Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:13:59 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PING: Asus ROG Xpander Owners ?  (Read 3989 times)
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 03:34:03 PM
 #1

Anyone own one or more of these for mining purposes ?

I found 1 price online from the UK (99 GBP...approx $160 USD ?)

The Facebook link below (and bottom pic) shows testers running up to 13 GPUs with multiple Xpanders from a single Rampage III Extreme motherboard.

I must have been living under a rock, as this is the first time I have come across this unit from Asus and have only seen the units that are 7-slots and shipping from China currently.







http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Accessories/ROG_Xpander/

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?773-Xpander-extensive-overview

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.492414967387.268984.405774002387

I would love to find out more about this setup and possibly give a couple a try....

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481429639
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481429639

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481429639
Reply with quote  #2

1481429639
Report to moderator
1481429639
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481429639

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481429639
Reply with quote  #2

1481429639
Report to moderator
Coinoisseur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 04:25:52 PM
 #2

Uses those Nvidia PCI-E routing chips, might be interesting for running 8 single GPU cards. Anyone know how well Linux supports these NF200 PCI-E routing chips?

Doesn't seem that great though, since it takes 2 PCI-E connections to then get 4. Better off trying something like this: http://www.anandtech.com/Gallery/Album/730
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
April 13, 2012, 04:52:15 PM
 #3

The 13 cards thing was a joke in case you have not understood that yet.

Also there is a limit of 8 GPUs max for the ATI drivers and also motherboard BIOS allocation problems ( which can be avoided using virtualization but it is an ugly hack ).
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 645



View Profile
April 13, 2012, 07:22:41 PM
 #4

I own one of these, used it for quad-SLI on the R3E as the NVIDIA requirement of a NF200 bridge chip for quad-SLI prevented the godly R3E from running quad. You are limited on the boards you can use the Xpander on, it requires BIOS support for the NVIDIA drivers to recognize it. It was really just a solution for ASUS to achieve 3D records on what was easily the best LGA1366 board for overclocking.

Miner99er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 08:00:25 PM
 #5

Imagine being able to plug this into any Mobo that has a single PCIe x16 slot.

I know a TON of HP desktops I have would be running quad cards.

too bad they don't work like that

And the price is on par with a 890FXA-GD70. Sad

Bought From Yochdogx2, Alexmat, SgtSpike, David_Benz, Beaflag VonRathburg, Slaveindebt, Cptmooseinc, Coinhoarder

Donations? SURE! 16foPr8FAjYXKL8ApQAzihnigXm1qNhi8Q

http://pyramining.com/referral/yfab9med7   
http://pyramining.com/referral/ahmc7en6z
http://pyramining.com/referral/pagndq4xc   
http://pyramining.com/referral/79b2gmrzx
http://pyramining.com/referral/e2ghz4asy
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 08:36:25 PM
 #6

once you put this board on top of your motherboard i don't think you would be able to fit cards in the PCI area anymore with the added height.

cool product though!

Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 645



View Profile
April 13, 2012, 09:46:14 PM
 #7

once you put this board on top of your motherboard i don't think you would be able to fit cards in the PCI area anymore with the added height.

cool product though!

Nope, this was a product meant strictly for benchmarking. If your Xpander isn't covered in a quarter inch of vaseline and paper towel you weren't using it right.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!