Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:10:28 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7870 mining speed, over 430 Mhash/s ?!  (Read 27737 times)
OggerMC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
April 16, 2012, 10:16:46 PM
 #1

Hello, i just got my 7870 Sapphire 1 Ghz Eddition today and overclocked it to 1.1 Ghz (i think it could easy do 1.2 ghz or even 1.3 ghz)

im using 12.3 drivers and 2.6 SDK (for some reason i have no 100% cpu bug, (i use an 5850 and the new 7870).

and right now with " -v -w256 -f0 " in guiminer i get 403 Mhash, and my p2p is showing the increase in speed too!

anyone else can confirm this performance?
1481339428
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339428

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339428
Reply with quote  #2

1481339428
Report to moderator
1481339428
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339428

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339428
Reply with quote  #2

1481339428
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481339428
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339428

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339428
Reply with quote  #2

1481339428
Report to moderator
1481339428
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339428

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339428
Reply with quote  #2

1481339428
Report to moderator
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 643



View Profile
April 16, 2012, 10:37:26 PM
 #2

The first thread I saw on these had a guy achieving around 300 MH/s -> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=69376.0

The only 7770 number on the GPU wiki is doing 182 MH/s @ 1020 MH/s. Since the 7870 is double the number of SP, perhaps it is possible for you to be pushing 400 MH/s. Now if only they weren't $350/piece. Perhaps at $250-$300 and 450-500 MH/s and I could see myself replacing my 5970s w/ these if they were more efficient. Lots of impossible things I fear though.

silverbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
April 16, 2012, 10:46:51 PM
 #3

Hello, i just got my 7870 Sapphire 1 Ghz Eddition today and overclocked it to 1.1 Ghz (i think it could easy do 1.2 ghz or even 1.3 ghz)

im using 12.3 drivers and 2.6 SDK (for some reason i have no 100% cpu bug, (i use an 5850 and the new 7870).

and right now with " -v -w256 -f0 " in guiminer i get 403 Mhash, and my p2p is showing the increase in speed too!

anyone else can confirm this performance?

Nice!
OggerMC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
April 16, 2012, 11:00:01 PM
 #4

ive just increased my gpu another 80 mhz , from 1100 mhz  (403 mhash) to 1180 mhz (430 mhash), this is all without an change in voltage.
I think as headless miner and voltage tweak and higher OC ( i saw some runing this card on 1258 mhz with more voltage) it should do more then 450 mhash/s.
EDIT : My ASIC Quality is 78.8% (a new GPU-Z feature)
Quote from: Steevo link=http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2526360&postcount=11
It represents the arbitrary number Nvidia or ATI assign a die based on its location and performance figure they are trying to target. Just like it was said before a lower number should have higher leakage, but may also mean a closer to the edge die cut. If everything else were equal a number such as 85% should yield a balance between leakage so you can throw more voltage at it and non faulty transistors from die defects.
here is an pic i took:
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 643



View Profile
April 16, 2012, 11:23:17 PM
 #5

Well shit, that's pretty impressive then as you are indeed seeing scaling with clocks and not some weird reporting fluke. Any chance GPU-Z is showing the card powerdraw like on the 7970s? I know the 7870 is proven to be more efficient at gaming than the 7970 but I didn't think that would apply to something as brute force and simple as hashing.

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2012, 11:29:19 PM
 #6

Hello, i just got my 7870 Sapphire 1 Ghz Eddition today and overclocked it to 1.1 Ghz (i think it could easy do 1.2 ghz or even 1.3 ghz)

im using 12.3 drivers and 2.6 SDK (for some reason i have no 100% cpu bug, (i use an 5850 and the new 7870).

and right now with " -v -w256 -f0 " in guiminer i get 403 Mhash, and my p2p is showing the increase in speed too!

anyone else can confirm this performance?

Why are you using Guiminer? Use DiabloMiner or cgminer instead. DiabloMiner has a kernel optimized for GCN.

Anyhow, by my calculations, a 7870/1ghz should get about 375, at 1.1ghz about 412.

OggerMC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
April 16, 2012, 11:33:00 PM
 #7

Sorry, i cant see the power Draw on any tool, but i got an kill-a-watt at the wall, i could turn of the gpu using its feature zero-power core, and then see the difference, hope that this will be enough good enough.

EDIT:
 450 Watt - Total System Power Draw with 7870 Mining at 430 mhash/s
 273 Watt - Total System Power Draw with 7870 in ZeroCore Power sleep

that would make 177 Watts for the 7870 alone!
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 12:34:04 AM
 #8

Sorry, i cant see the power Draw on any tool, but i got an kill-a-watt at the wall, i could turn of the gpu using its feature zero-power core, and then see the difference, hope that this will be enough good enough.

EDIT:
 450 Watt - Total System Power Draw with 7870 Mining at 430 mhash/s
 273 Watt - Total System Power Draw with 7870 in ZeroCore Power sleep

that would make 177 Watts for the 7870 alone!

Sounds about right, AMD quotes 175 for 7870.

OggerMC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
April 17, 2012, 12:50:21 AM
 #9

Hello, i just got my 7870 Sapphire 1 Ghz Eddition today and overclocked it to 1.1 Ghz (i think it could easy do 1.2 ghz or even 1.3 ghz)

im using 12.3 drivers and 2.6 SDK (for some reason i have no 100% cpu bug, (i use an 5850 and the new 7870).

and right now with " -v -w256 -f0 " in guiminer i get 403 Mhash, and my p2p is showing the increase in speed too!

anyone else can confirm this performance?

Why are you using Guiminer? Use DiabloMiner or cgminer instead. DiabloMiner has a kernel optimized for GCN.

Anyhow, by my calculations, a 7870/1ghz should get about 375, at 1.1ghz about 412.

i have not much experience with other miners, can i set different settings for each card? since im using this PC as main pc.
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
April 17, 2012, 09:14:58 PM
 #10

450 Watt - Total System Power Draw with 7870 Mining at 430 mhash/s
 273 Watt - Total System Power Draw with 7870 in ZeroCore Power sleep

that would make 177 Watts for the 7870 alone!

Ouch Sad

Mousepotato
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
April 18, 2012, 03:17:55 AM
 #11

^ Agreed.

These 7870s seem to be about the same in terms of MH and power consumption as my 5870s.... Just way more expensive. I may end up getting one just for my main PC to play games on.

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
April 18, 2012, 06:52:40 AM
 #12

Hello, i just got my 7870 Sapphire 1 Ghz Eddition today and overclocked it to 1.1 Ghz (i think it could easy do 1.2 ghz or even 1.3 ghz)

im using 12.3 drivers and 2.6 SDK (for some reason i have no 100% cpu bug, (i use an 5850 and the new 7870).

and right now with " -v -w256 -f0 " in guiminer i get 403 Mhash, and my p2p is showing the increase in speed too!

anyone else can confirm this performance?

Why are you using Guiminer? Use DiabloMiner or cgminer instead. DiabloMiner has a kernel optimized for GCN.

Anyhow, by my calculations, a 7870/1ghz should get about 375, at 1.1ghz about 412.

Quit pushing your product so hard on people. It's like gay people trying to "recruit" you.

rograz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 575


View Profile
April 18, 2012, 12:35:51 PM
 #13

Could you test how low you can go on the voltage say at 1000 or 850Mhz  core and what the power draw is, I'm interested in what kind of MH/W you can push out of the 78xx series.
OggerMC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
April 18, 2012, 09:48:12 PM
 #14

i will test it later, havent done any voltage tweaking yet.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 04:27:17 AM
 #15

Quit pushing your product so hard on people. It's like gay people trying to "recruit" you.
Because ANYTHING is better than guiminer.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
ARapalo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 04:34:29 AM
 #16

Quit pushing your product so hard on people. It's like gay people trying to "recruit" you.
Because ANYTHING is better than guiminer.
Is this really true? I found guiminer to the very easy to setup and use. I haven't checked out the software forum much, what's the most efficient miner for the HD5000 series?
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 04:40:57 AM
 #17

Quit pushing your product so hard on people. It's like gay people trying to "recruit" you.
Because ANYTHING is better than guiminer.
Is this really true? I found guiminer to the very easy to setup and use. I haven't checked out the software forum much, what's the most efficient miner for the HD5000 series?
DiabloMiner if you are a java fan, and cgminer if you like C. cgminer is my preference, and not just for speed but also for configuration and useability. I have 4 backup pools set, and all kinds of overclocking and overvolting options set, using only one program - cgminer.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
OggerMC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 08:14:36 AM
 #18

i did set up my card of DIablo miner now, and it went from 420 to 435 mhash, so it was worth the trouble.
OggerMC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 11:28:13 PM
 #19

anyone knows which tool works for voltage tweaking for this card? i use the Sapphire 7870 1 ghz edition (with dual fans)
I tried Afterburner and Trixx...
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
April 20, 2012, 04:35:36 AM
 #20

Quit pushing your product so hard on people. It's like gay people trying to "recruit" you.
Because ANYTHING is better than guiminer.
Is this really true? I found guiminer to the very easy to setup and use. I haven't checked out the software forum much, what's the most efficient miner for the HD5000 series?
DiabloMiner if you are a java fan, and cgminer if you like C. cgminer is my preference, and not just for speed but also for configuration and useability. I have 4 backup pools set, and all kinds of overclocking and overvolting options set, using only one program - cgminer.

This argument seems to pop up in half the threads in this subforum.

Just run Phoenix on BAMT. Learn a little Linux, set it, forget it. Fast, stable, and a lot easier to maintain.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!