Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 04:09:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCIe x1 -> x16 extender workaround for some mobo's  (Read 4295 times)
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
April 17, 2012, 04:05:38 PM
 #1

I dont know if this is a known trick or not. But, last night I hooked up my first GPU using extender cable and for the life of me couldnt get it to work in any combination of GPU's, slots .. on my motherboard.

Turns out after further research I discovered some boards require the presence sense pins to be properly shorted by whatever device is plugged into it.
So, I discovered a trick using a wire to short the needed pins in the x1 connector on mobo, it overrides the sense function and will run w/e device is plugged into the slot regardless.
Heres the graphic:
http://blog.zorinaq.com/images/pcie-short-schematic.png

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511582941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511582941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511582941
Reply with quote  #2

1511582941
Report to moderator
1511582941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511582941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511582941
Reply with quote  #2

1511582941
Report to moderator
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
April 17, 2012, 04:38:33 PM
 #2

Thank's might be usefull when I receive my extenders.
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 698



View Profile
April 17, 2012, 04:59:19 PM
 #3

There is a thread somewhere around here with a list of boards that require the presence pins to be shorted.
ARapalo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 04:25:13 AM
 #4

So far, none of the motherboards I've tried needed any tweaks to the motherboard. I saw that thread once, and I majority of the time it applies to older motherboards. Which motherboard are you using?
rograz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 10:09:19 PM
 #5

Had to do this for 3 slots (16x_1 16_2 8x) on both my GA-990FXA-UD5 for them to take 1x extenders in those slots when running 6 cards, so it applies to some newer boards as well.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 11:37:17 PM
 #6

Well, I blew up the mobo I was mining on. Guess its x1 slot couldnt handle the power w/o molex injection. It was an old S939 board had laying around. So, gonna buy new mobo / cpu & RAM today probably.
Heres a question. The mobo Im thinkin bout buying is MSI 890FXA-GD65, has 4 PCIe x1 and 2 PCIe x16

It also has a 6pin PCIe power connector on board for the PCIe slots. Do you guys think this would sufficiently power all the PCIe slots, so I wouldnt have to use molex injected extenders?

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!