the problem! If I recall correctly, the USB Erupters use 0.5A or 2.5W each, so you should be able to run 6 at a time. Sorry ;( Here's a thread with a large list comparing USB Hubs for the Block Erupters: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.0
I guess the invoice could be lower for you to save on customs? A lot of merchants do that, I heard...

██████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████           ▄█▄        ▄█▄           █████
█████          ████████████████          █████
█████           ▀████████████▀           █████
█████           ████▀    ▀████           █████
█████           ████▄    ▄████           █████
█████           ▄████████████▄           █████
█████          ████████████████          █████
█████           ▀█▀        ▀█▀           █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
██             ▄█▀███████████
██              ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██▀
██                        ██
██                        ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
████████████████████████████
██                        ██
██                        ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                 ▄███▀  ██
██             ▄▄██▀▀  ▄█ ██
██     ▄    ▄███▀▀  ▄███  ██
██    ██▄▄██▀▀   ▄█████   ██
██   ████▀▀  ▄▄██▀▀ ▀█    ██
██  █▀▀   ▄▄██▀           ██
██    ▄▄███▀              ██
██▄▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██  ████▄  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ██
██     ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██    ██
██      ██         ██     ██
██       ███████████      ██
██        ▄▄     ▄▄       ██
██       ▀██▀   ▀██▀      ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                       ▄██
██                     █████
██         ▄         ███▀ ██
██       ▄███     ▄███▀   ██
██   ▄▄███▀▀███▄████▀     ██
██▄▄███▀     ▀███▀        ██
████▀                     ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄███████████▄  ██████████████
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
██████▀██████  ██████▀███████
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
RobMozza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 01, 2014, 04:26:43 PM
 #6


That seems to be the problem! If I recall correctly, the USB Erupters use 0.5A or 2.5W each, so you should be able to run 6 at a time. Sorry ;( Here's a thread with a large list comparing USB Hubs for the Block Erupters: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.0
I guess the invoice could be lower for you to save on customs? A lot of merchants do that, I heard...

Completely correct.. lack of power was definately the problem, and to make it worse, it was completely my own fault. Like a proper numpty I assumed that particular powered hub would of done the job.

What makes it worse is that Amazon even say 2A in their specifications so I should count myself lucky it arrived with an Orico 3A power supply. I've just sent a quick email off to Orico asking for the possibility of the hub being compatible with a 4A or even 5A PSU (fingers crossed) If not, it'll be going back to Amazon and I'll be ordering this bad boy instead. (Thanks to your Which hub to use post)

Arrrgghhh, if I had only become a member here before ordering this stuff!!! yikes!!

http://i.imgur.com/2Wg5gA7.jpg

Happily working away with 5 x Block Eruptors & one 92cm fan

Really appreciate your assistance, I was over thinking the problem still it worked as an introduction I guess! Thanks again guys, I'll try and be a bit more use in the future, lol!

RPi Miner
minerpumpkin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


A pumpkin mines 27 hours a night


View Profile
September 01, 2014, 09:33:10 PM
 #7

Completely correct.. lack of power was definately the problem, and to make it worse, it was completely my own fault. Like a proper numpty I assumed that particular powered hub would of done the job.

What makes it worse is that Amazon even say 2A in their specifications so I should count myself lucky it arrived with an Orico 3A power supply. I've just sent a quick email off to Orico asking for the possibility of the hub being compatible with a 4A or even 5A PSU (fingers crossed) If not, it'll be going back to Amazon and I'll be ordering this bad boy instead. (Thanks to your Which hub to use post)

Arrrgghhh, if I had only become a member here before ordering this stuff!!! yikes!!



Happily working away with 5 x Block Eruptors & one 92cm fan

Really appreciate your assistance, I was over thinking the problem still it worked as an introduction I guess! Thanks again guys, I'll try and be a bit more use in the future, lol!

Glad I could help! Yeah those are things people usually don't realize until they run into problems :/ I'd go with a 5A PSU, 4 will only suffice for about 8 Erupters. And you may consider replacing those miners with Ant Miners or the new ASICMiner Tube (Which isn't a stick) since you won't get very far with those miners. Their power efficiency is abysmal. They consume 7.5W/GH/s while current miners are already below 1W/GH/s!

██████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████           ▄█▄        ▄█▄           █████
█████          ████████████████          █████
█████           ▀████████████▀           █████
█████           ████▀    ▀████           █████
█████           ████▄    ▄████           █████
█████           ▄████████████▄           █████
█████          ████████████████          █████
█████           ▀█▀        ▀█▀           █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
██             ▄█▀███████████
██              ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██▀
██                        ██
██                        ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
████████████████████████████
██                        ██
██                        ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                 ▄███▀  ██
██             ▄▄██▀▀  ▄█ ██
██     ▄    ▄███▀▀  ▄███  ██
██    ██▄▄██▀▀   ▄█████   ██
██   ████▀▀  ▄▄██▀▀ ▀█    ██
██  █▀▀   ▄▄██▀           ██
██    ▄▄███▀              ██
██▄▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██  ████▄  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ██
██     ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██    ██
██      ██         ██     ██
██       ███████████      ██
██        ▄▄     ▄▄       ██
██       ▀██▀   ▀██▀      ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                       ▄██
██                     █████
██         ▄         ███▀ ██
██       ▄███     ▄███▀   ██
██   ▄▄███▀▀███▄████▀     ██
██▄▄███▀     ▀███▀        ██
████▀                     ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄███████████▄  ██████████████
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
██████▀██████  ██████▀███████
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
September 02, 2014, 01:25:23 AM
 #8

Glad it worked if you get one of the old anker's they could do all 10.  They were amazing quality with full metal, but they changed to the 9 +1 now.
RobMozza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 07:31:12 PM
 #9

2 x D-Link DUB-H7's need to be ordered then, thanks for all of your help, support and advise guys

RPi Miner
minerpumpkin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


A pumpkin mines 27 hours a night


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 08:11:00 PM
 #10

Glad it worked if you get one of the old anker's they could do all 10.  They were amazing quality with full metal, but they changed to the 9 +1 now.

Yeah the Ankers were great, still have 2 of them at home! You could try an get some used ones. Keep in mind though that they support USB 3.0 and thus the Raspberry Pi can't be used as a host, if I remember correctly!

██████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████           ▄█▄        ▄█▄           █████
█████          ████████████████          █████
█████           ▀████████████▀           █████
█████           ████▀    ▀████           █████
█████           ████▄    ▄████           █████
█████           ▄████████████▄           █████
█████          ████████████████          █████
█████           ▀█▀        ▀█▀           █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
█████                                    █████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
██             ▄█▀███████████
██              ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██▀
██                        ██
██                        ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
██                        ██
████████████████████████████
██                        ██
██                        ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                 ▄███▀  ██
██             ▄▄██▀▀  ▄█ ██
██     ▄    ▄███▀▀  ▄███  ██
██    ██▄▄██▀▀   ▄█████   ██
██   ████▀▀  ▄▄██▀▀ ▀█    ██
██  █▀▀   ▄▄██▀           ██
██    ▄▄███▀              ██
██▄▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄██████████████████████████▄
██                        ██
██  ████▄  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ██
██     ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██    ██
██      ██         ██     ██
██       ███████████      ██
██        ▄▄     ▄▄       ██
██       ▀██▀   ▀██▀      ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄██████████████████████████▄
██                       ▄██
██                     █████
██         ▄         ███▀ ██
██       ▄███     ▄███▀   ██
██   ▄▄███▀▀███▄████▀     ██
██▄▄███▀     ▀███▀        ██
████▀                     ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

▄███████████▄  ██████████████
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
█           █  █            █
██████▀██████  ██████▀███████
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
RobMozza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 08, 2014, 02:18:10 PM
 #11

Well the good news is that my DLink hubs turned up today and I flung them together and every seems to be working!

http://i.imgur.com/2fCcJon.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/ZDpp01W.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/CObvykF.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/7Ct3ijJ.jpg


Of course I still haven't got around to circumventing the BT home hub repeater so the power figures are a little bit higher than they will be.

The bad news is I'm not 100% sure on the next stage, hence why I've reopened this thread.

I've been reading that I must disconnect the red wire from the RPi's USB (or cut the wire in the lead coming out of it) to prevent power flowing back up into the RPi should the hubs fail. Is this correct?

Also is there anything else that I need to do for my mini Pi factory?

Here's a quick wiring diagram, I've also awaiting on the arrival of another two BE. The theory then will be to start selling BE's and replacing with newer, faster ASICs..

http://i.imgur.com/i74Hm1U.jpg

Thanks in advance, I'll await your rePi's (!)

RPi Miner
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
September 08, 2014, 04:35:37 PM
 #12

[...]
I've been reading that I must disconnect the red wire from the RPi's USB (or cut the wire in the lead coming out of it) to prevent power flowing back up into the RPi should the hubs fail. Is this correct?
I've had USB issues before on the RPi (other miners though) and did that mod, which in my case helped.

However if it _is_ the red wire depends on the cable manufacturer. The first cable I tried they seemed to think that red is just a pretty colour and used it for data, instead of + . To be sure you either have to do trial and error or check continuity with a multimeter.

Another problem is if your hubs are made close to the original USB spec they will expect 5V from the host otherwise they won't turn on. Of course that was the case for me, so I ended up making a Y-cable where data only was on the cable from the Pi and spliced another cable into the main cable coming from an USB wallwart for power only. I hope this makes sense to you.


Also is there anything else that I need to do for my mini Pi factory?
I would place the sticks in a way that allows the hot air to go up freely. Either upwards or on the side.

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
RobMozza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 09, 2014, 12:21:53 AM
 #13

I've had USB issues before on the RPi (other miners though) and did that mod, which in my case helped.

However if it _is_ the red wire depends on the cable manufacturer. The first cable I tried they seemed to think that red is just a pretty colour and used it for data, instead of + . To be sure you either have to do trial and error or check continuity with a multimeter.

Another problem is if your hubs are made close to the original USB spec they will expect 5V from the host otherwise they won't turn on. Of course that was the case for me, so I ended up making a Y-cable where data only was on the cable from the Pi and spliced another cable into the main cable coming from an USB wallwart for power only. I hope this makes sense to you.

OK, I started looking online for something to save me butchering my brand new hub lead.. I found some quite interesting stuff actually:

This is Mini to Micro but seemed to fit the bill perfectly, with an off/on switch to boot!

This has a brilliant name, but initially I thought we need the reverse of this, no power, just data. I understood we still need a ground just also with a switchable +5v.

I couldn't find what I was looking for so understanding the connections, I decided to let rip and experiment:

http://www.moddiy.com/product_images/uploaded_images/patillaje-conector-usb.jpg

I found an old Type A to Type B USB printer lead, and hacked it in half. I can confirm the lead colours were as expected. So I soldered away at the White, Green and Black leads, then insulated them whilst insulated the two pieces of Red apart from each other, twisted some silver foil around the leads and wrapped insulating tape around the whole thing. Proper job or so I thought.

Upon testing in the RPi, no devices have been found, thinking I must of not correctly soldered the connection I painstakingly took the whole thing apart again and seemingly it looked like I had messed up a connection. Yet my multimeter confused me because it said I was getting continuity so this time I just twisted the ends together and tested again with the RPi.

Again, no devices found. OK, I twisted the Red lead together and voila, the RPi found my hardware and everything worked. So then I wondered if it still needed the Red wire connected once it was up and running. I seperated the two Red wires apart from each other and bosh. CGMiner fell over with a hardware error.

http://i.imgur.com/6xItV5F.jpg

This must mean these DLink hubs are close to the original USB spec and do require the 5V to work, looks like I'm going to be making a Y cable then. Initially I didn't understand what you meant by "USB wallwart" by Google showed me this which explained it to me.

Rather than doing that, I would prefer to use one of these as I have a spare one laying around the house. Then I can just splice from any USB cable into my pre hacked printer cable. It's getting late here now, so it'll be a job for tomorrow.


I would place the sticks in a way that allows the hot air to go up freely. Either upwards or on the side.

As for this idea, although it does sound like a great idea, but it does seem a bit involved for just 8-10 Block Erupters. I was thinking along the lines of a large metal cylinder (like a biscuit tin) raised up off the ground on legs by a couple of inches (to allow airflow in from the bottom) then a fan blowing air up through the biscuit tin and out the top. Cutting horizontal rectangular slots to fit the hubs through the sides so the the Block Erupters are contained within the tin and have a whirlwind of cold air blowing through them. Like I say, I think I'm over complicating things.  Shocked

To be honest the hottest part of my current setup is my power adaptors sockets for the two DLink hubs, and even they aren't that hot.

I'll update this post tomorrow, once I've worked wonders making a Y cable.

Thanks for the info.

RPi Miner
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
September 09, 2014, 05:00:18 AM
 #14


Sounds like your in the same boat I once was.

Your ebay link is what I meant for USB wallwart. A wallwart power supply with an USB port. I used one like those in my setup, it doesn't matter how much mA the output is on that one as long as there is "some" 5V. (As opposed to the RPi power supply that should be at least 1000mA, IIRC).


Judging from your pic it seems to me easiest, if you'd lay the hubs on the table so the plugs "hang" over the side of the table. That would bring the sticks upright.


OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
RobMozza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 09, 2014, 10:09:40 AM
 #15

Well I am happy to say the newly spliced cable is up and running!

http://i.imgur.com/1KGS7l4.jpg


All BE's detected and running as per normal

http://i.imgur.com/FZ264mQ.jpg


This is my wiring diagram:

http://i.imgur.com/49clFSc.jpg


Fingers crossed now I am good to go! Topic title changed back, thanks again for all of your support and assistance  Grin

RPi Miner
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!